We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd stay at Tremisana” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tremisana Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balule Nature Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tremisana Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“2nd stay at Tremisana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was my 2nd stay at Tremisana since 2012 and again it was an amazing time. After 7 hours drive from Johannesburg I arrived at Tremisana and was greeted warmly by Rai. After a quick drop off of my luggage I went on my first game drive. After a good drive we had our dinner at the Boma for a bush BBQ. Next day there was the bush walk but because of a knee surgery Rai changed my program without any problem so I could skip the walk. Each night I got my program for the next day and easily things could be changed and were done by Rai with a smile. I had some amazing good drives with Texan , Luke , Elvis. We had some incredible adventures of broken tires and getting stuck in the sand but this part of the adventure. Being a female travelling alone I never had a feeling of insecurity. When I had to leave to my next stop it felt like I was leaving my family behind. This is feeling you get after a stay at Tremisana is that you have become a part of the Viva Safaris. Thanks to Rai for her energy each day and help with all changes , to Luke, Texan and Elvis for the amazing drives , to Delina , Caroline and the kitchen staff for the great meals each night. I hope I can return again to Tremisana so I can visit my Viva family again. I left South Africa with a lot of amazing memories and a piece of my heart left there.

Room Tip: I had room 6 which has a double bed and is close to the bar area, pool and boma.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    128
    26
    12
    0
See reviews for
65
118
108
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I pulled up to Tremisana Lodge, on the edge of Kruger Park, at dusk. A strapping young man greets us with a movie-star smile and glinting hazel eyes. We learn this DiCaprio look-alike, named Chris, will be our safari guide for the next two days. Needless to say, we are not disappointed. We begin the night drive with a buffalo sighting (one of the Big Five already down). The sun sets and dark descends rapidly. Our guide encourages us to remain silent, for he sees with his ears. His signs say an elephant is near. But an hour passes with no trace. Then, from nowhere appears an elusive leopard, spotted in the stealth of the night with Chris’s spotlight. He assures us of our rare fortune, as he sees this cat at most once per month. Two down and we are amply content. But most impressive is the thumb-sized chameleon Chris finds twenty feet up a tree, in the pitch black of night. Even our lesbian companions are now eating out of the palm of this gorgeous jungle boy’s palm. Chris was born in the bush. His mother is the master trainer to many Kruger guides. His passion for this land is palpable. At last, we sight the massive pachyderm, just feet from our jeep. Elephant makes three, and I snap a shot with my flash camera. But the photo I’ll most treasure is the one I snuck of our guide, while pretending to capture our bush brae (BBQ). Every woman on the tour returns to the lodge embarrassingly giddy with infatuation. Albeit half my age, Chris is the creature I will remember most from this safari.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 140laurab64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Tremisana Game Lodge, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Laura
I am very pleased to see that you had such a great time - and I am pleased that you found Christopher so wonderful - he is an excellent guide.
Thanks for taking the time to write a review - both I and the staff ( especially Chris ) appreciate your effort.
Kind regards
Piero
General Manager, Viva safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We are a group of nine that just returned from a volunteer safari that was beyond our wildest immagination. The lodging was rustic (no heat, air only at Tremisana) but comfortable. The food was simple but adequate (we all felt that the food at Marc's Treehouse was better than that at Tremisana) and the staff at both lodges were helpeful. Our group especially enjoyed Margaret, Pretty and the staff at Marc's. After four days the girls shed tears as we left. All of our guides were good. Bongani, our main guide was outstanding! While the animals that we saw were amazing, the experience of working with the children an Funjwa(sp) school and at the Ekurhuleni Center for Orphans and Vulnerable Children left us all humbled and so very thankful for having this experience. Thanks VIVA!!

John Hosea

Room Tip: don't go expecting luxury, but rather embrace the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had an excellent stay at the Tremisana Game Lodge between the 5th and 7th June 2014. Alice runs the Lodge on a day to day basis with quiet efficiency, whilst the wardens, Luke, Chris, Texan and Wes ensured we had a wonderful experience and saw the BIG 5, even a Leopard sitting in a tree with its evening dinner, an Impala.The accommodation is very clean and simple, but has everything you will need. The food is very good, but watch out for the monkeys at breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pesky2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
160 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

The Tremisana is located conveniently on a bush reserve. It is a small facility with about 15 units which surround courtyard with a pool. The vervet monkeys can be a problem however., do not leave your door open. It is the first property that I have ever stayed at that provides insect repellent. It is part of the Viva Safari program.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ofmyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have recently returned from a "6 day Kruger safari" based at Tremisana Lodge. Unfortunately there were many things about the trip that were disappointing - none of which were the fault of the Lodge 'per se' - so much as its position.
Firstly, this lodge caters to those wanting an African Bush experience, so it is unfortunate that its proximity to the road means that one can hear the drone of traffic all the time - particularly at night when noise travels more.
Secondly, there is only one place at the lodge where one can sit and just watch for passing animals or listen to the chirping and rustling that makes the bush so special, and in this space sits the biggest and most ancient fridge I have ever seen - which hums loudly and incessantly, making it impossible to sit in the "lapa" without going insane! What makes it worse is that there is absolutely no reason at all for this fridge to be there - it should be in the kitchen.
Thirdly, the distance of the lodge from the Kruger Park gates (it took approximately 1 hour 45 mins to travel between lodge and park, each way) meant that one arrived at the park much too late for the optimum animal spotting time. I have never before been on safari (and I have been on many) where one goes on game drives between 10am and 3pm - but here we spent all day driving about, meaning that by the time we returned to the lodge we had spent 11 hours sitting on an uncomfortable vehicle and were pretty exhausted.

All this is a shame because the lodge staff are charming and the guides very good. The traffic noise can't be changed, but the other things could be improved by giving some thought to alternatives and implementing them.

At the conclusion of my trip I felt that, whilst there had been some nice experiences, the whole thing had been spoiled by the above issues and it certainly wasn't worth the money I paid for it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hilary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kays
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I travelled witb.my girlfriend to.this beautiful lodge. Ig was the best trip ever and a great way to kick off our tour of Africa. The day we arrived at.the.lodge it was very.warm and Rai.welcomed.us and gave us an introductory to.our safari. Always smiling Rai!!. We.went on the night drive and we
experienced the most beautiful sunset ever. The next.day was a.full day in the park. Awesome experience . I saw so many elephants that my heart almost stopped with.excitement. Greatest experience. We r definately coming bback after the wedding for our honeymoon. Thanks tothe guides, Mama
Alice and lil Rai. You guys run an awesome machine

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaysoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Tremisana Game Lodge, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Kaysoy

Thanks for a wonderful review.
We are very pleased to know that you and your girlfriend had such a great time.
Alice and Rai are really something - I am glad that you enjoyed their friendly manner and smiling faces !
We look forward to welcoming you for your honeymoon !
Thanks again.
Piero
General Manager, Viva Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
5.1 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
16.7 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
2.6 mi away
Masodini Private Game Lodge
Masodini Private Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#3 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tremisana Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremisana Game Lodge

Property: Tremisana Game Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tremisana Game Lodge was a founder member of the Balule Game Reserve. Tremisana is the largest and leading lodge in this section, having a total of 12 chalets plus a two-bedroomed guesthouse. We can sleep a maximum of 35 guests. Every unit is en suite ( shower, toilet, basin ) and all units are air-conditioned.The lodge is serviced by two excellent boreholes. Its proximity to the tar road means Tremisana is easily accessible all year round, including the rainy season. The presence of lions, elephant and buffalo necessitates the maintaining of an electric fence around the camp. Perhaps the most striking feature of Tremisana Game Lodge is the beautiful gardens. The presence of numerous bougainvilleas and various palms and cycads gives the camp a subtropical feel. Water features add a soothing effect and the overall feel of Tremisana is very relaxing. At night, the subdued light from the illuminated paved walkways lend a romantic and magical flavour to this outstanding camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tremisana Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Tremisana Game Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing