We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 6th visit to Pondoro”
Review of Pondoro Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pondoro Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“My 6th visit to Pondoro”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This year I stayed at Pondoro for the 6th time. It is absolutely my favorite camp in South Africa.
Lize, Robbie and all the staff is so friendly, and you feel really welcome.
The setting, vith view to Olifants River, from the rooms, is fantastic. Dinner in the light of the campfire, jacuzzi at the private deck of the luxury rooms, the athmosphere is very very romantic.
.I can really recommend Pondoro, it is value for the money.
Bente, Denmark

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bente M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It has been an absolute pleasure to host you once again. Looking forward to your 7th visit ( a record )!!!!!! Greetings from Robbie and the rest of the team at Pondoro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    27
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
122
434
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tienen, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2011

It were 3 days that we will never forget. Everything was even better than we could imagine.

The service was great and very friendly. The room was amasing. The location itself is just paradise.
We can't report anything that we disliked.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to host you at the lodge, especially on such a special day in your lives! Greetings from Robbie and the rest of the team at Pondoro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We had an amazing experience at Pondoro and we will definitely be back. Robbie and Lize really made us feel at home and they went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. In my opinion this is one of the best holidays we've had as a family. The food was really 6 star quality and all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful with every request we had. This is really one of those places that you rarely find that truly have amazing accommodation, food and wildlife scenery. The luxury accommodation was really something special. We had complete privacy and the Jacuzzi was a big highlight of the trip. I would recommend anyone considering going, to book your trip now, this is one holiday that you won’t forget. Thank you so much Robbie, Lize and all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charl1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. It is good to know that you enjoyed your experience with us and we are looking forward to your next visit! Greetings from Robbie and the rest of the team at Pondoro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2011

From the very first moment until the last minute, our stay at Pondoro was an unforgettable experience. We enjoyed the tasteful rooms and the nice meals on the terrace as much as the adventurous drives ( lions and elephants so close we could have touched them!! ) and the cute mongoose on the stairs between the rooms...
We'd like to thank the whole team of Pondoro Lodge, who were so friendly to us and made all our wishes come true.

Yvonne Blondé and family, Belgium

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Stayed here for two nights with my husband and what a lovely small intimate place this is.
The chalet we stayed in was called "Water" and the huge room had a water theme. The interior decoration is fantastic. One of the best parts was that we had our own bubble pool looking out over the bush. The other four luxury chalets had other themes.
The food was exellent and also the staff and the service.
We did not see any insects at all!
Game drives was also good.

Room Tip: luxury rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 189894Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Thank for taking the time to write a review. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Pondoro lived up to your expectations. We hope to see you again soon. Greetings from Robbie and the rest of the team at Pondoro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Though this hotel had many wonderful attributes, there were a few things wrong that I feel I need to post for future travelers. My husband and I came here for the first 2 nights of our honeymoon.

THE BAD - When we got back to our room the first night is when the trouble began. First, there was a scorpion in the sink. That by itself would not have been a problem because we were aware that we were in the middle of the bush. The problem was that we could not get in touch with anyone. There are no phones at the hotel, so they give you walkie-talkies for any emergency and had told us someone was always manning the other end. To our dismay, no one responded after more than a dozen attempts over an hour with the walkie-talkie. We then went to lie down after feeling defeated and noted a dozen spiders roaming across the headbard - now, I can handle a couple spiders, but I do expect housekeeping (even in a game lodge) to take care of this as much as possible. There were also hundreds of little beetles throughout the room, but that was actually the least of our problems after the scorpion and spiders (aka would have very easily stepped on many a beetle had I not been watching where i was walking).

THE GOOD - When we first arrived, the staff was super friendly and welcoming. It was just after lunch so they quickly brought us to the deck to eat. The food at that meal and every meal after was fantastic - my husband and I tried foods we'd never had before and were thoroughly impressed by the quality. We were then brought to our room (Tree) and were initially impressed by the rustic decor. After checking the room out, we went on our first game drive. Overall, the game drives were great but a bit long sometimes - we got to see elephants, rhinos, buffalo, giraffes, zebras during our 4 game drives here.

I'm obviously not an avid camper, but the reviews on this website are all unbelievable and not one mentions any issues with insects and spiders. I'm fully aware of my own feelings on bugs and would have avoided this lodge had I known about this before we left.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JLBH1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your complaints have been noted and are taken in a very serious light as this is not the kind of service and standards that we pride ourselves in. The issue with regards to the 2-way radios has been addressed. I had an emergency meeting with housekeeping to discuss your report and I belief it to be a once off mishap. We always strive to increase our levels of service, and housekeeping will receive additional training as a thoroughly cleaned room is a priority. I sincerely apologize for your stay at Pondoro not living up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Great hospitality! Great food! Excellent service!
Robbie and Andries searched everywhere to show us as wildlife as possible and succeded!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPjr1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
0.6 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
255 reviews
19.1 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,657 reviews
22.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
431 reviews
4.1 mi away
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
#1 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
345 reviews
4.5 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondoro Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondoro Game Lodge

Property: Pondoro Game Lodge
Address: Balule Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pondoro Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the cool riverine banks of the Olifants River (largest in Kruger) in the 40 000 ha Big 5 Balule Private Game Reserve inside the greater Kruger National Park, Pondoro offers its visitors comfort, sophistication, elegance and a canvas on which to create a truly unforgettable African safari.In this small, very exclusive 16-bed lodge ( owner managed ) you will discover the only way to experience the African bush. In addition to luxurious accommodation and the caring attention from trained professionals, our visitors are lavished upon with international fare and humble African hospitality.Meals are an extraordinary culinary experience where Traditional African Cuisine fuse effortlessly with modern European trends.To compliment the food, select any of our fine wines from our extensive wine cellar. Vegetarians are specially catered for. All meals are served on a wooden deck high up in the tree canopy overlooking the Olifants River (weather permitting).Between game drives in open safari cruisers, nature walks and peaceful afternoon naps, enjoy a dip in the sparkling rock pool, a spot of sun bathing or browse through the library. The Pondoro bar is the ideal spot to quench your thirst and grab a snack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pondoro Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondoro Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Pondoro Game Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing