We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Rooms

Our room was great. We had the regular room (which I learned was renovated June 1, 2010). The room was amazing. A large bed with tons of pillows and blankets, a tray with coffee and tea (refilled twice a day), a deck area with lounge chairs, and TWO showers (indoor and outdoor). The rooms seem to be cleaned twice a day, once during the morning drive (6-10am) and once during the night drive (3:30-7:30). Very well decorated with wooden masks and art. Only complaint would be there isn't too much light in the bathroom but thats not really a big deal.

Rest of the camp

The website was under construction while I booked so I was expecting a small place. Boy was I wrong. There is a living room area with a bar, and then an upstairs relaxing area with multiple futons, chairs, and an ellpitcal. This also had 270 degree view of the area as it was an open area. The outdoor area had a dining area (dinner outdoor by candlelight every night), an infinity pool, and 2 decks for relaxing and watching wildlife.
I believe the luxury suite area has their own pool but I didn't go over to that area.

Safari

So basically there are 2 game drives a day that take about 4 hours each. The intimate nature of the drive (same driver, Kjell, and tracker, Sydwel everyday) made it great to chat with them and have a good time. Kjell always knew which guests had saw which animals, and made an effort so that everyone would not miss out on anything.

In 7 drives (3.5 days worth) I saw...

2 adult male lions, 3 younger male lions, and 14 other lions in a pride.
5 rhinos
1 hippo named George
Numerous elephants, giraffes, zebras.
Too many impala, kudu, waterbuck, and spring bok
Couple warthog and jackals
and a LEOPARD.

The effort to find a leopard was amazing. I guess the entire reserve (approx 90k acres and 11 lodges) didn't see a leopard for a week. So we spent a good amount of time looking for a leopard and on the last day we finally saw one. It was probably the best image of the safari...along with the lions FEEDING on a kudu. It was at night and I was literally less than 10 feet from 14 bloody lions eating the meat off the spine of a kudu, growling at each other trying to get meat. Probably one of the scariest moments of my life as I thought they would jump into the car and eat me.

This was an amazing trip. I would recommend bringing a book for the afternoon break as there isn't much to do except nap, TV, drink, and jump in the pool. Rough life huh?

Naledi is amazing. The service is great. We had a fun time chatting with Kjell, Kim, and Craig as they served us food, drove us around, and did everything for us.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rliao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
There are newer reviews for Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

867 - 873 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2010

Naledi was amazing, from the food to the game drives, nothing was overlooked. Kjell and Sidwell were always tracking animals for us to see, and Kim was always filling us with the most amazing food. We had our 2 year old son with us and he was welcomed with open arms. We couldn't have asked for anything more during our stay. The rooms are wonderful as well. Very comfortable and with a shower to die for. We cannot wait to go back to Naledi! They even moved dinner into another room so we could all watch the US vs Ghanna match. What an amazing and unforgettable time!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiff045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Naledi has improved it's accomodation immensly since the last time I was there. The rooms and bathrooms are more luxurious and I had a wonderful outdoor shower. This family run camp is great value for the money. If you're looking to see big herds of game, then this type of bush trip isn't right for you because it's lacks the plains that attract that type of game, but the quality of the game is experience is great. We had very up close and personal with a large pride of lions as well as elephant, rhino & buffalo. And this family run camp gives excellent & personal service.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EC101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Fantastic Safari Value overall. Cozy rooms, nice amenities, good food and overall very personal service. How many times can a guest dine with an owner? Kjell, Craig, and company were very warm and welcoming. They were excellent guides and gracious hosts. They give an excellent personal touch. My favorite part of the safari trek itself..tracking lions, rhinos and the sort and getting quite close to them for a very personal experience. Saw 4 of Big 5 on first day. Missed the Leopard.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jluna25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Everything at Neledi Bush Camp was excellent and differentiated: Staff, facilities, service, food, safaris. I will definitely recommend it to everyone I can.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernardoMello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Myself and 8 other chaps began our month long trip in South Africa by embarking on a 3 nights, 4 days stay at Naledi Bushcamp. It was a wonderfull beginning to our trip and for many of us the highlight. Great effort was made on our behalf to ensure that we saw as much and as many of the majestic animals that grace that part of the world, our comfort was also very much made a priority. Coming in a close second behind the animals was Kim's cooking, it was mouthwatering, we really did live like kings for those few days. Thankyou very much Kjell, Kim, Craig and not forgeting the very brave Sidwell

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dancakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed for 4 nights and our experience on safari was outstanding; the sighting of a large pride of lions and the large herds of elephants at the waterhole, both drinking and playing, was beyond our expectation. It would be unfair to recall just 2 sightings since the whole experience was exceptional because Kjell and Sidwell were so enthusiastic about showing the exceptional wildlife in the area.
There was concern when a member of the party had a medical problem but everybody was so helpful.
Kim’s meals were delicious and the different dining areas and elevated lounge decks overlooking the bush and waterhole were excellent. One night whilst eating dinner, we had lions calling and eating their own dinner in an area just next to the camp. The following night eating dinner in candlelight with the bush so quiet, it was just two extremes but it all added up to a wonderful experience.
It was a real pleasure to spend part of our holiday at this particular camp. We have put Naledi Bush Camp to the top of our list for a future holiday.
Thank you to all at Naledi for an unforgettable stay.
M,S & T

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamilton57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
23.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
407 reviews
20.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,755 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
662 reviews
22.6 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
277 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#3 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp

Address: R40 | Balule Nature reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: £336 - £850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just four magnificently appointed chalets sleeping only eight people, right in the heart of Big Five country within the borders of the greater Kruger National Park!!!! Without a doubt, Naledi offers you the most personal, intimate experience anywhere In the region – and at a price often less than half of what you would expect to pay elsewhere! At Naledi we only ever have a maximum of eight guests on our game viewer, only eight relaxing on our beautiful swimming pool deck overlooking the river bed and our private waterhole where one can enjoy the daily parade of animals and birds coming to drink and feed in total peace and tranquility. Our lodge is our passion, showing people our private piece of wild Africa our greatest pleasure, and that means introducing you to the bush and all its creatures, from lions and elephants, to antelope and birds is something we always look forward to ! At Naledi you’ll find aircon throughout, delicious meals, elegant surroundings, a fabulously stocked bar, fun, relaxation and excitement in equal portions, but best of all, you’ll arrive as strangers, and leave as friends!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and South African Hotels so you can book your Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing