We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kruger 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2011

kruger is accessible by one world or star alliance same day connection via kmia. on kruger itself have to stay on the road, not permitted to drive off road looking for animals. in greater kruger can drive off road look for animals and this we did on 10 th August.
lodge;
we decided after read trip advisor reports and others in google on nilade. efficient book and prepay with credit card on internet, questions answered promptly. it's owner operated and the drive is run by kjel, the owner. really nice hot showers and modern clean rooms that blend in with the environ, safe behind electric fencing. shower soap is provided. internet is free-wifi.
the drive;
twice a day, 530 am and 3.30 pm, 3 hrs each with stop for coffee on the way. comfortable 4wd vehicle, water bottles, beene, blankets supplied. go off road look for animals in natural environ, behaving naturally. possible to park next to lions eating dinner. lions just ignore the vehicle, don’t even look at us. its really one to one with nature. lots of opportunities to see the big 5, remember it is on the animals terms.
the lodge;
5 star, turn down service in evenings, heated room ready and welcoming lighting on arrival and each night on return from game drive. really comfy bed with lots of pillows to chose from, fussiness is catered to. we had a whole well stocked bar to ourselves, all items free. all the bottled water we want, ice cold ready. such pampering.
the food;
masterchef champion standard prepared by kjel's wife kim. never eaten so good in a hotel. food included in the price in the web site, no extras to pay for. its standard expected of really nice restaurants served in intimate settings. why would anyone do a great game drive and eat any less I don’t' understand.
service;
kjel and his team is every where and at every moment trying to please without being overbearing or repetitious.
to enjoy all this bookings is essential, enjoy it on your next visit to kruger. we had a really nice time as you can see.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PjKcontributor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

We had such a lovely time, everyone is welcoming and friendly and always eager to assist! The game drives are both exciting and informative and the rooms are very nice!

Room Tip: Get the leadwood suite, its absolutely lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RochelleM2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed for three days and had nothing but impeccable service, food, accommodations and weather! Kjell and Sydwel were fabulous guides/trackers during our bush drives and took care of our every need--hot water bottles for cold mornings and evenings, cold water for warm afternoons, spur-of-the moment stops at our request so that we could "listen" to the absolute silence and gaze at stars. Kjell and Sydwel stayed in close contact with other trackers and drivers so that we knew where to look for the animals. We did a bush walk one afternoon with Sydwel and learned about the native uses of plants and trees, the differences in animal tracks and droppings, and lots of additional fun facts. At the lodge, we had the option of several places to sit and watch, sit and listen, or sit and do nothing. The vervet monkeys were fun to watch and the giraffes walked right up to the lodge. We definitely plan to do this again!

Room Tip: All rooms were fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewJerseyLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in a marvellous suite.Very well decorated.
The food was extraordinary,Sam the cook is extremly talented and inventive.
Kjell is always making sure that everybody is doing fine and doing his best to make us feel at home.
I highly recommanded this camp,too bad we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laetitia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Naledi (meaning "star") is indeed a small gem among private game lodges and offers exceptional value for money. Kjell and his team are dedicated and enthusiastic, and the food is delicious - Sam's Eggs Benedict are the best I've ever had. I was particularly struck by the kitchen's willingness to cater for my food intolerances and grateful for the extra mile Sam went.
Rooms are spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean, and the communal areas of the lodge are thoughtfully arranged, and have wonderful views over the bush.
The lodge runs seamlessly and is easily comparable to other lodges in a higher price bracket.
Game viewing is good and we were able to see elephant, rhino, buffalo and lions during our stay. Kjell certainly does his level best to enable his guests to see as much wildlife as possible - and bushwalks with Billy, the tracker, where a fascinating experience and window into local culture.
I was also extremely impressed the Kjell offered free high speed internet access to his guests - something far too few South African hotels/b&b's offer.
My only reservation was the intensity of our stay - mostly a result of long game drives. I really battled with eight hours a day bouncing around in the landcruiser, and not getting enough sleep because of the early rises and late dinners. I'd hoped to achieve a balance between relaxation and game viewing but found this hard to do at Naledi and left exhausted. I think families with children may struggle with this arrangement.
That said, I would recommend Naledi to anyone looking for an exceptionally good, value for money safari experience.

Room Tip: Leadwood Suite is situated away from communal area of the lodge, offers private deck and pool and su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kalgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Our wonderful stay started with a bit of a hassle to find the gate to the Balule Reserve and then the way from the gate to Naledi. The road map not covering in detail this area, a small map of the area and reserve would have been useful.

When we finally made to the camp, our worries were far behind for the camp is quite a charm. We were warmly welcomed by Kjell and Craig who immediately put us at ease.
The camp is small and cosy amidst the endless plains beyond it. The common area is spacious, well-comprised and very comfortable. The bar offers a wide range of beers and wines, the prices of which are, however, not clearly indicated. They remained, nonetheless, very enjoyable!

There are many wooden decks offering much privacy even in the common areas and allowing this area to open up on the beautiful nature around it. Overlooking the camp’s waterhole, the view from the highest deck is breath-taking. One can spend time on end looking at the African bush from above and the Drakensberg range on the far side.
There also is a pool which looked great, but given we were there in winter, we did no more than look at it!

We were sleeping in “Paperbark”, recognisable by the stunning elephant carved on the door. The room is very spacious and well decorated. Its African feel adds to the whole experience, as does the outdoor shower. The wooden deck at the front was just perfect to catch the warm winter sun with a good book in hand.

Our days were very well organised and perfectly timed. The 5am start was made easy by the promise of game to see as well as the hot water bottles and blankets. Thanks for that! Be it by the river or on a hilltop, morning coffee was also a great warmer…

The game drives are always interesting; Kjell has much information to share on the bush and his own experience. He is also always keen on answering stupid and not-so-stupid questions… He is very passionate about the wild and will go the extra “bushy” mile to bring you up close to the animals. We never thought we’d get so close to an elephant or a rhino. Tracking Big Boy on a morning drive was also a thrilling experience, even if we didn’t get to see it after all.

Heading back to the camp after the drives, we would be welcomed by a hearty meal. All meals were great and prepared with much TLC by Kim. Dominated by sweet and sour tastes, the meals were well presented and very creative.

All in all, we had an amazing experience. The whole team at Naledi contributed to making our stay an unforgettable memory.

Thanks to Kjell, Craig, Kim and Sidwell for your friendly yet professional attention.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

What a gem! We stayed at Naledi bushcamp for two nights in July 2011 and wished we had booked a few days extra. Kjell and the whole staff made us feel very welcone and did everything to make our stay unforgettable. This is what a bush experience should be!

A normal day looked like this:
5.30 AM: wake-up
6.00AM - 9.15am : morning game drive with coffee/tea break
9.30AM: breakfast
11.00AM : bush walk (once during stay)
2PM: lunch
3.30PM - 7.15 PM: evening game drive with sundowners
7.30PM: 3-course dinner

Let me expand on a few of these:

GAME DRIVES

Kjell leads the game drives together with a very capable tracker. The drives are done with an extremely comfortable safari vehicle. No other vehicle we passed on the different private reserves looked on par with the vehicle of Naledi. The jeep seats 8 and everyone has as good a view as the other. Blankets, hats and even warm water bottles are provided to keep warm on the drives. Both Kjell and the tracker are extremely passionate about the wildlife in the park and try their utmost to make sure the game drives are an absolute highlight of your stay. And they are!

FOOD

The food served at Naledi is exceptional. Every dish that was served looked like a little painting and was made with fresh, high quality produce. Hats off to the chef!

ATMOSPHERE

Kjell and the staff try to create a very personal and laid-back atmposhere and ambience between themselves and the other guests. All guest have breakfast, lunch and dinner at the same table and that makes it easy to get to know the other guests and create friendships.

ROOM and CAMP

Everything in the camp and the rooms is extremely tidy and clean. The whole place has an understated luxury feel without loosing its relationship with the bush that surrounds the lodge. The pool area and the decks looking out over the water hole are especially beautiful.

CONCLUSION:

We had an excellent stay and would recommend this camp to anyone. This is where memories are made.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickdillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
23.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
410 reviews
20.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,780 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
290 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
674 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp

Address: R40 | Balule Nature reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: £323 - £969 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just four magnificently appointed chalets sleeping only eight people, right in the heart of Big Five country within the borders of the greater Kruger National Park!!!! Without a doubt, Naledi offers you the most personal, intimate experience anywhere In the region – and at a price often less than half of what you would expect to pay elsewhere! At Naledi we only ever have a maximum of eight guests on our game viewer, only eight relaxing on our beautiful swimming pool deck overlooking the river bed and our private waterhole where one can enjoy the daily parade of animals and birds coming to drink and feed in total peace and tranquility. Our lodge is our passion, showing people our private piece of wild Africa our greatest pleasure, and that means introducing you to the bush and all its creatures, from lions and elephants, to antelope and birds is something we always look forward to ! At Naledi you’ll find aircon throughout, delicious meals, elegant surroundings, a fabulously stocked bar, fun, relaxation and excitement in equal portions, but best of all, you’ll arrive as strangers, and leave as friends!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and South African Hotels so you can book your Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing