We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Add Ezulwini to your bucket list” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ezulwini Game Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ezulwini Game Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Add Ezulwini to your bucket list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

A fantastic experience, a trip of a lifetime. Very clean, safe, and friendly. The experienced trackers keep us on the path of the animals we wanted to see. The food was great and the wine cave is one not to miss and the Braai (BBQ) was a real bonus. The owners are so nice, actively involved, and very gracious.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Howard98199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    15
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
55
120
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Billy's Lodge staff -are extremely accommodating, gracious, and concerned about the welfare of their guests. The first night my husband and I were the only guests and it seemed as if it was all our personal retreat. Lawrence and the rest of the staff could not do enough for us. Rex our game driver worked to ensure we had every sighting possible.

Room Tip: The private suite with a private pool on the end is terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GLPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Ezulwini is beautifully situated in the Balule Park, and Lauren and in general the staff were very friendly and service-minded. We upgraded to one of the bigger houses, and it was quite a difference from the most basic houses. We saw a lot of animals, including some very close encounters with lions, buffalos and giraffes. However, our ranger (Rex) lacked an interest in sharing his knowledge with us clients and was almost a bit arrogant during some of our drives. Compared to other rangers we met throughout SA, Rex was definitely the least interactive one. Sure, he showed us the animals, but it was apprent he had no real interest in us as customers. Also, we deposited 50% of the total fee before arriving at SA, and then Ezulwini charged the full 100% - not only the outstanding 50%...we are still chasing them regarding this... So, keep receipt of your fees paid until everything is settled, is our advice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EzulwiniLodges, Owner at Ezulwini Game Lodges, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Sofia,

We are terribly sorry about the mixup on your bill. As we explained to Anna, our accountant unfortunately had not reconciled your account until 2 months after your departure. She then noticed that you had forgotten to pay the balance of your account on your checkout.
She instructed the lodge to put this balance through but they unfortunately processed the full amount.
Once we confirmed the amount had been cleared in our bank account, we refunded your balance within 7 days.
We regret your experience with Rex, but his mother passed away last month and he wasn't at his best.
We are pleased nonetheless that you enjoyed the lodge and the complimentary upgrade you received to our ultra luxury suite. The game sightings seem to have been good too!

Kind Regards,

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at River Lodge and 2 nights at Billy's Lodge this March 2013. We were amazed at the cleanliness of both lodges, the very professional level of service and the outstanding quality of the food. The guides for the game drives were very professional and knowledgeable. We got to see the Big 5 during our visit. River Lodge is deeper into the bush. It has a small pool and the rooms were very spcacious and wel kept. The food was excellent and the staff very helpful. Billy's Lodge is really nice. It has a pool also ,the rooms outstanding, the food great, good bar and the service excellent. Every night just kept getting better for us. The staff made us feel very welcome. We even had a BBQ one night with African food, music and dancing. This lodge exceed our expectations and we heartily recommend this lodge for anyone wanting a nice place to stay and a fun exciting game drive. This is a good place for families and couples. Everybody will have a great time there. We would absolutely return. Thanks for a wonderful visit.

Room Tip: We did not see all of the rooms at River Lodge but think they are all the same which was very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAbazia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

The Staff, Lawrence, Lauren, Rex and Frans are engaging and go the extra mile to make your stay perfect. Accommodations are great and the food is excellent. It was the best hotel experience I have had in 49 countries. Can't say enough to how great this place was.

Room Tip: the Suites are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Driscoll14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Cannot begin to describe how wonderful our four nights at Billy's Lodge were. The review by Jason H does a great job of describing the itinerary. We visited in February and were lucky to have good weather. We had amazing game sitings including a leopard, several lion sitings (including a mom and cubs one day, a lion and 6 lionesses another evening, and the old warrior Big Boy twice), elephants, lots of giraffe and zebra, hippo, buffalo, wart hog, adorable hyena pups, monkeys, impala, etc; it was simply spectacular. The staff went above and beyond to ensure we were well taken care of at all times, including helping our six year old daughter enjoy her visit as well. The food was great and the room was divine (including the private plunge pool!) and we really appreciated the laundry service, being on the road so long. If you're considering a stay here (or already booked it), I recommend following them on Facebook, really helps prepare you! Worth noting that we also did a shorter safari in Amakhala (near garden route) at the end of our trip, and while it was fine, it made me appreciate what a major difference it makes to choose a really great lodge with quality staff and a location with so much wildlife. Thank you so much Lawrence, Frans, Tandy, and Rex! I hope we can come back some day.

Room Tip: If you can afford the suite with extra room and plunge pool, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdxshauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed in billys lodge for 2 night on our honeymoon which was just like the photos. They clean your room twice a day. Staff are very friendly. Food is great and you get 3 meals included with your stay. No healthy snacks available in between meals, just chips . Also, expedia says it has a fitness center but it doesnt, Found I was famished by meal time. Our guide Greg was amazing at his job, very knowledgeable and able to spot and track animals easily. We seen the big 5 plus many more. They will take you off roading to get closer to the animals which you cant do in krugar park so this is way better. The night drives are extra exciting. Above and beyond what we expected.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tashawall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
19.3 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
4.7 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#3 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
24.7 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ezulwini Game Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ezulwini Game Lodges

Property: Ezulwini Game Lodges
Address: Ezulwini Billy's & River Lodge | Olifants West Section, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ezulwini Game Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ezulwini, the Zulu word for 'Place of Paradise', is situated in the centre of the Greater Kruger National Park, Balule Nature Reserve section, where Africa remains unspoiled. Ezulwini prides itself on being able to offer an exceptional African setting, indigenous fauna and flora as well as unique character and charm, to provide you with an authentic experience. Ezulwini Billy's Lodge nestles deep in the heart of lion country and offers three standard chalets as well as three new luxury suites with their own lounge area, private deck and plunge pool, indoor and outdoor shower and super King-Size beds. Ezulwini River Lodge is on the famous Olifants River, with large riverine trees and wonderful sightings of elephant, hippo and crocodile. River Lodge offers 4 standard rooms and 4 Ultra Luxury Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ezulwini Game Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ezulwini Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Ezulwini Game Lodges South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing