We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great game viewing, not the chalet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balule Nature Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tremisana Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great game viewing, not the chalet”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Upon arrival to Tremisana, we were greeted by the host with a cool drink, nice touch after a long drive from Joburg. The grounds are pretty and you immediately get that 'bush' feel, however, our chalet (#5) had a strong odor and needs to be attended to. I am all about getting the safari experience in the bush, but I truly feel and strongly recommend that the chalets need to be refurbished! The a.c. was corroded with dust, the bathroom shower (had to wear flip flops while showering) needed to be scrubbed down and you might want to take care of what was behind the sink, terrible mold! I was glad we were only staying 2 nights. The game drive was great, we saw hippos, giraffe, elephants, lions, rhino, zebra and wharthog families. Although, after a long day at Kruger, we were driven all over the place to retrieve keys that the host left behind at another lodge and had to re-fuel at a gas station, we got back a few minutes before dinner, completley exhausted. Please do not do this to other guests, it was not appreciated and highly unprofessional! Enjoyed dinner, ate impala for the first time, conversation with other guests was nice and the stories from one of the rangers. Breakfast was quite poor. Next time I will splurge and get better accomodations!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hittinthecities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    129
    27
    12
    0
See reviews for
67
120
109
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

On a recent trip to Limpopo Province we made use of the services of VIVA SAFARIS as our tour operator and were very happy with the service offered as well as with their guides and the accomodation at Tremisana Lodge. VIVA SAFARIS were efficient in their processing of our bookings and were always on time to fetch and carry us. The staff at Tremisana who are also part of the VIVA SAFARIS group were welcoming and friendly and the food was wholesome and plentiful. I have no hesitation in recomending VIVA SAFARIS and Tremisana Lodge to anyone going to that area with the idea of visiting the Kruger Park or just looking to view game in one of the many private reserves in the area. Thank you VIVA SAFARIS for a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the fence for lovely game viewing from your room - we saw elephants nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deeleddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Tremisana Game Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Hi Guys
Thanks for the positive response. I am pleased that VIVA SAFARIS satisfied all your expectations. I am especially pleased that you were happy with the whole package : from VIVA SAFARIS booking staff, to the VIVA SAFARIS guides and the staff at TREMISANA LODGE.
VIVA SAFARIS is pleased to offer our services not only to international tourists but to local South Africans like yourselves.
I thank you.
Piero Colia
General Manager, VIVA SAFARIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I wasn't supposed to be staying here, but got upgraded from the Tree House becuase of the floods in January.
The rooms are great, with air contioning, clean towels, etc...
All the staff around the lodge were amazing, they work such long hours and so hard and are always very helpful, in a good mood and smiling. I needed to book a bus and one of the staff lent me her phone.
The food was great, breakfast and dinner was a great experience.
Did a morning bush walk behind the lodge and saw a Hippo. The drivers I had the two days were great.
I don't know about other lodges, but this was is amazing. I would definetely go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amixtika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Staying at Tremisana Lodge was pleasant and comfortable. The room was very clean and cozy, the staff was very helpful and cared a lot about us and our needs. I also enjoyed dinners a lot, they were really delicious.
We stayed only for two nights so there wasn't lots of time to explore the surroundings. However, on the evening of our arrival we were lucky to see a hippo while driving in Tremisana Game Lodge and it was so nice. The next day they took us to Kruger where we saw 3 from the big 5 (lions, elephant and buffalo). I enjoyed our guide, he told us lots about wild animals.
To sum it up, I felt happy and important at Tremisana Lodge. Everyone working there did their best to satisfy all the needs of their guests. And as there were not lots of people (about 15 staying at one time), you could really feel that everyone cares about you personally.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I am from India. The communication was always spot on. Despite the floods, it was made clear that the weather was perfect over the weekend. I had an upgrade from the tent to the Tremisana. Well maintained, great place. And ofcourse great landscape and did see the best of Kruger. Only complain would be the long drive between the game reserve and Kruger. Thank u very much. Appreciate the hospitality.

- Karthik

Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Karthik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The environment, the facilities, the staff (especially the madam who runs the place) has all given us an unforgettable experience.
Thank you guys...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We recently stayed at the Tremisana lodge and really enjoyed our time. The staff was very friendly and organised a very nice program for us. Also the guides were very good and gave us great insight into the wildlife. The variety of the game drives we did was also great. We preferred the game drives in the 4*4, compared to the drive to Kruger Park. It is more exciting and you get closer to the animals.
And finally we had time to relax . Our children also enjoyed it a lot.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bart j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
16.7 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
2.6 mi away
Masodini Private Game Lodge
Masodini Private Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
#4 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tremisana Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremisana Game Lodge

Property: Tremisana Game Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tremisana Game Lodge was a founder member of the Balule Game Reserve. Tremisana is the largest and leading lodge in this section, having a total of 12 chalets plus a two-bedroomed guesthouse. We can sleep a maximum of 35 guests. Every unit is en suite ( shower, toilet, basin ) and all units are air-conditioned.The lodge is serviced by two excellent boreholes. Its proximity to the tar road means Tremisana is easily accessible all year round, including the rainy season. The presence of lions, elephant and buffalo necessitates the maintaining of an electric fence around the camp. Perhaps the most striking feature of Tremisana Game Lodge is the beautiful gardens. The presence of numerous bougainvilleas and various palms and cycads gives the camp a subtropical feel. Water features add a soothing effect and the overall feel of Tremisana is very relaxing. At night, the subdued light from the illuminated paved walkways lend a romantic and magical flavour to this outstanding camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tremisana Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Tremisana Game Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing