We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the hype”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth the hype”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have just returned from a magical trip to South Africa, and Naledi was an absolute highlight. Of course I booked based on all the great reviews and the team did not let us down. Early July is winter there and the Enkoveni camp was closed as they renovate two new suites. I stayed in Paperbark which is totally charming and wonderful - especially the very private deck where I got a daily visit from a family of warthogs.

First thing to know is that whether or not you see animals is not in the control of any lodge. The team goes out of their way to get you as many sightings as possible but this isn't a zoo - you get what you get so be prepared for that. Having said that, we were extremely lucky and saw all the normals - warthogs, buffalo, elephants, zebras, impala as well as the more elusive hippo, zebras and lions and the truly exceptional cheetah, black rhino and white rhino. We had Vuyani as our ranger and Jimmy as our tracker (both normally at Enkoveni) and they were exceptional. Not only are they amazing at finding the animals but they are fun to be around, very caring and they have great senses of humor.

Back at the lodge, the difference here is in the small touches that make you feel cared for and special. The hot water bottles for the morning and evening drives to keep the chill off, the warm wet cloths and welcome drinks when you return, the well-packed morning and evening drive "mini picnics". Shayna, Kjell, Petronella and the team looked after us like royalty.

The food, as stated, is really lovely. I don't eat meat or chicken and they came up with tasty and wholesome alternatives.

They really have something special here and I would return in a heartbeat and in fact, doubt I would try another place. Naledi holds a very special place and is more than deserving of all the hype it gets.

Room Tip: Everyone seemed happy with their rooms. Paperbark is right by the bar area which was easy and the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leotrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    39
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
282
535
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

First of all, this review is long overdue as I didn't have a tripadvisor account at the time we attended. Our time at Naledi is one of the most unforgettable experiences of our lives. Our room was spectacular. Really spacious as well. However as great as the room was what we enjoyed most were the morning and evening safaris. Kjell and the spotters did a great job find animals and giving informative discussions about them. During the day he pointed out an older weaker buffalo and said that it was potential lion bate. At night time, in fact, a group of juvenile male lions did infact attack. I can't describe the incredible feeling of hearing the sounds of the hunt in this environment. At the end of it, the buffalos actually won. We saw many many other animals as well. We looked forward to the sundowners each night, and having a drink and snacks in the bush. The prices for drinks, by the way, were very reasonable.

The food was a real treat. If they didn't run this safari they could easily open up a top restaurant. On a personal level the hosts were great. Over dinner we'd have great discussions. When booking I mentioned it would be my wife's 30th birthday and while there they were kind enough to make a birthday cake and even gave her a gift!! We have fond memories of our trip every time we see the figurines in our room.

The only negative of our trip was that my wife lost our camera during one of the safaris, but we didn't know where exactly. Kjell was nice enough to try to retrace but it was never to be found again. Though we lost our pictures, we'll never forget the amazing safari. Given it was a splurge for us to come here, we were surprised to conclude the price was an absolute bargain for what we experienced. If we ever have the privilege of visiting South Africa again, we will certainly come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

luxurious living with awesome food. if animal viewing is your only concern this place may not be for you, but if enjoying a luxurious vacation is, then it will be. staff is really helpful and available at all times.

Room Tip: gorgeous views from all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MajorMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I spent four wonderful nights at Naledi in September for our honeymoon. The experience was definitely one of the highlights of our 2.5 week trip.
 
We stayed in both Bushcamp (Paperbark Suite) and Enkoveni (Bushbuck Suite) for two nights each. Bushcamp felt more rustic and laid back. Its smaller size made the camp quieter and immediately put us in vacation mode. Enkoveni is more modern and luxurious. Our private deck overlooking the river was incredible!
 
Though both camps have very different feels, they both have much in common: fantastic game viewing (we saw all of the big five—plus giraffes, hippos, warthogs, baboons, monkeys, and many others); delicious food for every meal, expertly prepared; wonderfully kind and attentive staff; and attention to every detail.
 
Kjell and Alicia at Bushcamp, and Shaun and Roxanne at Enkoveni, made our stay at Naledi one we will always remember!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torontoalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have been to Naledi Enkoveni twice in two years, and both times were absolutely top notch. The safaris go out twice a day and the guides are very knowledgeable. The meals are also divine - prepare to eat like royalty! Another enjoyable part of the experience is meeting other adventurers - the camp holds about 12 people or so, and they rotate in and out throughout your stay, so you'll meet many faces. I would recommend staying for at least two nights, to get the most out of the safaris. We loved the whole experience. Hats off!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dongguan, China
Level Contributor
256 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Enkoveni Camp in October and had a marvelous three full days. The staff is friendly and capable, the food was very nice and the surroundings peaceful. Our room overlooked the river - flowing even in the dry late winter - and provided great midday game watching from our deck. That was the only time we used a lens longer than 300 mm as the game rides generally took us within 100 feet of the animals.

Morning and evening rides were just the right length at just under three hours each, with breaks for either morning tea and biscuits or evening sundowner cocktails. The trackers and drivers did an amazing job of finding animals and getting us close. Be sure to do a midday walk with a tracker one day in addition to the game rides.

We'll be back and I heartily recommend a stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarrier99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

From the moment we arrived at Naledi our every need was catered to. The location is beautiful, the staff is excellent,the accommodations superb, the food divine, and the game drives were exceptional. Our guide and tracker did all they could to ensure us an experience we would never forget! Their knowledge and passion for what they do made all the difference. Thank you Graham and Oupa! Alicia (manageress) was always helpful, friendly and very efficient. We cannot express how wonderful our time was at Naledi! A "bucket list" trip indeed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fishing Eagle and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pard0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
3.9 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
255 reviews
20.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,657 reviews
23.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
431 reviews
2.1 mi away
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
#1 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
345 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp

Property: Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Address: R40 | Balule Nature reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just four magnificently appointed chalets sleeping only eight people, right in the heart of Big Five country within the borders of the greater Kruger National Park!!!! Without a doubt, Naledi offers you the most personal, intimate experience anywhere In the region – and at a price often less than half of what you would expect to pay elsewhere! At Naledi we only ever have a maximum of eight guests on our game viewer, only eight relaxing on our beautiful swimming pool deck overlooking the river bed and our private waterhole where one can enjoy the daily parade of animals and birds coming to drink and feed in total peace and tranquility. Our lodge is our passion, showing people our private piece of wild Africa our greatest pleasure, and that means introducing you to the bush and all its creatures, from lions and elephants, to antelope and birds is something we always look forward to ! At Naledi you’ll find aircon throughout, delicious meals, elegant surroundings, a fabulously stocked bar, fun, relaxation and excitement in equal portions, but best of all, you’ll arrive as strangers, and leave as friends!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing