We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a MUST!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This is a MUST!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I spent the final leg of our honeymoon here and we did not want to leave! We were greeted the minute we walked into the lodge by a huge elephant at the watering hole - amazing! We took our first game drive that afternoon and saw 3 lion cubs, and a Cheetah snacking on his most recent kill. Fritz and Mpho were our guides and they were so much fun and knowledgeable! Our last day Mpho tracked down a family of lions - incredible. Every ride we something different - we pulled over for our afternoon cocktail and about 20 elephants walked up to the watering hole - they could not have planned it any better.

The accomodations were fabulous - hot water bottles, plunge pools, rose petal flled bathtubs and of course amazing wine! We did not want to leave. The staff was so friendly - we were sad to have to say goodbye! We are already talking about when we can go back . .thank you Fritz, Mpho, Ronel for an unbelievable experience and one we will never forget!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PbarryVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
166
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Take everything you dreamt an African safari could be... then multiply it by ten! Tintswalo, its staff, food, villas, and animals were beyond expectation! Our family of 6 went in October '12. We had both the Livingston Villa (?) and Presidential suites. The villas were furnished lovely and the view was jaw-dropping. My siblings and I couldn't stop laughing with excitement at how ridiculous and awesome the place was. The way the villas are landscaped and constructed you feel as though you are all alone in the bush. As a total neat-freak and self-diagnosed germaphobe I was impressed with how clean and well kept the entire resort was. I am a very harsh critic (case in point- I bring my own travel blanket on the plane and dont usually use hotel pillows). Dining was exceptional and on par with anything I have eaten at 4-star restaurants in NYC. The prawns and kudu are musts.

Patrick was our game guide and was fabulous. He was friendly and informative yet mellow. We were able to see all of the big 5 in in only 6 drives (3 days/2 nights). He and Jack made a real effort on our last day to get us near the reclusive rhinos before we had to leave for the airport. Sure enough they pulled through and we saw a group of them. The lionesses and cubs during the rain were another favorite of our group.

I would recommend Tintswalo to anyone thinking about an African safari. The staff is all so dedicated and conscientious that there is no way you can not enjoy yourself. Seeing the animals and the landscape can best be described as spiritual. I WILL go back someday!

Room Tip: All of the villas were lovely. The presidential does have a nice large family room which was great f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ggmmollymb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, MA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a very good lodge and excellent staff attending to one's every need. We had a wonderful 4 days here and enjoyed ourselves a lot. Beautiful location and must have been a beautiful place when built 10 years ago. It needs some physical upgrades in the lodges to bring them to current standards for a 5 star resort. Starting to look their age and tired. Mattresses need to be throw out and replaced with nice new fluffy ones. The game drives were excellent and Fritz was a very knowledgeable and wonderful game guide/driver. We went out at 6 am and 4:30 P M for 3 hours at a time. Wonderful game viewing. For the meals which are included, the food was presented well yet lacked flavor and taste. The wait staff were excellent as was all the staff here. The spa was also excellent. Would still recommend this place. Hopefully the owners will correct the small deficiencies soon. We had a great time here.

Room Tip: All are individual lodges located quite a distance from the next one so very private, and had to wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ted p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I won't be able to gush enough about the amazing place, staff and experience we had while staying in the Stanley (one of the private suites). Tintswalo is a very small safari lodge which was perfect for us and we were 10 folks and took all of the suites. The animal viewing and information was fantastic. It backs up to the Kruger Park which adds that much more area for animals to roam. It was 100% a natural environment that you were seeing the animals in. The first 10 minutes of arriving and going to our rooms, an elephant was grazing no more than 25 feet from the walk ways. The food was easily 5 star. We didn't want to leave except for we might not have been able to get thru the door if we didn't because we enjoyed all of the meals so much!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Staff were friendly and well-trained.The game drives were excellent and sightings included the big five (1 Leopard, 22 lions, number of buffalo, rhinos, etc). The resident chef was up to the task and spoilt us for three days, Rooms were large and luxurious and the rates (for the Manor House which sleeps 10 people) was quite reasonable. It's one of those I'll be back" places.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here as the second leg of our honeymoon - our first trip ever to Africa. Tintswalo was a very different experience from our first lodge (Nottens Bush Camp) with electricity (and heat!) in the rooms. As two of six guests staying at the lodge, service here definitely felt super personalized. We had dinner with the other guests and the owners of the lodge the first night. Food here was so different from Nottens but equally spectacular. Think smoked salmon during afternoon tea styled lunches and made-to-order dinners.

On the game drives here we ended up being surrounded by hundreds of buffalo. We also got to witness two lions mating. Our guide, Patrick, was so knowledgeable and always took care of us.

Tintswalo likes to really sell the fact that they create a man-made watering hole to attract animals, but we found that most of the nicer lodges did this from what other travelers said. While we were sitting there, buffalo and elephants both came to the watering hole, but its nothing big.

While at Tintswalo we also we took an excursion to see Jessica the hippo. Petting, feeding and massaging a hippo was definitely a first for us!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Tintswalo means compassion and warmth for a friend. Every thing about this place embodied that spirit. From our tour guides Erick and Foster to our Chef Johan and all the other staff there... it was an out of Africa experience.

Erick took us on long and fun game drives for over 3 hours and made every effort to find the game in the reserve. When we did find something he gave us a good facts and trivia about the animal, After an exhausting game drive (which started at 5am) we cam back to the lap of luxury from exquisite and detailed suites and innovative cuisine prepared by the head Chef Johan. This was served by one of the waitresses (I can't believe I forgot her name) in a most intimate and romantic setting paired with superb South African wines. All in all a very memorable experience.

Room Tip: Good to be close to the main lodge so it is a short walk after dinner to the room as it does feel li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EconomistMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manyeleti Game Reserve
23.2 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
386 reviews
20.2 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
431 reviews
7.4 mi away
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
#2 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
385 reviews
15.8 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
439 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#47 of 171 in Kruger National Park
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintswalo Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo Safari Lodge

Property: Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Address: Manyeleti reserve | Greater Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Manyeleti Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Manyeleti Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private safari lodge within the pristine Manyeleti reserve adjoining the Fenceless boundary of the Kruger National Park. Private plunge pools, big 5 game, amazing cuisine. Manor house can take children with a fantastic children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tintswalo Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintswalo Hotel Manyeleti Game Reserve
Tintswalo Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing