We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic camp ran by a loving husband and wife”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon in September, we stayed at two lodges (this lodge and Gomo Gomo), this lodge was amazing and certainly the better of the two. It's ran by a husband and wife who made every effort to make you feel welcome and comfortable. It was such a personal experience which made it feel like you were visiting family. Orlando's (chef) food was lovely and very creative. Can't wait for his book to be published. Liam and Thenbo (guide and tracker) were great on the game drives, very open and easy to talk to, defiantly coming back in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndyFoulkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

There aren't enough words to describe what a fabulous place Sausage Tree is. I highly recommend your paying the Sausage Tree family a visit to experience for yourself their hospitality, genuine friendliness and inspiring knowledge of the bushveld.

The well-maintained camp is set beside a waterhole with inviting communal areas and luxury "tents" which are clean, comfortable and well laid out within the camp.

Sonia extended the warmest of welcomes upon our arrival and made us feel part of the family throughout our stay.
James, Themba and Liam were patient with our questions about the fauna, flora and stars, also with our many misidentifications of birds :) Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff members.

Liam: you have life experience beyond your years, your attitude towards man and nature is exemplary and you are certainly destined to inspire many a person who crosses your path.

Thank you Sausage Tree family for a fantastic holiday in Balule.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank QuirkyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Staying at Sausage Tree was the perfect short break for us! We stayed in a beautiful luxury tent. The room was clean, comfortable and private, the outdoor shower is a great feature.
The food and game drives were both amazing! The staff were extremely friendly and warm, nothing was to much for them. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Wow, this place was fantastic. We have wanted to go on a safari for some time now and Sausage Tree exceeded our expectations. After searching around on tripadvisor, I stumbled upon Sausage Tree and it seemed to fit the bill on the type of accommodations we wanted- not a full blown lodge, but more of a Luxury Camp (my wife says people call it "Glamping"). To make this review helpful I will try to break this review into sections.

Property/Accommodations: This place is pretty "boutique" with only four tents. Each tent faces the preserve so you have a chance to see animals roaming around from your small porch. The rooms have very comfortable beds, nice bathroom amenities, a huge tub and separate outdoor shower. Outside you will find a couple of chairs and a hammock to relax outside. No worries. An aircon/heater, a fan, and even a power strip are in the rooms as well if you need them. The main building is equally nice with lounge areas, a small pool, and an overlook of a watering hole. The maintenance of the property is top notch and all details are looked after by the staff.

Staff: I cannot say enough about Sonja, James, Liam, and the rest of the staff. You feel like a part of the family and they certainly put up with my dumb jokes and constant chatter. At all times very welcoming and charming and again attention to detail is phenomenal.

Food: I had friends that had gone on a safari with another company near by and when I was leaving they warned me to bring my own food to snack on. The food at Sausage Tree was fantastic. My wife is still bothering my to email them for a couple of the recipes. In addition, my wife is a very picky eater and won't eat a number of different types of proteins. One of them I failed to mention to Sonja and wouldn't you know it a couple of hours before dinner she mentioned that we would be having that for dinner. Once I broke the news to Sonja of my failure, she was sure the kitchen could come up with a solution by dinner time. The delivered a vegetarian Moroccan dish that my wife was simply blown away by.

Safari: This is the hardest to review because 90% of this is outside of the lodge's control. It is an animal reserve and unfortunately these animals don't care what your vacation plans are. I feel that we were blessed by the safari gods to see the big five, a great scene of lions chasing a leopard, and going asleep to the sound of lions from inside our tent. What is in the lodge's control is the staff on the drive and the maintenance of the truck that drives you around. As I mentioned before James and Liam were excellent. They are unbelievable sources of knowledge regarding the flora and fauna that surround you. They are respectful of the animals, the environment, and the other safari trucks/companies that you may pass on your journey. Their truck is very well maintained inside and out. I didn't think about this until I saw other safari trucks from other safari lodges that seemed to struggle with the terrain. In addition, because there is only 4 tents, you will be traveling in comfort and space, not squished in or sitting in the middle trying to capture that perfect shot.

Room Tip: We liked our #4 tent. It was the most isolated Don't worry about bottled water, all the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

What a stunning location... Beautiful scenery, magnificent sights... Accommodation luxurious and comfortable. Meals and wines superb. Guides informative, entertaining and personable. Game drives picturesque... amazing African sunsets...Private sanctuary, perfect setting for romance.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NurseBec06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonsussens, Owner at Sausage Tree Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thank you for writing such a lovely review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Your enthusiasm and appreciation of the bush and it's wildlife is wonderful. We look forward to welcoming you both back next year! Kind regards and safari greetings from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

One feels at home at once in this friendly place where good taste is everywhere. We liked the helpfulness of the rangers and trackers during the game drives, the food, the magnificent view from the deck or the tents, and Sonya's hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank alnacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonsussens, Owner at Sausage Tree Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We really enjoyed having you and your lovely family with us and we are so pleased that you had a memorable experience at Sausage Tree. We hope to welcome you back some day and we all send you kind regards and greetings from the bush.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We thought this place was fantastic - loved the safari style "tents", the setting, the game drives, and atmospheric dinner around the fire in the boma. Sonya was the perfect host, Thembe, Liam and Jessie were excellent spotters/guides/drivers and Orlando's cooking was great. We saw an amazing amount on our game drives and particularly enjoyed seeing the lions. We stayed for 2 nights/4 game drives and would have liked a longer stay just to soak up the sights and sounds around us and enjoy relaxing in such an amazing place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonsussens, Owner at Sausage Tree Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Heather G thank you for your lovely feedback and also your kind words for Liam, Jesse, Themba and Orlando - I will be sure to pass it on to them. We are so pleased that you experienced such wonderful sightings and that you particularly enjoyed seeing those special lions. We hope to welcome you back for a longer stay with us soon. Kind regards and safari greetings from all of us at Sausage Tree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
4.1 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#1 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
289 reviews
16.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,835 reviews
19.9 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
318 reviews
3.2 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#3 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,090 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sausage Tree Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sausage Tree Safari Camp

Address: Cambridge 25, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: £300 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sausage Tree Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Balule Nature Reserve, Sausage Tree Safari Camp promises rich game viewing and spectacular views, as our boundary with Kruger National Park is open and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains form a majestic back drop. This family operated safari camp pride itself on the warm atmosphere and African safari tented accommodation it offers. Enjoy lantern lit dinners in our boma or open deck under the star studded African sky. Sunrise and sunset safaris in open 4x4 vehicles are the highlights of the day.The Safari Camp:Our African safari-styled tents are nestled in between Marula, Knobthorn Acacia and Sausage Trees and overlook a dry river bed, the bush and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains. Each tent is spacious and built in an elevated position with it's own special view. The tents are fully furnished and have their own private deck and ensuite bathroom with a bath and outdoor shower. Inverter or Eco based Air-conditioners are fitted in each tent ensuring that you stay cool during those warm summer nights... and can even be set to warm during those colder nights in winter. Insect gauze on all the windows and doors keep the insects outside where they belong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sausage Tree Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sausage Tree Safari Camp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing