We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saw some Lion - Ken from Australia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ezulwini Game Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Kiama
2 reviews
“Saw some Lion - Ken from Australia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

Had a weekend at Billy's camp during a business trip. Found the camp interesting and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. Best part was the game drives. Had been on 5 previous drives in southern Africa but had not yet seen a lion. Patrick and Conrad tracked a young male and some females down the first morning and almost (fresh tracks) of two big males the next day. Also saw 3 more of the big 5 and lots of birds and great scenery. Recommend the camp for a relaxing fun time

  • Liked — Game drives
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenKiama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    15
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
55
120
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
fourways
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2008

Thanks for the stay the game drives and food were excellent.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank balls123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2008

We stayed at the Lodge for a week and had a excellent time. The game drives were brilliant we manage to see the big 5. The treatment at the Lodge were realy grate. I would suggest the Lodge to all my friends and family and will be making my next brake to Billy's Lodge.

  • Liked — Clean and cumfortable rooms
  • Disliked — My stay was too short
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kasteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2008

What a fantastic experience, my family and I were made to feel like a part of the EZULWINI FAMILY.Overall we couldnt fault the food,service,accomodation or the bush experience.It was a wrench to leave but we are without a doubt, planning to return.Next time for a longer stay.

Thank once again to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jhbnth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdagno, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

We were at River Lodge, pretty place, but NO animals! We saved for a "special" trip, paid quite a lot, but there were no BIG 7 to see (not even the BIG 5) as advertised on the lodge's website! In 2 days' safaris, we had the "luck" to see just a few buffalos! Not one lion, nor leopard, elephant or rhino, and obviously no hippo nor crocodile!! Very disappointing! We felt really taken for a ride!!
It's cheaper to go alone in the Kruger Park, where much more can be seen, without feeling ripped off by unprofessional Lodge owners!
Isabelle Maurel & Giovanni Nalesso & sons.

  • Liked — n/a
  • Disliked — they advertised BIG GAME which doesn't exist on the reserve, atleast not on the 700 hectares only where the safari is permitted to E
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank IsaNalesso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2008

We felt as though we were putting the staff out by being there. All the staff were interested in were tracking lions for hours on end. After a very long morning drive we were looking forward to a nice breakfast but when we returned to the lodge we were informed that they had run out of food and that no-one had a license to go and buy more from the Spar shop only ten minutes away.

For a 4 star lodge I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Disliked — We lived next door to the Guide.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelCriticUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2008

We loved our stay in Ezulwini last September. The staff went above and beyond to please us, and they definitely did! They have 2 lodges: one is called something like Jack´s Lodge (don´t remember) and the other, River Lodge, by Orange River. We had booked the River Lodge, but ended up satying at the other, where we were the only guests for 2 days and got a very exclusive service!

The (let´s call it Jack´s) Lodge has about 5 bangalows, all around a nice swimming pool. On the back of bangalows is a pond, where one can watch, from your varand, animals go for water during the hot days. We also had a voyer girafe who tried to sniff out of our window when I was changing! The place decoreted with wonderful carved stuff, the wine cellar is magnific and the food is superb! All that at very reasonable price! (I got scared with prices on prived resererves in South Africa, but this one is well worth the money!).

We were not very luck with the safaris, but Craig (guide) and the tracker did their best to find as much big 5 as they could (we drove for 5 hours after a lioness with cubs). The tracker was amazing (he found a camaleon on a tree at a night drive), and Craig himself is a live history about wild life tourism development in south africa.

The braai night was very nice, and the staff performed some local folk stuff. Just loved it! We booked through roomsforafrica.

One last piece: 2 nights is the right amount to go for. Frommers said "at least 2 nights", but I realy think, unless you have scientific interests, you will get tired of driving around chasing animals more than that!

  • Liked — The service (and the no TV thing!)
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabianaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
17.3 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
20.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ku Sungula Safari Lodge
Ku Sungula Safari Lodge
#11 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ezulwini Game Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ezulwini Game Lodges

Property: Ezulwini Game Lodges
Address: Ezulwini Billy's & River Lodge | Olifants West Section, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ezulwini Game Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ezulwini, the Zulu word for 'Place of Paradise', is situated in the centre of the Greater Kruger National Park, Balule Nature Reserve section, where Africa remains unspoiled. Ezulwini prides itself on being able to offer an exceptional African setting, indigenous fauna and flora as well as unique character and charm, to provide you with an authentic experience. Ezulwini Billy's Lodge nestles deep in the heart of lion country and offers three standard chalets as well as three new luxury suites with their own lounge area, private deck and plunge pool, indoor and outdoor shower and super King-Size beds. Ezulwini River Lodge is on the famous Olifants River, with large riverine trees and wonderful sightings of elephant, hippo and crocodile. River Lodge offers 4 standard rooms and 4 Ultra Luxury Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ezulwini Game Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ezulwini Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Ezulwini Game Lodges South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing