We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An African dream”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ezulwini Game Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2011

For our first visit to Africa we took a friend's recommendation to start exploring the Kruger via a stay at Billy's Lodge. WOW, we didn't know what to expect, but it was all we could dream of. A true family business, our time at Billy's was a very relaxing break, punctuated with amazing game experiences. We encountered everything in our wildlife guide book, and learnt so much from the terrific team of guides. The Saad's were on hand to take care of every requirements. What a wonderful little patch of luxury nestled in some of the most breathtaking bush I've ever encountered. We were supposed to stay 3 nights, but decided to extend the trip a bit longer. Watch your waistlines the food is delicious, coupled with a wonderful wine cellar to boot.

Do yourself a favour !

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenandgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2011

We first visited Ezulwini in March 2009. We found it to be a magical place then, so much so that we decided to go back for a 2nd visit this year.

We stayed at River Lodge and were not disappointed. Ezulwini serves up a great mixture of atmosphere, comfort and most importanly for us, great game viewing.

On our 4 game drives we had some magnificent sightings - particularly of a male leopard. As most people know leopards are normally very elusive, but we managed to get within about 4-5 metres of this big male and were able to watch him for close to an hour.

Many thanks to all the staff at River Lodge - especially Greg, Franz, Lawrence and Jo - who all made our stay another memorable one.

We were also lucky enough to be shown around the new chalets at Billy's Lodge which look amazing. So for anybody out there who is looking out for something a little bit special in terms of accomodation, then maybe you should have a look at these.

If I have a complaint then, as before, I'd say the road down to the River Lodge from the main gate is long (ca. 18 km) and tortuous. We parked our car at Billy's Lodge this time which is much closer to the gate and got a shuttle down and for anybody coming with a standard vehicle I'd recommend they do the same.

Otherwise, a great place to visit and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissCandN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

The lodges are really great. Although many loved the river lodge, our family preferred Billy's lodge. The food and service are great and the game safaris and the guides are really wonderful. The guides are a wealth of knowledge and very much want their customers to have a great time. The animals were amazing, saw many elephants, lions, giraffes, zebra, saw 4 Rhinos once, only thing we couldn't find was the leopard...

Room Tip: Billy's Lodge has suites for extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knebpauls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We just returned from an amazing week with Ezulwini lodges. We had such a great time, the food the staff and our accommodations were excellent. We loved the knowledge of the guides and our 15 year old had a BLAST!! The wine tasting out in the bush was fabulous and the wine cellar is beautiful. We loved the comfort of the land rovers and the welcoming back shots! Nothing could have been more fun doing this trip with our 15 year old it was a wonderful family experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosntmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We stayed at River Lodge & Billy's Lodge for a total of 5 days. What an amazing place. The staff was incredible. The food was wonderful. We saw the big 7. The Rangers, Greg & Jo were the best as well as the trackers, Lawrence & Richard. The owners Laurence & Tess were so hospitable it was like they opened their home to us. The game drives each day were an experience of a lifetime. I highly recommend Ezulwini.

Steven & Shelley Scher

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevenHScher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Great staff, tremendous accommodations and most importantly, amazing game drives! We saw all of the Big Five (including the elusive leopard) as well as the Big Seven. We visited for our honeymoon and are already trying to figure out how to get back. The staff at both lodges were great but the family atmosphere at Billy's was really special. We really felt at home and it was terribly tough to leave such a wonderful place. We made new friends and memories that are both sure to last a lifetime.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toddcode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

A life changing experience.Tess,Laurence,Lauren and the whole crew made us feel like "family" for our too short stay of 5 days.The lion and elephant encounters could not have been more perfect if the were from Disney central casting.
Ah ,the food,the wine, the air, the stars....it doesn't get any better than this !!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MerylJoelSchonfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
17.4 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,831 reviews
20.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
417 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
754 reviews
22.5 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#2 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
274 reviews
19.2 mi away
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Elandela Private Game Reserve
#63 of 176 in Kruger National Park
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ezulwini Game Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ezulwini Game Lodges

Address: Ezulwini Billy's & River Lodge | Olifants West Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: £633 - £1,198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ezulwini Game Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ezulwini, the Zulu word for 'Place of Paradise', is situated in the centre of the Greater Kruger National Park, Balule Nature Reserve section, where Africa remains unspoiled. Ezulwini prides itself on being able to offer an exceptional African setting, indigenous fauna and flora as well as unique character and charm, to provide you with an authentic experience. Ezulwini Billy's Lodge nestles deep in the heart of lion country and offers three standard chalets as well as three new luxury suites with their own lounge area, private deck and plunge pool, indoor and outdoor shower and super King-Size beds. Ezulwini River Lodge is on the famous Olifants River, with large riverine trees and wonderful sightings of elephant, hippo and crocodile. River Lodge offers 4 standard rooms and 4 Ultra Luxury Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Ezulwini Game Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ezulwini Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Ezulwini Game Lodges South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing