We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MalaMala Main Camp
Nearby Hotels
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$47
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortis Hotel Capital(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
309
28
15
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
28
15
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmala malathe rivergame viewinghunting lodgewild dogsprivate reservecape buffalosafari experienceseparate bathroomsthatched roofoff roadafrica tripkruger national parklions huntingbreakfast and dinneran outstanding jobland rover
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Mala Mala never fails to deliver. This is my third visit and I still get blown away everytime I am here. Naturally we saw the "Big 5" but the Leopard sightings were amaising. We saw Leopards every day and in one day saw 5 individuals with one big male walking right passed our vehicle. The rooms and staff were great and the meals good.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a very high standard so view is the only variable. I would go for one with a river view if you can
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SafariMike66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Everything about our experience at Mala Mala was amazing. Our guide picked us up from the airport in an open-sided Land Rover for a 45 minute trip through back country to the base camp. We had no idea how many animals we would see just on this ride to the base camp--the excitement was definitely building. We were greeted at the Mala Mala base camp and then served a delicious lunch. Then we were shown our beautiful rooms overlooking the river. We went on two excursions a day and saw so many incredible sites. On the first afternoon we heard a leopard on the hunt and our guide was able to track him down. The leopard was high in a tree with the impala he had just caught. Our guide, Yuri, was so skilled at tracking down the animals and was incredibly knowledgable. Yuri was so accommodating to our needs as a family traveling with four kids and was always looking out for us. Yuri is just a really amazing, genuine guy and did so much to make this an incredible experience for our family. This really was a trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wamamak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was one of the most impressive places I've ever stayed at. Granted this is a very expensive game reserve, but everything we spent was right there for us to take advantage of. They assign a guide to you as soon as you arrive. He (or she) is not only your game driver but your constant companion throughout your stay: wake up call in the mornings, game drive, escorts you to breakfast and lunch, meets you for your afternoon/evening game drive, greets you for dinner, and escorts you to your room at night. That last part is required because there are no fences at the game lodge: they don't want you on some lion's menu. Our room was amazing: 20' high thatched ceiling, two gigantic bathrooms, a sitting area, a bar, a huge patio looking out to a view of the river. The food was very good: good selection and quality. Our guide Matt, was a Durbin local, and his respect for the animals was contagious. Our game drives were EXTREMELY lucky: the big 5 in the first day. Yeah, it cost a lot, but it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: Ask for the room farthest from the dining boma in the main camp.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ratboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Greeted warmly by all the staff as soon as we arrived. We felt like family and our comfort was their goal. It was so incredible that while we were in the luxurious comfort of our mini house and own pool that it was also "All about the Animals", with wonderful rides twice each day. Our ranger was always on the lookout for what we wanted to see and did we see everything! He was extremely knowledgeable and enjoyed teaching us to track and know the animals. The rides into the bush were structured each day as we liked. We could stay out late past dark or go in earlier if we wanted. Dinner was ready when we were. The meals were delicious and drinks were fantastic!.

I had the lovely gift having monkeys on our roof to say goodbye the day we were leaving and several herds of elephants along the sand river with their trunks in the air to say goodbye.
This was a vacation dream of a lifetime and exceeded all of our expectations.

Heidi and Rick from Upstate NewYork USA

Room Tip: The first mini house next to the lodge is easy to get to and from.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a FANTASTIC time in our stay at this safari lodge. The new facility at Main Camp was absolutely wonderful in everyway. The game viewing was again the best you can have in seeing the BIG FIVE and wild dogs hunting impalas. We are back home and we already miss being their. Thank you for such a great time, Bob & Linda

Room Tip: FANTASTIC for anyone who is handicapped, easy access and service to everything.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank granitebaynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews