We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience and Hospitality to the fullest !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ezulwini Game Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Safari experience was fantastic! We saw a lot of animals thanks to our guide Lawrence and tracker Richard who go above and beyond to make sure it was to our satisfaction. It is a tough job but you can see they give it to their fullest. Hospitality is to the fullest as well, Josh is awesome! Always checked on us to make sure we are having a great experience and stay. He came around and shared fun stories of his experiences. There was a guest who was very challenging for Josh and the staff. She was rude and demanding and wanted all the attention. She had a 6 year old sweet little boy with her. He was alright just needed proper parenting. Josh, the manager of the Lodge, and the staff were very patient and made sure we and the other guests are okay and not affected by this guest's behavior. Glory and Eddie were awesome ! They made sure all the guests were well fed on time! Brought you anything and everything you ask or need , with a smile. Glory sings as she walks back and forth to serve the guests, very happy, very pleasant. All the rest of the staff are just as awesome! The housekeepers and the ground personnel saying hello, greeting you on every time you cross each other's path. The whole resort is Fantastic and a Wonderful place to be!!!! Great Safari Experience!! I was sad to leave, I felt like I left a family I adopted in my heart . Highly recommend!!!!

Room Tip: Get the upgrade to a suite , bigger space and view .
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adventurefungogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for Ezulwini Game Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We worked with Amy to build a package that we could offer for the Redlands Symphony Gala Live Auction and our experience has been wonderful! The package they provided for our auction was such a hit that not only was it one of the biggest income generators for our association, but we ended up selling it TWICE! They have been exceedingly friendly and efficient with making arrangements for our auction winners and we look forward to working with them again in the future!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank scrambledmeggs31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I can't speak more highly about Ezulwini Game Lodges! The accomidations, food, staff and of course safari adventures. Josh, Abby and team go beyond in taking care of their guests. This was one of those rare trips where I was sad to leave. AND I want to go back. You need not look further if you are planning to go to South Africa. This is the best of the best.

Room Tip: Spurge on the larger rooms....SO worth it!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kkiefaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is an amazing lodge.. You can see the river from your cabin it is clean, well organize and unforgettable.. The staff is so friendly, kind, warm hearted and cater to you with love. During my stay there were 2 couples and we became like family. Breakfast is amazing overlooking the river, lunch is wonderful and dinner is excellent by the fire. The food is amazingly delicious and the selection of wines incredible.. The bar has everything to offer. Thanks to glory that runs that place with so much love and dedication.The game drives are twice a day and you get to see the big 5. Lauren and kondrite are excellent. Lauren our guide is so knowledgable about the animals and so passionate about what he does. Truly smart individual. Kondrite is the best tracker and really loves what he does. I recommend them both for the game drives they made it possible to see the big 5..I recommend this lodge to everyone and will definitely be coming back. I absolutely love it..

Room Tip: I suggest the cabin overlooking the river
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Glo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

For our first ever Africa experience (and when compared to our friends' experiences), it seemed to us that Ezulwini Lodges had to be the most unique locations - River Lodge on the banks of the Oliphants River and Billy's Lodge in the gorgeous grassy savanna, both nestled in the Balule Private Nature Reserve surrounded on one side by the Unesco Heritage Drakensberg Mountains and with open land all the way to, and through, Kruger Park on the other side.
Each lodge is not meant to have more than 16 guests at a time, so it makes for fantastic value with personalized service value, food, and wine. The perfect way to see the Big 5 game animals and enjoy the northeastern region of S Africa. It is truly enhanced by Josh and his sensitive, professional staff at River Lodge, including when Josh is your game drive guide and Richie your
tracker; and by Lauren and her equally sensitive, professional staff at Billy's Lodge with Rex as your incredibly experienced guide and Franz as your tracker. Also, at Billy's Lodge there is a wonderful wine cellar you may be lucky enough to experience and enjoy. If you want to really experience the African bush, be more than comfortable, and feel like there was great value in your experience, come here; but if you want glitz and a spa experience, this is probably not where you should come
A typical day is up before sunrise for a quick coffee, tea, or hot chocolate and biscuit. If it is winter, be sure to bundle up into the Land Rover and go on your game drive, on trails and off road, across the more than 90,000 adjoining acres as the sun comes up searching for the Big 5 as well as all the other birds and wildlife you see. Stop for morning coffee, tea, hot chocolate and biscuit break then continue on until about 9:30 when you head back to lodge for breakfast. Greeted by Eddie, Glory, or Aubrey with moist hot towels to wipe the dust off and warm up (if it's winter), your breakfast order is taken. Breakfast outside, weather permitting, with linen and fresh flowers on the decks near the skywalk you are bound to have bush buck or elephants very nearby. Your lunch order is taken and the rest of the morning is yours to relax wherever - in the shade, out on the skywalk, the terraces and libraries, or pools - or explore within the fences due to the free ranging of the Big 5. Lunch is at 2, again on the decks, and you need be ready for the afternoon drive at 3:30. After a gorgeous midday in the warm sun, be sure to take extra clothes for after sunset, and don't forget to specifiy your choice of "sundowner" evening libation for the drive. Out again, covering yet another part of the vast terrain, in search. As the sun sets, you will stop for your "sundowner" cocktail with nuts, chips, biltong, and maybe more, before continuing on. Return to camp with hot towels waiting again as well as a small sampling of a specialty cocktail (I haven't heard of any other lodges that do this), and your dinner order is taken. Freshen up, then come out for cocktails before dinner, and find the dinner table sumptuously set with white linens and glass next to the outdoor fire. Enjoy the perfectly paced service for dining, and then crawl into a fabulously made bed, beautifully turned down with flowers on your pillows. Sweet dreams before you have the pleasure of doing it again tomorrow.

Room Tip: The typical room is a version of mmodern Zulu hut with round earth walls and thatched roof, only you...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ginna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I just returned. We stayed at both the River Lodge and Billy's Lodge. Each was unique. The staff at each were incredibly nice and helpful. The accommodations were clean and well organized. The food was outstanding. Game drives were great fun and many different animals were seen up close. Game guides were knowledgeable and fun. Weather was very pleasant and no mosquitoes in June. Leo d'Ambrosio, Indianapolis, Indiana

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from a fabulous trip to South Africa and Ezulwini Game Lodges. Both River Lodge and Billy's Lodge far exceeded our expectations. The meals were great and the wines were awesome. Our stay at River Lodge was made especially memorable because of our game guide, Josh. His professionalism, vast knowledge of the wildlife, great personality, and humor contributed greatly to an exciting and informative safari adventure for us. Josh was a wonderful game guide as well as a great host. He dined with us every evening for dinner and thrilled us again with his knowledge of all things South African. We highly recommend Ezulwini as a great place to stay and have a super safari ride with Josh.

Dave and Linda DeOme
Austin, Texas
May, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
20.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
405 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
264 reviews
17.3 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
662 reviews
19.2 mi away
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Elandela Private Game Reserve
#67 of 175 in Kruger National Park
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ezulwini Game Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ezulwini Game Lodges

Address: Ezulwini Billy's & River Lodge | Olifants West Section, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: £506 - £991 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ezulwini Game Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ezulwini, the Zulu word for 'Place of Paradise', is situated in the centre of the Greater Kruger National Park, Balule Nature Reserve section, where Africa remains unspoiled. Ezulwini prides itself on being able to offer an exceptional African setting, indigenous fauna and flora as well as unique character and charm, to provide you with an authentic experience. Ezulwini Billy's Lodge nestles deep in the heart of lion country and offers three standard chalets as well as three new luxury suites with their own lounge area, private deck and plunge pool, indoor and outdoor shower and super King-Size beds. Ezulwini River Lodge is on the famous Olifants River, with large riverine trees and wonderful sightings of elephant, hippo and crocodile. River Lodge offers 4 standard rooms and 4 Ultra Luxury Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ezulwini Game Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ezulwini Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Ezulwini Game Lodges South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing