We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Great accomodation, awesome hospitality, delicious food...an amazing experience and nice place to see the Big 5! Our Game drives with Liam and Timba (?) were such fun. Small size of this camp (5 luxury style tents) is a Big advantage compared to other lodges.We definitly recommend sausage tree 100%.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ThailandMannu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

Everything about the Sausage Tree was an amazing experience, while my wife and I were here on our honeymoon. The staff is exemplary, the owners treat you like you are a part of their family, and go above and beyond to make sure that you have a great experience. The views from the main lodge where you eat breakfast, lunch and relax by the pool are some of the best in the world. On our last day here, while eating breakfast, we could see a giraffe just off of the property, grazing in the bush. Every meal is prepared for you and was some of the best food we ate while in South Africa. You will not be disappointed in any aspect of this lodge. While on game drives, the staff goes the extra mile to make sure you can see some of the big 5. We went on 3 game drives and were able to see all of the big 5!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank adamp383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had a very nice stay at Sausage Tree Camp : tent, food, people, drives... everything is good and well organized. We were lucky enough to see 4 of the 5 big fives and other nice animals too. Only frustation could be that due to lots of private properties in Balule Nature Reserve, some owners don't allow game drives in their properties... can become frustrating when a leopard has been spotted and that you cannot look for him ! Anyway we had the great luck to see a lion taking care of 9 cubs while the 2 other lions were gone hunting and we were lucky to have a driver that wasn't looking at his watch, we stayed longer in the afternoon drive to enjoy this amazing scene !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Citlali76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I was my first stay in SA and a perfect place to get in touch with wilderness. Very relaxing, familiar, easy to get in touch with all other guests and in particular with the hosts. The rooms are very comfortable, tidy and the 'tents' spread the charm of adventure. Food was very good, creative, I wished more game meat (if possible at all).
The absolute highlight was Liam, the ranger. Enthusiastic, empathic, trustful, respectful with great knowledge and many interesting stories. All in all a great experience that can be recommended to everyone who is not seeking for luxury but real values.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Philipp T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My boyfriend and I absolutely loved our stay at Sausage Tree Safari Camp. We had a very nice welcome and felt at home from the beginning. The house is very elegant and clean and the decoration is very well done, we liked the little original touches added by Sonia that made the place so special. James is very interesting and knowledgeable, we appreciated our talks with him, it was also nice to meet the other guests and share the safari experience and dinners with them. The safari was great, Liam is such an amazing ranger, he is completely dedicated and dynamic and was very keen to manage to show us the big five, which he did in only 2 drives! The camp has its own chef who cooks delicious meals. The camp is in a private reserve but do not worry, there is an electric fence to keep animals away. Our stay was a great experience and I strongly recommend this place for a safari.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I don't even know where to start but Sausage Tree was absolutely wonderful! Everything from the arrival to departure was top notch and just the right amount of luxury meets rustic. The small, intimate vibe of ST is perfect, the food was fantastic, the accommodations were clean, comfortable, and totally relaxing! The other guests were a great addition to our experience as well. The staff are so polite, so nice, and always there to help. A big thanks to James for hosting and running the finest camp... I can't imagine it any other way and hope to visit again! Our drives were action packed and led by Liam and Themba with such expertise and professionalism: A trusted duo with a true passion for their roles. I can't thank those guys enough for making the experience that much more incredible.

Again, it is hard to sum up in a Trip Advisor write up but I'm not sure I would do safari any other way now that I have been to Sausage Tree. Thanks again to the team and also to Ntaba Tours for recommending we stay there! Cheers!

Room Tip: We were there in the summer and while the fan was ideal for a breeze at night to sleep, I ended up u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sus1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife and I have travelled extensively through game/safari lodges throughout Southern Africa. Our time with the lovely people at Sausage Tree was incredible. The small and intimate feel is hard to beat, with no more than ten guests at a time. Our host, ranger, tracker and all staff were so welcoming and willing to share their extraordinary experiences and sightings. The kind people at Sausage Tree have a contagious passion for the bush and all the inhabitants of it. We would recommend Sausage Tree too anyone who would like to explore the beautiful South African bush.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamesmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
4.1 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
289 reviews
16.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,833 reviews
19.9 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
316 reviews
3.2 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#3 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,089 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sausage Tree Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sausage Tree Safari Camp

Address: Cambridge 25, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: £300 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sausage Tree Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Balule Nature Reserve, Sausage Tree Safari Camp promises rich game viewing and spectacular views, as our boundary with Kruger National Park is open and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains form a majestic back drop. This family operated safari camp pride itself on the warm atmosphere and African safari tented accommodation it offers. Enjoy lantern lit dinners in our boma or open deck under the star studded African sky. Sunrise and sunset safaris in open 4x4 vehicles are the highlights of the day.The Safari Camp:Our African safari-styled tents are nestled in between Marula, Knobthorn Acacia and Sausage Trees and overlook a dry river bed, the bush and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains. Each tent is spacious and built in an elevated position with it's own special view. The tents are fully furnished and have their own private deck and ensuite bathroom with a bath and outdoor shower. Inverter or Eco based Air-conditioners are fitted in each tent ensuring that you stay cool during those warm summer nights... and can even be set to warm during those colder nights in winter. Insect gauze on all the windows and doors keep the insects outside where they belong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sausage Tree Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sausage Tree Safari Camp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing