We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go home from this game lodge!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't go home from this game lodge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Be aware of the many possible unpleasant consequences of having stayed at the Naledi camps: You will miss the Naledi staff, your house will not be cleaned twice a day, nobody waits outside with a tray of drinks when you get back from work, the food at home is boring in contrast and you will have to cook it yourself, there are no lions outside your gate, driving your own car on the road is boring, and bargain hunting is nothing compared to game hunting. In addition you have to start saving up for your next trip to Naledi.

Be warned!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank VonKrogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    39
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
278
529
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

1 day after our wedding we headed from the States to South Africa. After a long flight and a 6 hour drive we get to the Naledi Enkoveni Camp where we are greeted by Sypho, one of 4 trackers we met at the camp. The adventure begins. Tranquil and beautiful, Enkoveni Camp sits on the banks of a river, where you can see the elephants, hippos and monkeys amongst many other animals, taking a water break or resting under the trees. We had the impala lily room- with a huge out door terrace , as well as an outdoor shower!!! So romantic!
The game drives are amazing- 2 a day one starting early in the morning and another late in the afternoon. When you come back a gourmet breakfast or dinner welcomes you- as well as the smiling faces of Salome and Philine who are there to cater to all your needs.
On our second night Rozanne, the lodge manager had arranged for us to have a romantic candle lit dinner on our patio- champagne and all.

Truly a wonderful experience. The enkoveni lodge is the larger of the two lodges housing approx 16 people - I believe the Bushcamp only houses 8. A magical experience- the facilities are immaculate - service is impeccable and genuine. Sydwell and Vujani, the trackers, are sweet and knowledgeable. Simply a dream.

Room Tip: Tips: Honeymooners- get the impala lilly room- Amazing! Make sure you phone ahead and let Rozanne kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninatulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Our Naledi experience was superb! We saw three of the big five (black rhinos, elephants, and buffalos) during our four night stay. We also saw giraffes, vervet monkeys, baboons, hippos, a wildebeest, zebras, crocodiles, warthogs, banded mongooses, dwarf mongooses, a chameleon, many hoofed animals (kudu, steenbok, waterbuck, impala, and probably others I’ve forgotten), colonial spiders, and many birds. We were so lucky to see three black rhinos! As other reviewers mentioned, Naledi focuses on quality of animal viewing. So when we’d see an animal, there was plenty of time to observe the animal and take pictures. Shaun and Sipho did a wonderful job on the game drives! We also enjoyed the bushwalk, which focuses on plants, tracks, etc.

Enkoveni was beautiful. It’s a little surreal to eat outside while watching giraffes or waterbucks across the river! Thanks to Rozanne’s wonderful hospitality, we enjoyed a lovely dinner on the porch our last night.

Other details:

*Drink Prices – As noted in other reviews, the drink prices are not listed, but they are reasonably priced. Just for reference, in September 2013, it was about $2 for a beer, $4 for glass of house wine, and $1.50 for a soft drink.

*Tipping – You can leave tips for the driver and tracker on your credit card, or they can give you a blank envelope for cash. There’s a box in the reception for tips for housekeeping, wait staff, etc. The box is shared by about 15 people.

*Photography – Because you get so close to the animals, a high zoom point-and-shoot will satisfy most guests. I had a 70-300mm L series and a wide angle lens on separate body. I relied mostly on the 70-300mm, and only a couple of times did I wish that I had 400mm for that extreme close up.

*Game Drive Vehicle – There were 6 guests (3 couples) and 12 guests (6 couples) over the course of our stay. The vehicles only had 6 people in each, so you always get to sit with your significant other and there was an open seat on each row. There are pockets on the back of each seat for storage, and bottled water is provided on the evening game drive.

*Transfers – We used Ashtons Kruger Shuttle, and the transfer was seamless. The drop off had us at Enkoveni in time for lunch and the evening game drive, and the pick-up was after breakfast and the morning game drive.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fishing Owl and the Bushbuck. If the Bushbuck is available, choose it. Both rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DC3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Me and my brother stayed here in September. We stayed in Enkoveni camp which is excellent...
The rooms are big and comfortable, the game drives were awesome seen the big 5.. Staff were amazing and helpful anytime.. food is great quality... defiantly a must if going to south africa!!!!

Room Tip: Choose Enkoveni
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bundy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Four of us stayed at Naledi for 6 nights in September, with my wife and I having a return visit, after a two year gap.

Kjell is now ably assisted by Alicia ( manageress ), who have breakfast and dinner with their guests, on alternate days. Waitresses have also since been employed, to assist in serving guests at mealtimes and with drinks from the bar.

The chefs, Lucas and Sam served up many memorable meals, which included Springbok, Ostrich and Kudu.

However, the main event here is the game drive..2 per day, each lasting 3 1/2 hours , includng a 15 minute morning coffee break ( with or without a slug of Amarula!), and sundowners of choice at sunset.
Kjell is assisted by a tracker ( We had Prem and Sipho ), who are perched precariously at the front of the Landcruiser, We were again fortunate to see The Big 5, but before each sighting often comes the chase.
One of the wonders of Naledi is to witness Kjell in full flight ..........sending and receiving radio messages whilst driving at break-neck speed through the roughest of terrain, whilst his guests hang on for dear life.
Then, all of a sudden, we came across a moment of wonderment, a herd of impala, snorting a warning alarm towards a predator. Kjell turned the vehicle on a sixpence and hurtled towards where a leopard had been spotted . No impala kill but a few minutes later a warthog kill.
Although we did'nt witness the actual kill, we spent some 25 minutes watching the leopard enjoy his dinner from 10 feet away.
There were so many other highlights, and too little space to mention them here. My advice go visit Naledi and experience all kinds of wild life, quality accommodation, superb food, professional staff and of couse Kjell.

Thanks a million
Best wishes from Ian, Pauline, Tara and Vikki .

Room Tip: Leasdwood suite for a special touch of luxury, having it's own plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpressGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Naledi Bushcamp was the highlight of our 14 day South Africa experience. We spent 3 nights there absolutely loved every second of it. Our guides were exceptional, Rozanne always greeted us after a safari with a nice drink, and the meals were world class. The accommodations were wonderful and it seemed like every time we could possibly think of something .... the staff had thought of it first. The safaris (1 in the morning and 1 in the evening) were very successful. We saw all 4 of the big 5 (no leopard sightings) and what made Naledi so special was how determined the guides were to get you close to the animals. Wow. I can honestly say it was the best value of our trip and when we go back to South Africa, we are going back to Naledi.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

After thorough research we settled on Naledi and were delighted that we did.
We stayed for 5 nights in September and loved every minute of our time there. We had the Porcupine suite at Enkoveni which was clean, spacious and had lovely views of the river. We spent a lot of our downtime watching animals drink from the other side which was a nice experience. The suite consisted of an air conditioned bedroom with large bed complete with mosquito netting, a living area with minibar and a bathroom/dressing area. The room was cleaned daily and little touches like chocolates as part of the turndown service were lovely after evening game drives.

The food provided was out of this world and there was never a bad meal. All food was proudly introduced by the resident chefs and even though we had no dietary requirements, these appeared to be addressed for other guests with no fuss. Guests eat together at a beautifully decorated main table and this was a good experience as it allowed us to get to know the people we were staying alongside. Shaun, the manager, ate with the guests and was always happy to answer any of their questions or just to chat in general.

Although we stayed for what could be considered a while, the game drives were always a great experience. We did expect to start hearing repeat information about animals etc. but Shaun's knowledge seemed to be limitless and we always learned something new on every drive. Thanks to Shaun, Sipho and Vuyani we managed to spot the big five as well as a wealth of other animals, birds, insects and even a chameleon!

The bush walk offered is also something we really enjoyed .This gave us a lovely insight into local cultures and traditions and at the same time appreciate the intricacies of the bush from dung to hangover cures!

There was always plenty of time to take pictures and, rather then rush around trying to spot as much as we could we spent time with each animal. The policy of quality over quantity was good in this sense. It allowed us to watch the animals' behaviours and we were able to get some lovely pictures.

As if this isn't enough Rozanne and the team always ensured that we were always looked after and we felt like part of the family by the time we left. As we were celebrating a birthday, our last night was spent enjoying a candlelit dinner in our room complete with chocolate birthday cake and a rendition of Happy Birthday!

After reading the reviews we arrived with high expectations, all of which were exceeded - so much so that we are already planning our return trip. Thank you, Naledi Enkoveni, for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jchantler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
20.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
23.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#3 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp

Property: Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Address: R40 | Balule Nature reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just four magnificently appointed chalets sleeping only eight people, right in the heart of Big Five country within the borders of the greater Kruger National Park!!!! Without a doubt, Naledi offers you the most personal, intimate experience anywhere In the region – and at a price often less than half of what you would expect to pay elsewhere! At Naledi we only ever have a maximum of eight guests on our game viewer, only eight relaxing on our beautiful swimming pool deck overlooking the river bed and our private waterhole where one can enjoy the daily parade of animals and birds coming to drink and feed in total peace and tranquility. Our lodge is our passion, showing people our private piece of wild Africa our greatest pleasure, and that means introducing you to the bush and all its creatures, from lions and elephants, to antelope and birds is something we always look forward to ! At Naledi you’ll find aircon throughout, delicious meals, elegant surroundings, a fabulously stocked bar, fun, relaxation and excitement in equal portions, but best of all, you’ll arrive as strangers, and leave as friends!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing