We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sunset view point and a great taste of Africa”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manyeleti Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shalati Adventure Lodge
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent sunset view point and a great taste of Africa”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Camped here while on an overland tour. The host was amazing! We ate, talked, saw traditional dancing while at the Shalati. I would love to make it back again someday. If you go please ask for a shot of "barbed wire" at the bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    14
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We booked Shalati through a South African web site, with scarce information and only generic pictures. Great deception when we arrived. Very basic chalets, small and uncomfortable, almost no space or furniture to open the luggage. Toilets dark and with suspicious smell (sewer) coming out from the hot water. We had to empty the hot-water tank completely and fill it with "fresh" water again in order to remove the smell. There were no customers at all, we were the only ones, and probably the hot water had been in the tank for too long.

Good home-made food.

It is a cheapy where overland trucks stop for a night. Better go to Orpen or somewhere elese within teh nearby Kruber National Park. The sorrounding area of Shalati is not so interesting anyway, we ended up going into Kruger everyday anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryM-Stanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed on Shalati's campsite as a part of an overland tour. The campsite is unique in that it's a mostly concrete sight where a restaurant once stood and that the land is leased from a local tribe and employs and provides on-the-job training for people from this tribe. The staff is great and we had our own private bar at our campsite! The only problem we encountered was when we had an overnight rainstorm- the bar area and some of the camping area had quite a bit of standing water, making it interesting to get around without getting splashed in the morning. Give back to the local community and have a nice stay at the same time at Shalati.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SquirrelofAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

The Shalati Safari Lodge is a great place to stay if you wish to spot the big 5 during game drives in the "greater Krueger national park". The lodge is located directly at the border of the Manyeleti game reserve. The lodge offers simple, but very beautiful and clean chalets with own shower and toilet witch are perfectly integrated into the environment.
Paul and Maryanna who run the place gave us a warm and cordial welcome and offer a great service.
The "lekker" food is handmade and is served in a dining-hall at the pool. The lodge also supports a local school project. I would recommend this place to any of my friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnetka, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We loved Shalati! We were on a tour with the manager Paul as our tourguide, with a brief stop at Shalati. Paul and his wife Maryanna were warm and welcoming, and the grounds quite well kept. They have a lovely outdoor bar and firepit, and you take wonderful meals by the pool. They heard that it was my sons birthday, and came out singing with a tray of breakfast muffins with candles, and had bought him a t-shirt as a gift. They arranged for us to visit a local school too, so that my kids could see what life is like in the village, and took us on some amazing game drives. It is not a luxury resort, but a well priced place to stay in the bush to get the full experience of a safari adventure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cocojakob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manyeleti Game Reserve
City Bowl
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#99 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Bayview Hotel
#11 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aanhuizen Guest House
#26 of 37 in Swellendam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Shonalanga Lodge
#23 of 32 in St Lucia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalati Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalati Adventure Lodge

Property: Shalati Adventure Lodge
Address: Road D4419, Manyeleti South Gate | Hluvukani, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Manyeleti Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Manyeleti Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shalati Adventure Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a bush lodge situated next to the Manyeleti game reserve that is part of the greater Kruger National Park. We offer open vehicle game drives into the Manyeleti game reserve as well as village tours to the Hlalagashle village presented by a local guide who works at Shalati. We also offer bush walks on the premises. We have bar facilities available as well as a swimming pool. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing