We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3 night stay at tskane walking safari may 2014”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balule Nature Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tsakane Safari Camp
Reviewed 7 May 2014

After spending 3 nights a tskane walking safari I wanted to write a review to save anyone making the mistake I just did. The camp was really good, nice clean rooms with outdoor shower hearing all the noises of the bush as you sit on your balcony. There was a Bar area, lounge area and a boma for night time. The head ranger Mark was great with his stories over dinner about his life spend in the bush was the highlight of the trip for me wish he would write a book of those stories. simple food like mince curry, lamb stew and lentils,salad. Baked bread,sponge pudding and custard serve in cast iron pots over the fire it felt like really being on safari. The same can't be said for the walks game viewing was poor as the run off as soon as they hear and see you. The walks are also very short you leave at 6:45am are back in camp for 9:30am have a small breakfast then have the whole day to read, nap before a quick game drive and sundowner at 4:30pm they are not allowed to drive in the dark so you get back around 5:45. If you are after a relaxing peaceful time in the bush, reading etc this camp is perfect.if your looking for adventure and tracking the big 5 this is not the place. Ps take some snacks as it's a long time between breakfast and dinner as there is no lunch served.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

We've just spent 5 of the most memorable days at Tsakane. The camp is amazing and we were extremely well looked after by Josh, Mark, Daniel and Ephram. Walking in the bush, tracking the animals, learning about the rich ecology in the area - all absolutely fascinating - topped off with great food cooked on the open fire, sundowners and game drives. If you want to get close to nature in the Greater Kruger National Park a safari here is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thorpe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I was lucky enough to spend five days in the Tsakane Camp by the end of May 2013. I didn't know what to expect - yet it turned out to be the most beautiful time, definitely the best experience of my whole trip to South Africa! The camp is peaceful and beautifully set up, allowing for a real authentic bush experience. The best thing about it is that it is not fenced off, so you can really be in the middle of the bush and immerse yourself fully. It was great to fall asleep and wake up to the various sounds of the bush. The daily walks into the bush just after sunrise were a highlight for me... It was exciting, inspiring and amazing - no matter how many animals sightings there were - the thing is you will always see and learn a lot, facilitated by a fantastic, very knowledgeable guide. Back at the camp, there was lots of opportunity to relax and get spoilt by the fabulous meals. Everybody in the camp was warm and welcoming and really trying to make this a special experience! So yes, I'd go back in a heartbeat....

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60mongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

In early June, my sister and I spent seven memorable days in Tsakane Safari Camp. If you define “animal” to include five species, you might be better off going to a zoo. But if you are open to everything from the spider community to the soaring eagle, the mating call of impalas and the roaring of lions, the quiet walk through the bush and the rocky ride in a land cruiser, you can have the time of your life at Tsakane. The knowledgeable and caring crew made an intimate bush experience available to us. We enjoyed the facts and the stories, the camp, the food and the hut, the pup and the people!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarbaraKarsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We spent three magnificent days in Tsakane in late May. The camp was far more than we expected. Really excellent value. All the staff were exceedingly professional as well as delightful company.

Our prime reason for visiting was to do some walking in the bush after spending a few days game viewing in Kruger. We were not dissapointed at all. Emille took us on some fantistic walks. He was great. Always showing caution when required. (ie When we could here the elephants stomach rumbling on the other side of a dense patch of bush), and full of a host of information on all sorts of topics. On the last evenings walk we were treated to a pack of wild dogs !!!!

We will definitly be back again. Three days was way too short for us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Visit May 13 to 17 one of the highlights of a month long safari in Africa. Emille our guide and Mark our cook and entertainer were supberb. We had close up encounters with many animals especially elephant. Lions roared each night one in particular very close to camp. Buffalo herd hard against the fence, metres from a breeding herd of elephant and a prolonged viewing and filming of wild dogs were the animal contact highlights. The African bush tucker was amazing. Marks sharing of African history and his endless humour had camp time a real pleasure.Emille's game drive around the Kruger was the best fun I've had in a very long time.
Keep it up fellas.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were at Tsakane in May 13, and were there for four days but we felt it was very short. The bush walks were very informative and felt completley safe in hands of our rangers Emille and Joshua. Mark made really tasty food and made sure we ate till our stomachs were full .Mark ,Emille and Josh had very good knowlegde of the bush and shared a lot of information we us ,they made us feel at home. Emille made sure we get to see the big 5 at Kruger. 200 characters is not enough to narrate the experience.I will surely recommend Tsakane to my friends and will definelty go back

Room Tip: The room next to the water hole is good cause to get to see a lot of animals there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kruttikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Balule Nature Reserve hotels
0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
296 reviews
0 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 22 in Balule Nature Reserve
719 reviews
0 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#2 of 22 in Balule Nature Reserve
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#6 of 22 in Balule Nature Reserve
129 reviews
0 mi away
Ximongwe Safaris
Ximongwe Safaris
#10 of 22 in Balule Nature Reserve
51 reviews
0 mi away
Roamers Rest Safari Lodge
Roamers Rest Safari Lodge
#7 of 22 in Balule Nature Reserve
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsakane Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsakane Safari Camp

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer two night (Friday to Sunday), three night (Friday to Monday), four night (Monday to Friday) and seven night (Monday to Monday) walking safari packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tsakane Safari Camp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing