We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, an awesome place...can't recommend it enough!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balule Nature Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tremisana Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow, an awesome place...can't recommend it enough!”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here only 1 night on our safari and we can only wish we had more time. This place is a little gem and the staff are so nice. The food is great and what I liked most was that there are little monkeys free to roam (well, all the animals are free to roam!) It is a magical setting and I really feel that if we Safari again, here will be high on the agenda. It is warma dn welcoming and the staff are friendly and informative. We booked through Viva safaris and had 1 night here and 2 at Marc's treehouse. Out of the two places, this is more of a luxury than the Marc's trehouse, but both are amazing emperiences. To wonder out of your front door and have nature on your doorstep. Incredible! Our guides here were Wes and Bongani and I can't thank them both enough for their time. We were lucky enough to have tours where we were the only couple and my favorite from this lodge was the early morning bush walk. Going out when it's still dark, with an armed ranger into the animal teritory is really something else. A bit of a thrill, if you may!

Room Tip: All rooms here are amazing. The venue is such a perfect setting and the staff are great too! 5* in m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    129
    28
    12
    0
See reviews for
67
121
109
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
baltimore md
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The staff was very courteous, and went the extra mile to make the visit stay. Very personal experience, and the game drives often are with few people which is good too. The drivers on safari also tried to make sure we saw as many animals as possible. Would highly recommend this company again, and would use again if I came back. We stayed at Tremisana lodge which was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This was probably to most amazing and exciting time I've had on my travels!
The staff worked very hard to make the guests feel comfortable and made our stay unforgetable!
The bush has inspired me in so many ways, I can't wait to get back there!
The lodge was clean and had all you need in the bush!
Dinner was always a great time to catch up with the other guests as well as with the rangers.
I love the outdoors and wanted to stay somewhere relaxed, exposed to nature and budget friendly.
The stay at the Tremisana Lodge fitted perfectly to our needs.
Thanks to everyone who made our trip so unique! It was perfectly organized and I will definately return!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingSteff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Our tree house accommodation elsewhere was washed away in the floods, so we were very lucky to be upgraded to Tremisana Game Lodge. We loved everything about it, the security, food, people, staff, our lodge, the excellent swimming pool but especially the tour guides, Wes and Liam. Young they may be, but experienced and very knowledgeable about animals I had never heard of, let alone seen. They had x-ray eyes and could spot animals we would have missed. We saw 4/5 of the Big 5 but lots more. Even the truck getting stuck in the river bed was exciting. Malcolm and Linda send hugs to them both and thank you for a great Safari.xx

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

A long drive from Joburg so it was good to be met by a smiling host and a cold drink. As our gropu of five on the mini bus were all from differerent countries we had lots to talk about so the journey passed fairly quickly.Tremisama Lodge is comfortable, clean, has lots of hot water and not too many insects.Staff were friendly and meals were plentiful after long days out.Guests at Tremisama had lots of stories to exchange in the evenings - especially a guy from Ireland and two visitors from New Jersey.The journey from Tremisama to Kruger park was longer than envisaged and kruger Park is massive - about the size of Wales/israel?? On our trip to the Kruger our driver, Patrick, was very patient while looking for the big five animals who have large areas to hide away from the humans!! If visiting again I would be more prepared fro the journey from Joburg and the distances to/from and within the Kruger Park.

Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Upon arrival to Tremisana, we were greeted by the host with a cool drink, nice touch after a long drive from Joburg. The grounds are pretty and you immediately get that 'bush' feel, however, our chalet (#5) had a strong odor and needs to be attended to. I am all about getting the safari experience in the bush, but I truly feel and strongly recommend that the chalets need to be refurbished! The a.c. was corroded with dust, the bathroom shower (had to wear flip flops while showering) needed to be scrubbed down and you might want to take care of what was behind the sink, terrible mold! I was glad we were only staying 2 nights. The game drive was great, we saw hippos, giraffe, elephants, lions, rhino, zebra and wharthog families. Although, after a long day at Kruger, we were driven all over the place to retrieve keys that the host left behind at another lodge and had to re-fuel at a gas station, we got back a few minutes before dinner, completley exhausted. Please do not do this to other guests, it was not appreciated and highly unprofessional! Enjoyed dinner, ate impala for the first time, conversation with other guests was nice and the stories from one of the rangers. Breakfast was quite poor. Next time I will splurge and get better accomodations!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hittinthecities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

On a recent trip to Limpopo Province we made use of the services of VIVA SAFARIS as our tour operator and were very happy with the service offered as well as with their guides and the accomodation at Tremisana Lodge. VIVA SAFARIS were efficient in their processing of our bookings and were always on time to fetch and carry us. The staff at Tremisana who are also part of the VIVA SAFARIS group were welcoming and friendly and the food was wholesome and plentiful. I have no hesitation in recomending VIVA SAFARIS and Tremisana Lodge to anyone going to that area with the idea of visiting the Kruger Park or just looking to view game in one of the many private reserves in the area. Thank you VIVA SAFARIS for a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the fence for lovely game viewing from your room - we saw elephants nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deeleddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Tremisana Game Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Hi Guys
Thanks for the positive response. I am pleased that VIVA SAFARIS satisfied all your expectations. I am especially pleased that you were happy with the whole package : from VIVA SAFARIS booking staff, to the VIVA SAFARIS guides and the staff at TREMISANA LODGE.
VIVA SAFARIS is pleased to offer our services not only to international tourists but to local South Africans like yourselves.
I thank you.
Piero Colia
General Manager, VIVA SAFARIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
255 reviews
1.7 mi away
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
#1 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
345 reviews
16.7 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
635 reviews
3.5 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,039 reviews
2.6 mi away
Masodini Private Game Lodge
Masodini Private Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balule Nature Reserve
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tremisana Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremisana Game Lodge

Property: Tremisana Game Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tremisana Game Lodge was a founder member of the Balule Game Reserve. Tremisana is the largest and leading lodge in this section, having a total of 12 chalets plus a two-bedroomed guesthouse. We can sleep a maximum of 35 guests. Every unit is en suite ( shower, toilet, basin ) and all units are air-conditioned.The lodge is serviced by two excellent boreholes. Its proximity to the tar road means Tremisana is easily accessible all year round, including the rainy season. The presence of lions, elephant and buffalo necessitates the maintaining of an electric fence around the camp. Perhaps the most striking feature of Tremisana Game Lodge is the beautiful gardens. The presence of numerous bougainvilleas and various palms and cycads gives the camp a subtropical feel. Water features add a soothing effect and the overall feel of Tremisana is very relaxing. At night, the subdued light from the illuminated paved walkways lend a romantic and magical flavour to this outstanding camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tremisana Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Tremisana Game Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing