We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Balule Nature Reserve
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hippo Pools Resort(Hoedspruit)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Garonga Safari Camp(Makalali Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cajori Hotel(Phalaborwa)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
356
16
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
16
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame driveswatering holeinfinity poolother guestsattention to detailbedtime storiesthe reserveextra toucheshis passionoutdoor showermoment you arrivehis knowledgestayed longerlittle piece of heavensouth africawonderful hostshome cooked
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at Toro Yaka for three nights and we had a wonderful time. The setting inside the Balule game reserve was amazing. The lodge itself is well-designed and small, and meticulously maintained with views over the reserve. On our first night we were able to relax at the pool and watch as a small herd of elephants walked past, just a hundred yards away.

Each evening dinner was tasty and beautifully prepared and presented--in a way you wouldn't always get a premium Boston restaurant, and each evening it we ate in a slightly different setting--once family-style around a large table, once around a large braai pit, and on the last evening at tables around the pool area.

On the game drives, which were held twice daily, we saw animals including a lion, elephants, black rhino, giraffe, hippos and a truly memorable fifty plus vulture feeding frenzy.

Our stay at Toro Yak was everything we had dreamed it might be, and the biggest reason for that was incredible care and attention to detail of everyone at the lodge. Without them our stay could have been good but unexceptional but because of them it became truly memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbertStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

I was in JoBurg on business and was forced to extend my stay over the weekend. Not wanting to sit at a JoBurg hotel all weekend I decided to go to Kruger and have an adventure. I went on to TripAdvisor and saw Toro Yaka was rated very highly so made arrangements to stay the weekend. What an excellent decision. The lodge is amazing, very well kept and peaceful. Service is excellent (they even washed my rental car befor I left!). The food is also excellent and from a value for money perspective you can't beat the place.

Even if you are solo this place is great. The game drives are extremely well done and you will see amazing things.

I will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveOakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Toro Yaka is the genuine article with the whole team being very passionate and knowledgeable about wildlife and the environment. Their hospitality is refreshing and rooms very comfortable. Meals are delicious and the settings are unique.

Highlight was coming across 8 lion cubs feeding on a giraffe, just wish we had more than the 5 minutes to view before we had to make way for a line up of safari vehicles.

Toro Yaka is a fantastic place for couples in particular, highly recommended private game reserve.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at Toro Yaka for 3 nights and enjoyed pretty much every day!
- Food is excellent
- Staff is very friendly
- Rooms are really nice - incl. outside shower!
- Animals (Elephants, etc.) are coming quite close - we saw them multiple times during breakfast/dinner

The daily game drives are a bit different than in the Kruger, with pros and cons:
+ It's more personal, you know the people pretty quick
+ In the evening drive, they stop in the middle for a sundowner - we really enjoyed this!
- Although you can see pretty much the same animals (we even saw a group of 10 lions!), you will see less in quantity than in Kruger

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elian382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with my parents, we were greated by Steve and Nicole on arrival and everything about the lodge was explained.
The lodge is nestled up in a lovely part of the reserve and if your lucky like we were, you may see some elephants drinking from the watering hole opposite the outside pool.
You can choose between a morning bush drive which starts at 6 am till 9 or the afternoon bush drive which starts at 4.30pm till 7.30pm. They were amazing and our guide CJ who is freelancing until Steve recovers is hilarious and a fantastic guide. CJ and tracker Radwell make a good team.
This lodge is very intimate and provides amazing breakfast, lunch and dinner. After dinner we would get a chocolate and a story every night on our beds which was a lovely touch.
The food which Nicole makes herself is out of this world, she also give amazing massages.
The time, effort and passion that is given at this lodge is shown to a high quality and i will definilty be recommending here to people back in England. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenski-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews