We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Honeyguide lived up to expectations. Great sleeping tents, excellent food and the guides were knowledgable and knew just where to find the animals. The two game drives each day were perfect. This was my first Safari and I would definitely return to Honeyguide.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RLKtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyguideRocks, Front Office Manager at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear RLKtravel

Thank you for taking the time to review your Honeyguide experience

We constantly strive to ensure we exceed our Guest expectation and it is most gratifying when we succeed. Every game drive, every guest interaction is undertaken with great pride and I am so happy that you experienced this first hand.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Honeyguide camps in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

As part of our holidays in the Greater Kruger National Park in August, we spent two nights in a family tent at the Honeyguide Khoka Moya Camp. At first, I’ve to say that we spent a lot of time searching for an accommodation to experience a more adventurous stay in the bush. Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps – sleeping in a comfortable tent in a camp without fences right in the middle of the bush – really sounded great to us. I read a lot of reviews, but as I read one review saying “I woke up early one morning, opened the tent and the elephant was right in front of me” I had to book it – and we weren’t disappointed. Right at the beginning of our trip two elephants welcomed us at the reserve entrance gate. In the evening an elephant walked by during dinner and spent some time close to our tent so that we couldn’t go to bed at first – an unforgettable experience to be such close to elephants. Overall, we can say that our stay at Khoka Moya met all our expectations. The tent was very clean, perfectly arranged and with very comfortable beds. The service and food were excellent – even though we had some special diet requirements the cook was always very creative and came up with something nice for us. Our guides always tried the best to spot and to get us as close as possible to the Big Five – and it finally took us only two days to see all of them. Together with our guide Devance we went out on a longer bushwalk to learn more about the bush, trees and flowers, tracks and signs, birds and insects – it was absolutely fantastic. And it was always nice to chat with our guide and guests about the bush, animals we saw and their behavior while eating together. If you look for a real African Bush experience in a tent without sacrificing comfort and safety, we can only recommend a stay at Honeyguide Khoka Moya.

Thank you all very much for an unforgettable stay in the bush,

Indra, Eberhard & Matthias

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IndraMatzeGoSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyguideRocks, Front Office Manager at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear IndraMatzeGoSA

Thank you for your wonderful review on your Authentic Safari Experience at the Honeyguide camps .

We are delighted that you had a Excellent time at Honeyguide and that the team at the camp exceeded your expectations with the Game drive sightings and Bush walks . The staff`s passion comes through with every guest interaction and your kind words have been passed on to them.

We hope to welcome you back to the Manyeleti in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Our second time on safari in South Africa and we are very, very satishfied. The Big Five more than once and our driver Devance is a super guy with the most wonderful laughter :-)
The tent is nice and we enjoyed listening to the animal right outside .... Exiting!
The staff is very kind og have allways a smile for us og the week was to short ....

Room Tip: Just one of Them......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Niviarsiaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyguideRocks, Front Office Manager at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Niviarsiaq

Thank you for your Fantastic review on your safari experience .We take great pride in our guest’s satisfaction and it thus pleases me to know that you found the staff service, food and game drive viewing to your liking. I have passed on your praises to all the team members for their information as well as their motivation

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I loved Honeyguide camp. The staff was friendly, food good and the guide and tracker excellent. Proximity to the water hole allowed for good animal viewing just sitting in the lounge. The tents were comfortable and being able to listen to the sounds of nature at night was amazing. The only thing that would have been nice is a little more room for storing suitcases, clothing, etc; otherwise, perfect.
Pam

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 28Pam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyguideRocks, Front Office Manager at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2014

Dear Pam

Thank you for your great Honeyguide review.

We appreciate the feedback regarding the storage for your bigger bags and your compliments have been passed on to the staff for further motivation.

we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

From the welcome to the farewell, we all had an excellent experience. We all enjoyed the facilities, the food, and and the activities. Our first day was chilly, and the night cold. Much to our "surprise and delight" the beds had heated mattress pads. As the weather warmed up we enjoyed the fans and chance to relax and rest.
We saw all big 5 in less than 24 hours, and then had multiple sightings, as well as other animals and birds. Saw 2 male lions - about 15 feet away - and they started roaring in response to another, distant roar - amazing experience. Our ranger was Fanuel and our tracker was Anthony, both did a great job! Anthony spotted a lion's tail in the heavy grass/bush from the road, and we saw our third lion. Fanuel is very knowledgable, and in addition to information during the drives, we also enjoyed a safari on foot.
Small - only 12 tents on site - and great service. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Tents are spacious, and fairly private, but #6 and #7, while a longer walk, were a bit more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSWeyek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyguideRocks, Front Office Manager at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear JS Weyek

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your Excellent stay at the Honeyguide Camps

We take great pride in our guest’s satisfaction and thus pleases me to know that you found the service, food and Big 5 game drive viewing to your liking. I have passed on your praises to all the team members for their information as well as their motivation

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Honeyguide camps in the future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We went on our first safari in South Africa and Khoka Moya Camp and had a real unforgetable week here. We are so pleased with the whole stay and all the wild animals we saw.
The game drives, two each day, were driven by Devence, a fantastic ranger who made everything in order for us to see the animals.
The days at the camp were busy and thrilling. We woke up 6 every morning by the drums, still night and completely dark outside the tent. Five minuters later we had coffee on a tray and while we dressed we saw the sun rising. Then three hour's game drive in the bush. We were lucky to see all Big fives and lots of other animals. On one of the game drives we saw a family of lions who had just killed a buffalo and were eating of it, just by water hole. From our jeep we had pool position. Another thrilling moment was when we were in bed at night and heard an elephant eating on the trees just outside the tent! Next morning we saw lots of proof, elephant poos.
Thanks to our hosts Claes and Anne and all the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyguideRocks, Front Office Manager at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Yvonne

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your 5 Star stay with us

We take great pride in our guest’s satisfaction and it delights me to know that you found the Game viewing and hospitality to your liking. It is wonderful that you got to view the Lion Pride feeding and other such exciting sightings. I have passed on your kind words to the team for their further motivation

We look forward to welcoming you back to the camp in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We enjoyed our 4 nights at Honeyguide. Our guide and tracker, Brillant and Anthony were wonderful. We saw the big 5 on the first 2 game drives. We were told that we were staying at Kruger. Note: This is not Kruger and you will not be allowed to drive into Kruger. This is a game reserve and different rules apply. You are able to go off road. Allows you to see more animals up close. But sometimes it feels like stalking.

Our travel agent did not advise us about optional excursion that are available at Honeyguide. But the staff had room on a tour group from Sweden and allowed us to join them on the Panoramic tour. It was great. A long bus ride, but worth it for what we saw. We had several stops, so it broke up the ride. The guide was excellent and after he spoke in Swedish, he explained it all again in English for us.

The food and staff are great. One of the best meals I had was a hamburger for lunch. It was excellent. All other meals were very good. One evening, they had a barbeque dinner.
The camp caters to Northern Europeans. But everyone is welcome. And everyone speaks English. Very glad we choose this camp.

The accommodations were wonderful. With that being said, they do need a light in the sink area of the bathroom. Very difficult to put in contacts and makeup with a flashlight, even during the day. The shower is open and exposed to the bathroom. Does not allow for privacy. And it gets VERY COLD at night in the winter. We were there in early June, and the first real cold front came thru. We woke up at 6 am to frost everywhere. There was no heat and no heating blankets. A shower was impossible, even getting out of bed was hard.
But that is life in tents and a very good overall experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nastraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyguideRocks, Front Office Manager at Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Nastraveler

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your Enjoyable experience at the Honeyguide Camps .

Your kind compliments regarding the great food, service and overall hospitality have been passed on to the team members. The Big 5 viewing is at its best during the winter month and it is unfortunate that it makes the Luxury Tent experience such a cold one , We have implemented hot water bottles in the beds at the turndown service and store extra blankets if required. We have taken note of your concerns regarding the bathroom lights and we would like to extend our warm hospitality again, so please do visit the Honeyguide camp during your next visit to SA .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manyeleti Game Reserve
7.4 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
384 reviews
11.9 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
430 reviews
11.2 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#58 of 175 in Kruger National Park
312 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#35 of 175 in Kruger National Park
330 reviews
9.1 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps

Address: Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1360, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Manyeleti Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Manyeleti Game Reserve
Price Range: £361 - £565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury tented safari camps in the Manyeleti Reserve in the Greater Kruger National Park. Stay either at Mantobeni, the more classic camp with its Nehru tents on wooden decks set in a forested water course, or the contemporary designed Khoka Moya camp with its larger tents and which welcomes children of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps Hotel Manyeleti Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing