We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely safari intro”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balule Nature Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tremisana Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My son and I stayed 1 night at Tremisana lodge. Our room was very comfortable and Rai, Wes, Texan really made our safaris fun. Being at Balule meant you could get really close to the wildlife and we were luck to see a black rhino on our first game drive. All our drivers and game viewing were great and we always felt very safe. Breakfast and dinner was lovely and we especially appreciated the professionalism of all the staff. We will be back again soon.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Khyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed at the Tremisana Lodge for 5 days with my parents. The welcome with the night drive followed by a bush braai was memorable and well organized. The Lodge itself is beautiful and the guides are amazing. Very friendly, informative, polite and they have the amazing ability to spot all kinds of animals even in the dark. Respect for that and thank you for showing and explaining us so much.

Unfortunately we can't say the same about the kitchen/cleaning staff. And that's why the evaluation is so low. The breakfast was very good, I have to confirm that. But beside the breakfast there was not much fun and no friendly or even warm atmosphere at all. Every time we had a question, we had to search for the responsible person at least for 10 minutes and then they were barely friendly or even helpful. For 5 days in a row, they didn't serve us something to drink for dinner or even put a glass on the table! For 5 days in a row they served chicken, only the side dish changed. For 5 days in a row we had to ask every day after every dinner if we could please have a coffee or a tea. And then the staff acted without exception like we were a burden and not paying clients. They were indifferent, not helpful and not friendly at all. Maybe you could consider them as barely polite but that was it. After 21h (9 pm) it was impossible to get something to drink because everything was closed, the bar, the kitchen and the fridge was locked. There was/is no way to get something to drink in a shop near by because it's far from the next village - so this condition is absolutely not unacceptable!

The one day we had a few hours for ourselves to relax at the pool they didn't even bother to put some pillows on the damn hard wooden deck chairs - they were so hard that it was absolutely impossible to relax on them and to enjoy the pool! And of course there was no one we could ask for the pillow because the staff practically vanished, so they didn't have to work or to put the slightest effort to satisfy the customers. Really unbelievable.

On their website, they promote their goal as followed: "our aim has always been to enthusiastically share that love and passion." This staff (except the guides) didn't show the slightest sign of enthusiasm or love or passion. They were indifferent, bored, unhelpful and not customer-friendly at all.

Sorry guys, but this accommodation is not worth the money you pay for it. If you wanna have relaxed and nice holidays then rather consider another accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I will always make a point of visiting Viva Safaris. As a Tour operator myself, i have only the best treatment from the staff and most important, my clients that i take there. Thank you Piero and all your staff at Viva safaris. I know the industry and all its challenges very well, and I am simply amazed every time I come for a visit. I look forward to much more visits and will definitely promote Viva safaris every step of the way.

Until next time
William Redelinghuys
Montabezi safaris

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Montabezisafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

we had the most mazing trip and I really enjoyed my stay at the lodge. I am definitely coming back soon. The staff was great and made us feel welcome from the tie that we arrived. the sunset drive was fantastic and we loved seeing the African sunset. we saw a lot on this drive and we loved the braai underneath the stars. the bushwalk started early and we had a fun filled walk. we enjoyed our visit to Tshukudu. the day in the park was our highlight. we made the big five. we definitely know the place we coming back to for our next vacation next year. thank you for the great service. five star rating in my books

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andreabbchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The rooms were very clean, with comfy beds and a/c. The meals were served on a patio facing the open bush so you have a chance wild animals may walk by during your meal. The pool is small but clean and refreshing from the heat .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I decided to take a vacation after loosing my father. A safari seemed like the best option and it turned out great. The animal sightings were great and the endless chats with rai and alice helped and comforted me greatly. Not only did i find a place to see great animals i made beautiful friends and sisters. My top sightings were the elephants, the lions and the leopard. I will come back with my family for christmas. The peace, love and serenity i found is what they need as well. Much love to rai and alice, the guides .. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vitoloren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed for 5 days on Tremisana Lodge with Viva-Safaris company. I found Tremisana Lodge is an amazing place getting a Safari with Viva Safaris. Peoples are great, yammi Food, nice Rooms and excellent familir Safari Programm which is done with max. 8 peoples in a Jeep. Guides are also weel known about Kruger Area (animals, nature side and local things,...).

I will definetly come back at any time. Even you have allready booked, good choice. Even not you should book these huge Safari.

Room Tip: all rooms are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Allgaeuboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
5.7 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
294 reviews
20.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
424 reviews
17 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
461 reviews
3.6 mi away
Naledi
Naledi
#3 of 22 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,095 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rio Dos Elefantes River Camp
Rio Dos Elefantes River Camp
#16 of 22 in Balule Nature Reserve
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tremisana Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremisana Game Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tremisana Game Lodge was a founder member of the Balule Game Reserve. Tremisana is the largest and leading lodge in this section, having a total of 12 chalets plus a two-bedroomed guesthouse. We can sleep a maximum of 35 guests. Every unit is en suite ( shower, toilet, basin ) and all units are air-conditioned.The lodge is serviced by two excellent boreholes. Its proximity to the tar road means Tremisana is easily accessible all year round, including the rainy season. The presence of lions, elephant and buffalo necessitates the maintaining of an electric fence around the camp. Perhaps the most striking feature of Tremisana Game Lodge is the beautiful gardens. The presence of numerous bougainvilleas and various palms and cycads gives the camp a subtropical feel. Water features add a soothing effect and the overall feel of Tremisana is very relaxing. At night, the subdued light from the illuminated paved walkways lend a romantic and magical flavour to this outstanding camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tremisana Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Tremisana Game Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing