We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surpassed my expectations. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ezulwini Game Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surpassed my expectations. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

My only wish is that it didn't take so long to get here. I would come every year. The staff treated us like family. They made my birthday the best birthday I ever had. The ultra luxury suite almost seems sinful. Food out of this world, especially the kudu.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jayjustjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    15
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
55
120
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I couldn't have imagined a better experience! We stayed 2 nights at River Lodge and 2 nights at Billy's Lodge during the third week of January. The weather was perfect! I appreciated what each lodge had to offer. Both lodges provided exceptional hospitality! I found them both very comfortable, relaxing and clean. The staff was so welcoming and incredibly friendly throughout our stay. The rangers and trackers provided an incredible adventure during the game drives, making sure we saw the Big 5 and so much more! The drives could be quite exhilarating; but, also quite peaceful. They are very passionate and informative, sharing stories of their personal experiences. They made sure we slowed down and appreciated all that we were surrounded by - the birds, the land, the peace and quiet, the sunsets. Attention was given to every detail throughout our stay. Every meal was fantastic - so delicious and presented beautifully! The coffee service before/during the drives was appreciated. After each drive, we were greeted back at the lodge with a cool washcloth and either juice or a small cocktail. It was quite unexpected to be invited down into the wine cellar at Billy's to enjoy a conversation with Lauren and a glass of Pinotage - that was a very nice touch! The only negative comment...if the pools had been of importance to me, I would've been disappointed. The water wasn't very clear, especially at River Lodge. My husband did swim at Billy's for a bit without concern. Although we didn't use it, Billy's does have a small weight-lifting area. Although it was slow, internet service was available at both lodges and stable enough that I was able to make skype calls to our children. Thank you to everyone at Ezulwini for a remarkable experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I recently went to Ezulwini Billy's lodge and really felt the need to express how much I enjoyed my stay and I also really wanted to communicate my gratitude and thanks to all the staff involved in making the experience truly unforgettable and enjoyable. In fact, it was an all rounded incredible experience, from the cleanliness, food (the beef poitjie stew was amazing!), facilities, hospitality and importantly for me the absolute sincerity and high standards of the place as a whole. It is an authentic bush experience, and I haven't relaxed so much on a holiday in years!! It is impossible not to. The surroundings are absolutely exquisite, you can relax at the swimming pool if you like and there is an incredible sky walk that leads you into the bush away from everything where you can comfortably sit and read a book or immerse yourself in the amazing view and the nature all around you. The game drives were an adventure with the tracker in the front of the vehicle looking for prints and the game-ranger who opened a world of incredible facts and stories about this magical place. Thank you Ezulwini for such a memorable time, and I Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pumpkinpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We spent 5 nights at Ezulwini Billy's Lodge and I find it difficult to find the words to describe our experience. I chose 'Unexpected' because no matter what I thought I was walking into, my wildest dreams could not have come up with this amazing location. Beautiful, luxurious, wild, and pristine. The accommodations were as good as any I've ever stayed at around the World. Then the staff made the entire experience 'Unforgettable'. Billy's Lodge has what I can only describe as an extended family at the helm. I miss our hostess Glory's smile and voice already, and Aubrey's exuberant greeting and laugh echoes easily in my memories. Tracker Frans, in addition to his amazing talents with the animals in the bush, makes a very welcoming cup of coffee each morning, and along with Rex, our veteran guide in the bush, made each and every safari outing unforgettable and FUN. The accolades could go on and on, but the bottom lines is simply GO!

Room Tip: The Ultra Luxury Suites really are worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We spent 4 days at Ezulwini and our experience was outstanding. Billy's Lodge is charming and luxurious (esp considering it's out in the bush), Lauren and her staff are attentive and welcoming and the safari drives are exhilarating and peaceful depending on whether you are discovering magnificent African animals or simply enjoying the fresh air and beautiful land, birds and company. Our trackers were very knowledgeable and made every effort to show us a good time and find the Big 5 (we did). The food and wine were delicious...Billy's Lodge has a beautiful wine cellar and one evening we were entertained by the staff with local song, dance and traditional BBQ. Animals come right up to the lodge...it's magical. We hope to return again with our children next time (suggested age over 12).

Room Tip: Deluxe suites are beautiful and include outdoor shower & small private pool. There is also a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toughbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

While we have traveled extensively throughout the world this was our first trip to Africa and we didn't really know what to expect in the Bush as they say. The first thing i would say is that the Ezulwini accommodations far exceeded what i thought we would have to deal with in the bush. We are talking 5 star here. We stayed in the deluxe rooms which i would highly recommend. The beds were especially comfortable and the rooms very large with indoor and outdoor showers. The rooms are very quiet and secluded.
The service was Ritz-Carlton like in terms of attention to detail and genuine desire to make sure we had everything we ever needed. The food was excellent and frankly probably too much. They had a barbecue night with the staff singing and dancing. We were blown away... Oh and for those of you into fine wines - they have a fantastic wine cellar and wine tasting night.

We also had the good fortune to have the best tracker with us for most of the trip and we were able to see the big 5 - eElephants, Rhino's, Giraffe, Leopard and Lions. They even took us on a nature walk and taught us how to "track." Every night when we returned from the safari we were greeted with a hot towel and a night cap. Very easy to get accustomed.

We will surely return to theKruger and i can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: they have two types of rooms - standard and deluxe. The deluxe are the way to go if you can afford i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Ezulwini totally exceeded my expectations in so many ways; the staff, the lodges, the food and of course, the wildlife.

I consider myself pretty well traveled, and this is definitely on my top 5 list of places I have visited.

Some highlights:

Both lodges are 5 star for bush accomodations; very quiet and comfortable, beautiful thatched buildings and the communal spaces for eating :many wonderful decks also for hanging out & reading and watching passing wildlife.

The people! I can't say enough good things about everyone working at Ezulwini: the service is prompt, personalized and friendly: we were treated like royalty! Some standouts: Joe, who went above and beyond at all times: even to the point of going to the trouble to organize a special dinner in the bush for our last night. Eddie was one step ahead of us and always had a cold beer ready at just the right moment. Then, of course Gloria, the hostess with the mostess, made us feel right at home at Billy's lodge even when we were already missing our new friend's from River Lodge! The owner, Lawrence, also was extremely generous with his unique wine cellar!

The wildlife: breathtaking! Our ranger & trackers were truly unbelievable getting us up close and personal with a variety of animals, whilst totally being in tune with the animals so it was a good experience for everyone. A special shout out to Greg & Richard here, they made each drive unique and less about "just the big five" which allowed us to spot some really rare species.

The week at Ezulwini, was the most relaxing experience I can imagine, combined with sheer joy at observing magnificent wildlife in their native environment. Go there now!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seattle_brit_helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
17.3 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
20.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ku Sungula Safari Lodge
Ku Sungula Safari Lodge
#11 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ezulwini Game Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ezulwini Game Lodges

Property: Ezulwini Game Lodges
Address: Ezulwini Billy's & River Lodge | Olifants West Section, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ezulwini Game Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ezulwini, the Zulu word for 'Place of Paradise', is situated in the centre of the Greater Kruger National Park, Balule Nature Reserve section, where Africa remains unspoiled. Ezulwini prides itself on being able to offer an exceptional African setting, indigenous fauna and flora as well as unique character and charm, to provide you with an authentic experience. Ezulwini Billy's Lodge nestles deep in the heart of lion country and offers three standard chalets as well as three new luxury suites with their own lounge area, private deck and plunge pool, indoor and outdoor shower and super King-Size beds. Ezulwini River Lodge is on the famous Olifants River, with large riverine trees and wonderful sightings of elephant, hippo and crocodile. River Lodge offers 4 standard rooms and 4 Ultra Luxury Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ezulwini Game Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ezulwini Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Ezulwini Game Lodges South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing