We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another unbelievable stay at Naledi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Certificate of Excellence
hove
2 reviews
“Another unbelievable stay at Naledi”
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Well what can i say, this is our second stay at Naledi and it was as good as if not better than before. Kims food is once again of a 5 star standard and was the best food we had on our 3 week trip across africa. As always a very warm welcome from Kjell, Craig and all the other staff, we didnt want for anything during our stay and didnt have to lift a finger, felt very spoilt and special. Game drives are out of this world and i was always surprised at just how many animals kjell and his staff can find and the knowledge they have on the animals. I can highly recommend Naledi as a great place to stay and my wife and i missed such a special place the minute we continued our journey. Cant wait to return again and unwind by the pool

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timbo_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    39
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
288
539
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Naledi is a small piece of heaven. The service and hospitality from Kjell and his team are outstanding and every attempt is made to make you feel right at home from the very beginning of your stay. Kim heads up the kitchen and her food is a sheer culinary delight. She has a great eye for detail and the menu ranges from edible glitter encrusted fruit salad to traditional, individualised potjie pots filled with a mouth-watering lamb stew. The game drives are personalised so that you are able to respectfully, get up, close and personal to the game and capture that extraordinary photo. Sidwell, the tracker has an outstanding eye and has no qualms at jumping off the jeep and heading off to locate a pride of lions. After each night drive, Craig meets you with a shot of Amarula to get the evening going. The rooms are private and kept meticulously clean with the only company being the odd, inquisitive baboon. The lodge centres around a glistening pool that overlooks the wild, bush beyond. We saw four of the big five, yet the elusive leopard still lurks uninterrupted. This is a great place to feed the soul.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandCNewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice Beach, CA
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2010

If following your passion and doing what you love is the key to success, Naledi has accomplished this. At Naledi you will be engaged in adventure, encouraged to relax and inspired to dream. Here, expectations are far surpassed and memories that will surely last a lifetime are made. There is really no more to say than, magic is created at Naledi.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajgarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Well - what a terrific spot! Highlights for us were the personal service (especially with never more than 8 people) - we got a true sense of being thoroughly looked after. Safari trips were superb and we saw huge amounts of game close up. Food was unbelievably good and varied. so all in all, a terrific and great priced venue.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonMiller_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

A fantastic safari experience! We were greeted by a pair of giraffe as we entered the camp, before we had started a single game drive!

Our family was bowled over by the warm, gracious, yet very professional service from the Naledi team. Their commitment to providing their guests the best travel experience possible was evident in Kjell's persistence in tracking wildlife, Kim's expansive and delicious menus and Sidwell's insistence in tracking lions on foot for us. Kim's food deserves special mention for great taste, quality and creativity - we felt like we were fine dining and put on the kgs to prove it!

We saw a 3 of the big 5 on our very first game drive - rhino, buffalo and elephant. We also came extremely up close to a pride of lions on 2 game drives - they were walking, sleeping and playing around us! An amazing experience.

Rooms were very spacious and comfortable. We stayed in the Leadwood suite which had its own private dip pool, private breakfast area and private deck overlooking a waterhole. Rooms were also very well serviced - the rooms were cleaned, bathrooms freshened up after each of our game drives and a real pleasure to come back to. The camp's viewing deck and breakfast area is also a great place to view animals.

The Naledi team were so friendly and so passionate about making our stay a great one, we highly recommend it and would definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May Shen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

One of the best places that we have ever been too. Was totally incredible we had the best 5 days here. The game drives with Kjell and Billy were fantastic, the food totally amazing. We couldnt recommend this place enough. In fact we would like to come back next year and also go on the Botswana trip with Craig! Thank you again everyone for such an amazing stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annag1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

This was our second year of doing safari trips - and our third and least expensive (by a long way!) lodge.

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay at Naledi.
We were very pleasantly surprised on arrival by the very high quality of the accommodation - having booked a "bush camp" rather than a lodge, I had not expected such a polished operation.
The "Paperbark" accommodation is comparable to that of lodges at 3 times the price!
This is a very small operation (perhaps 2-3 groups and 6 people at a time); which adds to the feeling of exclusivity.
However, Naledi is constructed with so many different decks, lounges etc that you can easily find completely private space even in the "public" areas when the camp is at full occupancy.
The food is excellent - and they are happy to cater for individual tastes if notified in advance.
The quality of game drives is also superb - with genuine rapport between Kjell (owner/ranger) and Billy (the tracker).
We have stayed at places in Sabi Sands costing 4 times as much as Naledi - and the quality differential is far less than one might expect - with Naledi equalling its more expensive rivals in many respects.
One point I should make in the interest of balance is that the reserve area is not as large as some other e.g. Sabi Sands.
However the game viewing was really excellent - with elephants right next to the camp on several occasions.
Also Kjell and Billy really do work at making the drives productive; staying out seemingly "as long as it takes" to deliver.
We loved the place - to the extent that we asked to extend our stay for another night (even though this would have meant paying for Naledi as well as the next place booked on the trip) !
Unfortunately they couldn't fit us in as they were fully booked.
My advice to a potential visitor would be - GO! - but do check availability well in advance as it is very popular.
Also it is not a bad idea to combine a couple of lodges/areas in a trip if you can - broken up with a couple of days "self driving" through Kruger (very easy, cheap and well worth it).

There is really nothing I would ask Naledi to change about its operation.

What they promise, they deliver - and what they do, they do very well.

Finally thanks again to Kjell, Billy Craig and Sam, who all did their bit to make it a great stay.

Danny and Lorreen
(London)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColonelHathiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
23.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
399 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
260 reviews
20.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
437 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
654 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#3 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp

Property: Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Address: R40 | Balule Nature reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just four magnificently appointed chalets sleeping only eight people, right in the heart of Big Five country within the borders of the greater Kruger National Park!!!! Without a doubt, Naledi offers you the most personal, intimate experience anywhere In the region – and at a price often less than half of what you would expect to pay elsewhere! At Naledi we only ever have a maximum of eight guests on our game viewer, only eight relaxing on our beautiful swimming pool deck overlooking the river bed and our private waterhole where one can enjoy the daily parade of animals and birds coming to drink and feed in total peace and tranquility. Our lodge is our passion, showing people our private piece of wild Africa our greatest pleasure, and that means introducing you to the bush and all its creatures, from lions and elephants, to antelope and birds is something we always look forward to ! At Naledi you’ll find aircon throughout, delicious meals, elegant surroundings, a fabulously stocked bar, fun, relaxation and excitement in equal portions, but best of all, you’ll arrive as strangers, and leave as friends!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing