We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed and mislead, couldnt wait to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Disappointed and mislead, couldnt wait to leave”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We were on our 3 week African honeymoon and spent 3 nights at Honeyguide’s Mantobeni camp. Shortly after arrival we became extremely disappointed as it was clear to us we had been misled by the Honeyguide website and brochure regarding the 4 star status and customer service. Coming from a 5 star lodge to a 4 star camping lodge we obviously expected things to be more rustic. However we spent 2 nights at Inchgo River Lodge on Impaliia Island in Namibia which is also a 4 star tented camp and Honeyguide fell a long way short of providing a similar level of accommodation and service.
We were collected from our previous lodge (Kampama River Lodge – which was excellent) and transferred to Honeyguide. The road into camp is absolutely atrocious. The area suffered severe floods in January, however these roads have been left in ill repair for some time. We found out from another transfer company we used later in our trip that they refuse to transport tourists into the camp grounds as the roads are so bad. A member of Honeyguide staff has to meet them at the gate for collection.
When we arrived, there was no one around. Our transport driver actually showed us the entrance of the camp and went and found the manager. This was a poor start considering lodges we had been at previously always had someone present on arrivals to greet guests and offer a refreshing drink.
After we met Amanda, we were told that we were to be transferred to Mantobeni, the adult’s camp. We were currently at Khoka Moya, the ‘kiddies’ camp. Craig (who was to be our guide for the entirety of our stay) transferred us and our bags the ten minute drive to Mantobeni.
We were greeted by Vickus at Mantobeni standing in front of a large purple wall. He showed us around the corner and into the main lounge and dining area. We sat on the old cane couch with a filthy old rug under our feet. The bookshelf in the corner was in danger of falling to the right and the doors were partly unhinged. We were given a very brief orientation which included being told not to feed the vervet monkeys or he would have to shoot them as he has had to do so in the past. Not a good start.
We were told that after dark we would be escorted to our tent as the camp is not fenced. There is a whistle in each tent to raise the alarm should there be an emergency. However there is no phone or radio should you require assistance without the need to wake up the entire camp. You are on your own until morning.
When we enquired as to internet access we were told there is only one computer and it is at the Khoka Moya camp.
We were shown to our tent (number 9) which was the very end tent. There was obvious damage from the January floods. Our “carefully positioned tent” had a view of a dry riverbed with debris scattered everywhere and we were unable to see any wildlife due to the dense foliage at the top of the riverbed. Some of the floorboards had been replaced, however the remainder were warped from water damage and the whole flooring really needed replacing. The new stairs and railing were anything but secure. The “welcoming leather couch” was hard and cracked and the see through worn out rug should have been retired many years ago. The king bed was draped in mosquito netting that had holes in it. There wasn’t very much room down either side of the bed and there was no area for our bags to be laid out for easy access.
There is a very good reason you won’t find any photos of the “ensuite” on the website or in brochures. The so called “large custom made bath” is simply a cement hole which had dirt in it. The “double shower” is useless as hot water can only supply one shower head at a time. The shower and sink fitting were covered in lime scale. The toilet paper sat on the ground as there was no holder and there was a maintenance worker still working on the electricity and broken toilet when we arrived!
On the morning of check out when we did a quick and final check of the tent before leaving, we discovered the faulty shower head and tap had been draped in handtowels, indicating, much to our annoyance, that staff where aware of the problem.
The wakeup call for the morning game drive was announced with the beating of drums at 6:00am, followed by the announcement for lunch at 2:00pm and dinner at 7:30pm. The meals were pretty much served right on time so you’d better be present at serving time or as we discovered, you risk getting a cold meal. It’s not like a lodge where you can make your way to meal times between 1:00 and 2:00 for example. However on our second day I was suffering a headache and had to lie down. I asked for my lunch to be served later which wasn’t a problem.
We were disappointed to discover that all meals are communal dinning so we wouldn’t be able to enjoy any romantic dinners here. We were further disappointed and frustrated when we were told that each night, the camps join together for dinner (meaning the adult camp suddenly becomes child friendly) and that every second night we would have to be transported to the Khoka Moya camp for dinner.
The food was very fresh and received positive comments from all the guests. Being vegetarian was not a problem as the chef spoke to me personally on the first day regarding my meals. However one night at Khoka Moya the entrée was calamari and a tiny side salad. My entrée was exactly the same as everyone else’, a palm sized serving of salad in the far right corner but nothing where everyone else had calamari.
On our first night we discovered the only warmth provided in our tent was a hot water bottle. The front flaps of the tent come down but are only fly screen mesh, not canvas to keep the cold out. The ‘ensuite’ has no roofing of its own, it is completely open. It is just the massive tent canopy that towers over the entire tent to keep the moisture, leaves and monkey pee/poo off the main tent roofing. Cold air, bugs and the odd vervet monkey are free to come in all day and night. We discovered that the other guests showered at lunch time as it was simply too cold to shower in the mornings or evenings.
When the morning drums are beaten as a wakeup call at 6:00am, it’s a wakeup call for the monkeys too, knowing that tea, coffee and biscuits are on the way to the tents. They come running to the tents and the brazen ones even come in under the canvas hoping to steal a biscuit or two. Some guests were scared of the monkeys however for us, their early morning antics where the first thing we had to smile about.
When the staff delivers you your hot morning drinks, they have to undo the tent zipper and actually come into your tent while you’re still in bed to deliver it to you! So we had to remember to be aware of our early morning visitor and dress accordingly.
On the morning of day 2 we mentioned to Vickus that our toilet continued not to work to which he responded ‘Not again!’ and stormed off. Not exactly the customer service we were used to receiving. It certainly wasn’t our fault that thing never worked.
After breakfast we went to the Moholoholo Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre. It contributes to the conservation of endanger species and the rehabilitation of injured and poisoned wildlife. Working within the animal industry within Australia we would definitely recommend the trip. We saw a larger variety of animals there than in 15 hours of game drives at Honeyguide. We saw a number of birds of prey, leopard, lion, cheetah, wild dogs, serval, honeybadger and even an 18 week old white rhino. Other than Moholoholo and game drives/walks, your only other options are the pool or reading/ board games from broken bookshelf in the lounge area.
On our second night we discovered that since housekeeping went home after lunch and didn’t bother returning (as we had to dine at Khoka Moya for dinner) no one got hot water bottles. Not exactly a big deal but as your only source of heat from the cold, they were definitely missed. The next morning guests mentioned to the guides that they missed having their ‘lifeline’ from the cold. We were told that they would speak to housekeeping because they ‘become lazy sometimes.’
The game drives are 6:30 – 9:30am and 4:00 – 7:00pm. Craig has a broad knowledge of African wildlife and delivers information in an enthusiastic and captivating manner however his tracking ability appeared very poor. Our ‘tracker’ Brilliant was more of a spotter than a tracker. Manyeleti is a large reserve however the area is crossed by numerous marked roads. Not once did Craig or Brilliant stop to check the movement of the game in the area. The radio was the main aid in finding game and it was deflating hearing Craig ask ‘any updates’ a number of times. Although we appeared to be driving aimlessly through the bush, we did manage to see the big 5 (although they only have the white rhino, not black) we have no doubt it was by pure chance and not in part to the skill of our tracker/guide. The leopard actually jumped out in front of the vehicle and another guide found the lion, while a guest spotted the Rhino before Craig and Brilliant.
The pool in a simple rectangular plunge pool, not a ‘lap pool’. The deck chairs are worn and face the brick wall behind the pool. The Honeyguide brochure states “you have a view of the waterhole”, you don’t. The water hole was completely obscured by foliage and is not visible from anywhere in the lounge, dinning or pool area.
Outside meal times it was difficult to find a staff member for assistance. Some staff’s English is very limited. On one occasion I asked one wait staff what the entrée was, she didn’t understand me so grabbed another staff member. He understood but didn’t know what it was so had to ask the chef was it was they were placing in front of us.
All drinks are included in you stay, however at meal times only water and wine is offered, you have to request soft drink and beer.
In conclusion, we found the customer service, accommodation, attention to detail and game viewing severely lacking for a place with a 4 star rating. 2.5 Or 3 star would more accurately reflect what is essentially camping with electricity and indoor plumbing, not “creature comforts to satisfy the luxury loving animal in you”. We would not return and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Makzulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wombat1, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Karissa and Mark

We are very concerned that you did not enjoy your stay at our Honeyguide Mantobeni Camp. We have picked through your feedback, in detail, to see how and where we can improve our service.
As you mention, the Manyeleti was badly affected by the floods of earlier in the year. However, the Reserve Management has graded the road a few times since then. Although they remain far from perfect and we are pressing the management to improve upon them. Nevertheless standard vehicles continuously access Honeyguide without too much difficult on a daily basis.

Guests visiting Mantobeni camp arrive at our Main Camp, called Khoka Moya where they are taken to the Mantobeni bush camp on game drive vehicles. I am sorry that Amanda had to be called - although she normally keeps an eye out for arrivals it is possible to be caught unawares - something we need to change.

We specifically chose the frayed carpet in the Mantobeni Main area because of its rustic look. It is cleaned daily and has held up well. The couches in the main area are only a few months old, not showing wear, and were brought into replace a leather couch that received the unwelcome attention of a roaming hyena late last year.

The induction you receive by the management on arrival at Mantobeni although brief is essential and it is very important to warn against the consequence of feeding or playing with the monkeys. That being said we do condone the shooting of monkeys. If there is an animal that becomes a danger to our guests, we would need to work through Reserve Management to deal with this.

Although the dense foliage around the waterhole is thinning with the change in seasons, we take note of your constructive suggestion that we should clear more around the waterhole.
I am glad that your special dietary requirements and request for a later lunch were attended to. A completely alternative starter to the calamari and salad starter should have been provided. Dining at Honeyguide is around one table with other guests as well as the staff managers and guides. Occasionally and depending on the guests, we do a combined boma or bush dinner at one of the camps. Although our staff , who mostly join us from the local community, are friendly and willing they are sometimes unfamiliar with terms such as entrée, a term not commonly used in our region and also one which can mean starter or main depending which country you are from. Waiting staff are instructed to serve wine and water at mealtimes but will happily offer any soft drink or beer on request. Not providing a hot water bottle on the one night that you returned from the dinner at Khoka Moya was inexcusable and I am sincerely sorry for this.

As you mention there is an opening between the 6-foot bathroom wall and the flysheet to afford a view of the treetops and bird life. Although this does mean that some insects and leaves may enter the bathroom, this is part of the open-air experience and should not impact on the enjoyment of your stay.

I am pleased that you saw the big 5 at Honeyguide and that you felt that our guide Craig was knowledgeable. We do not like our guides and trackers to leave guests on the vehicles while they head for the bush, so require tracking activity to be done separately – and is done by guide and trackers when not on drives with guests. They also make use of radio as you mention to get updates from the Reserve Management and other guides. It is good that guests actively participate on game drives and are part of the spotting experience on the vehicle. I am also pleased that you enjoyed Moholoholo, which looks after distressed animals and has a large number of animals in captivity.

Apart from the two game drives I confirm that guests are offered a guided walk after breakfast. For the rest guests are at leisure to relax by the pool, in their tents or in the lounge area.
Our maintenance manager thought he had fixed the problem with the plumbing but attended to it again when you felt it hadn’t been resolved properly. Although the recent floods did not affect your tent we have rechecked the fittings to see that all are properly fixed. The small rug in the tent has become worn so we have replaced this.

With regard to the early morning refreshments, we like to offer our guests tea or coffee in their tents and not in the main area. We cannot leave refreshments outside the tent as it will be taken by the monkeys. We note that you felt this intrusive and will look into how we can still offer this service without intruding on your privacy.

We are naturally sorry that we didn’t do enough to make your stay enjoyable. It is good for us to have your feedback to see where we fell short of your expectations and what we need to do to improve our offering.

Warmest regards

Peter Aucamp, and the Honeyguide Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    37
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
100
116
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

What a fabulous Camp. We were there August 2011. Very quiet as it was winter in S.Africa. We were a party of 6 including my grandson who had just turned 11. Our ranger Dries was wonderful. He took JJ under his wing and made him a Jr. Ranger.
Our tents were wonderful...spacious with fabulous showers. We slept at night with just the screens down...a little cool ...but a great experience. The food was also great. I have been at one of the top Camps a few years earlier and I Have to say that I enjoyed the food and care more at Honeyguide than I did at the other camps. We will be going back in a few years again and hope to see most of the same staff is still there!!

Room Tip: There are no bad tents. We were fairly close to the main area and that was very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOGOAWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wombat1, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear Logoaway

Thank you so much for posting this wonderful review of Honeyguide's Khoka Moya camp. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the children friendly camp was to your liking. We are grateful to you for mentioning how much the staff including Dries the guide and Mama G in the kitchen contributed to the enjoyment of your safari. A bush kitchen is a challenge and we are happy to see that they came up trumps! We look forward to your return when I am sure you will be greeted by the same smiling faces! Warmest regards Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Unfortunately we picked probably the worst time to arrive in January just as the cyclone hit the region. Roads turned to rivers and we had to be reloacted several times, the first time due to concerns that we may get washed away and the second night the elephants had destroyed the fresh water pumps. As it turned out the second night the water did reach the mattresses and unfortunetly there was a lot of damage throughout the lodge.

Even so the troops put on a brave face and we still went out on three game drives even though accompanied by a lot of torrential rain. We did manage to see a host of animals, bird live and the destruction caused by the cyclone. The chef and his staff still provided first class meals under very difficult circumstances and the wines were also excellent. I am sure that when it is dry it is truly magnicficent place.

Many thanks to the Manager Victus and his wife for helping to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I hope the baby squirrel they were caring for has survived and will soon be ready for release. To Drieff and his trekker many thanks for the effort they put in to locate as many animals as possible, given the terrible weather conditions

Room Tip: All the tents appear to be same, just some are closer to the main lodge than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janipots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wombat1, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Janipots

Thank you so much for being such troopers and bearing with us during the cyclone period. The whole of the Limpopo region was severely hit with the worst storms in years and many lodges including ourselves were badly affected. Thank you for being such wonderful guests - having to move tents - even camps as we battled the problems from the storms. Glad to see that Wikus and Amanda and the kitchen tried their best in the circumstances. Happily the damage has been repaired and even some of the low lying roads which were severely affected are now back in operation and we can continue with our daily safari program. Warmest regards, Peter Aucamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed with Honeyguide for 3 nights in mid Feb. 2012. The staff was friendly and helpful. Dreis and Devon worked very hard to allow us to see the Big 5. The tents are rustic, clean and as another reviewer noted kind of Hemingwayesque. (thats what we like) if you want a fancy schmancy lodge then this may not be your place. There is always that element of danger here, you live right in the bush. When you check into your tent at night that's it, you are in, no wandering about. In fact my son left the Boma on his own and I've never seen someone run so fast as Dreis did to check and see he was OK. BTW, he was.
The food for being in the middle of the bush was outstanding. if Eleven Madison Park is #1 and a 10/10 then I would give the food here a 7.5/10.
We were woken up at 5am with drums( a great touch) and at 5:05 coffee was delivered to our tent.
Again the staff was great and worked hard to make our time special.
One caveat, I was on safari 30 years ago in Tanzania and i did find the animals much more plentiful. Nothing wrong with this establishment but if you are going to look at animals i think Tanzania is the place to go. just different geographics and land. You really had to hunt for animals in the South African bush.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amsternrochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wombat1, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Amsternrochester

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at Honeyguide We are very pleased that you enjoyed the style of the camp, that the staff, especially Dries, took good care of you and that you enjoyed the food. There are certain challenges to a bush kitchen and it is wonderful to see that the chefs did not disappoint. We hope to see you again. Warmest regards from the Honeyguide Team. Peter Aucamp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We loved this lodge. It was amazing. The accommodations were tent / canvas sided structures on a raised wooden platform. It is somewhat rugged on the outside, but five stars of luxury on the inside. The food was outstanding. We had group meals around a large family table with the guides. Coffee/ Tea was brought to our room each morning. We had terrific guides (Wayne and Philip) who knew so much about the wild life. They have a genuine enthusiasm for the wonders of nature and were able to transfer that to us.
The atmosphere was low key, family style. We felt very welcomed. This was THE BEST!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalGirl1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wombat1, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear CalGirl, thank you for posting your feedback on your stay at our Mantobeni Camp. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our guide and tracker Wayne and Phillip were a positive part of your experience. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the informal style of the camp and dining at one large table with other guests and our guides and managers. We look forward to welcoming you back! Peter and the Honeyguide Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We were in honeyguide late november 2011 and we had the time of our lives!!!
I can´t find words to describe how this experience changed our lives. The contact with the narture, the smell of the bushes, the wildlife, the sounds of the animals. The openess of the tent is an extra experience, it´s thrilling and exciting. The view from our bed and the sound of the animals were way better than any HD TV!! It was so good for our mind and body to disconnect from the rest of the world.
The staff is extremely friendly. Bret is very welcoming and we miss listening to Rose playing drums calling us for the meals! And talking about the meals.... what a gastronomic experience. My husband and I are foodies and we enjoyed so much the food and wine. It was amazing to imagine that we were in the middle of the bushes, and having such sophisticated dishes. The beverages all included was also a good thing about Honeyguide.
We think the game drives were fantastic thanks to our great rangers (Dries and Fanuel) and the great tracker Vestement. Our experience would have not been so great without them. Also we like the "privacy" of Manyeleti Reserve, there were no many cars around so we felt like the bushes were all for us.
We saw 4 of the Big 5, only the leopard insisted to hide from us! But we saw many other amazing animals, including a lioness drinking water after eating a kill. I will never forget the eye contact we made with her. I am sure this trip will be forever printed in my 7 year old son memories.
We can´t wait to come back to Manyeleti and spend another unforgetable days at Honeyguide.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Izabelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wombat1, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear Izabelle, thank you for posting your feedback on your recent stay at our Honeyguide Khoka Moya camp. Wonderful to see that you enjoyed the food and wine, that the game viewing was good except for the missing leopard! and that your 7 year old son leaves with good memories of the South African wild. We hope that we have the opportunity of hosting you again, Brett, Dries, Fanuel, Vestment, Rose - and the rest of the Honeyguide Team. Peter Aucamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I just returned from a two night stay at Honeyguide and don't know that words can ever describe how incredible the experience here truly is.

I was there with three other guys and we were able to do each game drive on our own vehicle. Having a small group makes it a much more enjoyable experience where you really get to know the guides. We were very fortunate to have Vikus as our guide and Brilliant (such a great name) as our tracker. I'm sure the other guides and trackers do a fantastic job but it would be hard to imagine how they can be better than Vikus and Brilliant. We got spoiled our first drive and saw all five of the 'Big five' including a Leopard making a kill in the dark. The other drives were great as well and we saw everything we had wanted to see. Almost as if it were scripted, we only saw our first male lion five minutes before the end of our last drive...what luck! I wish we could have stayed another day and got in two more drives. Each drive is unique so you never know what will happen each drive, but the law of averages works out that over 3-6 drives you should definitely get to see everything you want. On our last evening drive we asked for pictures with Vikus and Brilliant. I can't say how touched I was when Brilliant pulled out his phone and asked for a picture with us. He meets new guests all the time so it really meant something for him to want a picture to remember the experience.

As for the accomodations and meals, the Honeyguide is the perfect combination of luxury and ruggedness. The tents certainly have a 'Hemingway' feel to them and are very comfortable yet you still know that you are sleeping in the middle of the bush. I think staying at a 5-star resort would completely take away from the experience whereas the Honeyguide tents provide a real 'bush' experience. While the tents are a little on the rugged side, the meals and facilities at the main group building are top-notch. They provide unlimited drinks with lots of great South African wines and beers to choose from. And each meal was just amazing. They had out fruits and cereals for breakfast so I assumed the first day that was breakfast. Then the waiter comes over and asks how I'd like my eggs, if I want bacon and/or sausage and potatoes. Lunch and dinner are equilly fantastic and the property is small (only 12 tents) that you get the opportunity to meet and talk with all the other guests and the guides.

I left making some new friends, a full camera worth of pictures and memories that will last a lifetime. I couldn't recommend the Honeyguide experience any more!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wombat1, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dle, thanks to you and the rest of the guys for your visit to our Mantobeni Camp earlier this month. It is wonderful to see how much you enjoyed the Honeyguide experience, and the informal and relaxed style of the camp. Thank you for mentioning WIkus and Brilliant, as it seems that they did much to ensure that you enjoyed your visit. I mention that we are in the process of making some changes to the tents at Honeyguide including an upgrade of the bathrooms and some minor changes to the furnishings in the tent .We are delighted that you enjoyed the food and wine experience, as our chefs despite the challenges of working in the bush still manage to suprise and delight with their offerings. Thanks for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor! Peter Aucamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manyeleti Game Reserve
7.4 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
337 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#50 of 171 in Kruger National Park
301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buffelshoek Tented Camp
Buffelshoek Tented Camp
#5 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
428 reviews
6.6 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
329 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#46 of 171 in Kruger National Park
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps

Property: Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Address: Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1360, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Manyeleti Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Manyeleti Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Tented Safari Camps in the Manyeleti Reserve in the Greater Kruger National Park. Stay either at Mantobeni the more classic camp with its Nehru tents on wooden decks set in a forested water course or the contemporary designed Khoka Moya camp with its larger tents and which welcomes children of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps Hotel Manyeleti Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing