We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEYOND EXPECTATIONS!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ezulwini Game Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Melville NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEYOND EXPECTATIONS!!!”
Reviewed 21 March 2011

A life changing experience.Tess,Laurence,Lauren and the whole crew made us feel like "family" for our too short stay of 5 days.The lion and elephant encounters could not have been more perfect if the were from Disney central casting.
Ah ,the food,the wine, the air, the stars....it doesn't get any better than this !!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MerylJoelSchonfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    15
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
56
120
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2011

I had the privilege of staying at Ezulwini in Balule Park at Kuger and it truly was a once in a lifetime experience. I feel like it is the ultimate B&B of the Game Lodges. It is owned by the Saad family and when you leave you feel like you are a part of their family. The service is outstanding – all of the staff can not do enough for you. It is newly renovated in a manner that is in keeping with being located in the S African Bush while being totally luxurious. All of the accommodations are fantastic from the basic (which are really nice and not basic) chalets to the suites. The game drives are outstanding – all of the Big 7 were spotted in one evening alone. I do not have enough good things to say about Billy’s Lodge – without repeating the prior wonderful reviews.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljarla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Where to start? I am not to good with words, but there are sum things i just must say. First of, a unremarkable dream. I went to Billy's with my wife and 7 month old baby girl, expecting a plain and simple room and straight forward drives. But instead we were placed in a 10 star castle if i may call it so. It was perfect in every way we could think of spending our time in this part of paradise.. The hostess's along with all the staff were all the nicest people on this planet. They made us feel part of the family, but just better, we felt like family. There was always laughter all around. And never a dull moment. The food was made to perfection and trilled my taste-buds down to the last bit.

And then game the game drives, were we learned so much about the diversity of nature. We were given lessons of trees and plants that could come in rather handy if i forget my vanity bag next time i go camping. And then came the big 5. Not even 15 minutes on the drive... 3 of the big 5 all less than 10-20 minutes apart, and the birding in the area was fa nominal. I have never in my live seen so many different species in one spot. And what was more exiting to me was when we tracked, the guy's were on top of there game the whole time, making us grip our seats with tension and then breaking the tension by leading us to remarkable sightings.

The best stay i have ever had, and indeed the most pleasant. Top class, you Guy's were amazing!!!!!! I would and will indeed recommend you're lodges to all and every one I know.... 10 STARS if i may. Thank you guys so much for the lovely stay.. I wish i could make your lodges my home...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clows64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

We stayed @ River Lodge with a group of people we just met the week before and a couple on their honeymoon that arrived just before us ~ it was a fun easy going group. The grounds are lovely & peaceful. Rooms are private, clean, beautiful, plus have a/c! We fell in love with the staff, they are the best part of River Lodge, I give them so much credit for making for our once in a lifetime vacation adventure truly spectacular. Well, they can't totally control that we lucked out seeing the Big 5 on our first 2 game drives, but the tracker & guide found them for us. Yes Billy's Lodge is nicer (we've only seen rebuilt not yet open) but we are not high maintenance travelers, we don't require or enjoy pampering 5 star luxury in the middle of the wild! We had nice, clean, comfortable rooms to nap after sunrise game drive. A pool and a bar to relax in before sunset game drive. Add in Amy, Jo, Greg, Lawrence and the rest of the behind the scenes staff = amazing.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaHess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2011

It's been a while since I was at Billy's Lodge. I wanted to go back in December, because I enjoyed my stay so much the previous time. I was devastated to hear that there had been a fire and the lodge wouldn't be able to accommodate guests until February!
I've been travelling in South Africa for almost a year and recently got back home. I saw a lot of places, but Ezulwini (Billy's Lodge) stuck in my memory. It wasn't just the luxury and the beautiful environment; there's plenty of places that have that in abundance. What I liked about Billy's Lodge, is that I was treated as a friend, as well as an honored guest. When we arrived at Balule NP, we drove to Billy's lodge ourselves. The road was quite long and bumpy, but doable with a normal car. When we arrived we met the hostesses, Lauren and Tami. They seemed delighted with our arrival, and were cheerful and welcoming, as well as efficient and professional. After the long drive from the previous lodge, we were exhausted and tempers were running a little high. It was a relief to arrive at Billy's lodge and find that everything was organized and all that was left for us to do was sit down with a drink and relax.
The rooms, located in a rondavel, were large and roomy, with a stocked mini bar and a beautiful stone bathroom. The pool was beautiful and clean, and the dining area had a great view of the surrounding bush. The bar was a comfortable place to go and sit for a drink and a rest. There was a lookout as well, so you didn't even need to leave the camp to see game. At night we could hear lions and other creatures. We went on two game drives, and both times saw three of the Big Five. The guides were entertaining and coherent, as well as knowledgeable. They seemed to be able to track the game, instead of driving around hoping to run into something. I also said I wanted to see a certain bird, and they were willing to accommodate me and tried very hard to find it. At night we had a braai, and both the food and wine were excellent. The staff was efficient, friendly and catered to your every need.
I would heartily reccommend Billy's Lodge to anyone, it's a hidden pearl. If you want to feel at hom in the bush, yet surrounded by luxury, this is definately the place to be. I'll be returning there towards May!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

One dreams of Africa , the adventures , the amazing environment and the return to nature but until you have visited the lodges of Ezulwini, you have not even begun to realize your dreams. I stayed at Billy's lodge which is like the Ritz Carlton of the bush. The private newly renovated chalets have the elegance and modern conveniences of a 5 star resort, yet you are surrounded by the pure beauty of nature. Daily I saw giraffe, monkey, and Impala gracefully inhabiting my "backyard". Daily on the game drives offered both morning and late afternoon I saw big 5 game as well as dozens of other animals, plants and insects who exhibited the beautiful biological interactions created thru centuries of adaptations. The guides were polite and very knowledgeable about the many inhabitants of the reserve. The lodge has staff that are available for your every need. The food served to accommodate your personal schedule was excellent only enhanced by the beauty of the surroundings.if you only have one trip to make in this lifetime make it to Billy's lodge...you will not be disappointed!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaKouchakji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

The Ezulwini Reserve is properly named. Ezulwini means PLACES OF PARADISE! It's absolutely breathtaking. The atmosphere is gorgeous in everyway .... from the friendly, helpful staff to all the accommodations and meals.

In the 3 trips we've made, we have stayed at River's Lodge twice and Billy's Lodge once. On both the trips to River's Lodge we saw ALL Big 5. However, due to the weather/season when we stayed at Billy's Lodge we saw only 3 of the Big 5. Even so, it was an amazing adventure. Our guides, Anthony, Amy and Greg were excellent and extremely knowledgable in their field and the Tracker Frans was unbelieveable to watch. He could spot an animal track in the dirt while the car was moving.

The rooms were very comfortable and always clean. The staff were great and interacted with us to make sure our needs were always met. The meals were outstanding and the S. African wine was very refreshing.

Would highly recommend to anyone.

Julie Tochterman

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opelgal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
17.3 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
20.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ku Sungula Safari Lodge
Ku Sungula Safari Lodge
#11 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ezulwini Game Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ezulwini Game Lodges

Property: Ezulwini Game Lodges
Address: Ezulwini Billy's & River Lodge | Olifants West Section, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ezulwini Game Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ezulwini, the Zulu word for 'Place of Paradise', is situated in the centre of the Greater Kruger National Park, Balule Nature Reserve section, where Africa remains unspoiled. Ezulwini prides itself on being able to offer an exceptional African setting, indigenous fauna and flora as well as unique character and charm, to provide you with an authentic experience. Ezulwini Billy's Lodge nestles deep in the heart of lion country and offers three standard chalets as well as three new luxury suites with their own lounge area, private deck and plunge pool, indoor and outdoor shower and super King-Size beds. Ezulwini River Lodge is on the famous Olifants River, with large riverine trees and wonderful sightings of elephant, hippo and crocodile. River Lodge offers 4 standard rooms and 4 Ultra Luxury Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Ezulwini Game Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ezulwini Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Ezulwini Game Lodges South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing