We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari - 11th - 14th April”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We arrived at Mohlebetsi with our two children, 10 & 12, in time for the evening drive. We climbed into a very comfortable open jeep and headed straight into the bush. Within seconds we were amongst a huge herd of buffalo, then a leopard appeared from nowhere, plus fighting giraffes, four different types of vultures, kudo and to cap it all 4 beautiful lioness passed within inches of the vehicle. Every safari we did at Mohlebetsi was equally exciting - we never went to the same place twice and each sundowner was at a different spot. Tony, Hamilton and Lucky were exceptionally enthusiastic and informative and our very last sighting were 8 little lion cubs and 3 lioness with their kill hiding in the bush. The most unforgettable experience. Life at the lodge was very comfortable and relaxing and we were looked after superbly. The food was exceptional too. A fantastic 3 days.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
There are newer reviews for Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

We flew to Johannesburg and straight on to Hoedspruit, and were met at the airport, taking about an hour to reach the lodge. This place caters for 22 people, and there are 2 family rooms. The cottages are divine- round, with thatched, high raked ceilings, great king beds, and an outdoor shower attached to the room. Showering in the sunlight was ver nice, indeed!
The food was fantastic. One of our number was coeliac, and he commented that he had never in his life been better looked after. His meals were also wonderful.
Each day we did two safaris- at 6am and 4 pm, lasting 3-4 hours. The guides were expert at following animal excreta and footprints, and one by one we ticked off the big five, and a huge variety of other wildlife.
The setting was spectacular, the service absolutely perfect. This place is WOW!

Room Tip: Our room was great- number 7. Our friends said numbers 3- 6 were also wonderful. Room 2 had 2 single...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valueandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We were very happy with our stay, the staff was very friendly and the rangers/spotters knew their job. Only possibl downside was that there are quite a lot of different camps in the consession resulting in quite a lot of vehicles driving around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marten_OP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony W, Owner at Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Good Day Marten

Thank you for your review of our Lodge & we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have noted your comment regarding the number of vehicles. We do indeed traverse certain areas along with other small, reputable game lodges. This is advantageous as it allows most of our concession to be covered during a game drive, thereby maximizing our animal sighting opportunities by maintaining radio contact with these other vehicles. We do have very strict protocols in place, ensuring that only 2, or in favourable conditions, 3 vehicles are present at a particular sighting. This allows for a tranquil & relaxed viewing experience.

I would also venture to add that at Balule (which forms part of the western section of Kruger Park) has a lower than normal density of Lodges & safari vehicles.

We hope that your South African trip was memorable in many ways, especially your safaris.

Thank you for your visit.

Regards from the Bush
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is our second trip to Mohlabetsi Lodge, we returned because of the good service and friendships we had last year.and it was as good if not better,they treat you as if you are part of the family,the game drives were of very high class,the trucks are only7 month old and very comfortable.we saw all the Big five,the Small five & the Magnificent Severn.the accommodation is clean well appointed and with air conditioning.The chef will cater for any diet. This lodge is for people who want to be in the bush,tracking.We will return.

Room Tip: They have seven Roundell,s each sleeping two,and two family rooms all with air conditioning,also alf...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 725Bushtracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony W, Owner at Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Good Day Bushtrackers

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our Lodge. It is always a great pleasure to welcome repeat guests back as friends & we are so glad that you had such a special stay with us! We certainly look forward to seeing you here again soon!

We really appreciate your kind comments & are gratified that you found the new vehicles & the airconditioners an improvement over your last stay here with us. We are also very pleased that your sightings & wildlife encounters were so many & varied & we hope that you have a superb collection of photographs as a memento of your stay with us.

We can't wait to see you back again!

Regards from the Bush
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Very welcoming excellent value for money, brilliant staff, good food fantastic game viewing knowlegeable rangers, impeccably clean and a very welcome pool. We have stayed on other game lodges at much higher cost and can't see what added value they gave us compared with Mohlabetsi. Whilst not part of the itenary the proper charge by the matriarch ellie was an adrenalin moment but the rangers driving gave us confidence. If you are going that way - stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for number 7
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony W, Owner at Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Greetings Diana

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments & kind remarks regarding your recent stay at Mohlabetsi. We are most pleased to read that you consider our Lodge to be good value for money as well as your other observations as we strive to maintain these standards. Reviews such as yours are real reward for us!

We hope that the rest of your holiday was just as memorable!

Regards from the bush
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Mohlabetsi lodge was a great way to end a 10 day tour of Kruger.

My wife and I stayed at three different SA National Park rest camps in Kruger which was fine but to have three days and two nights at the luxurious Mohlabetsi, with everything organised for you by very attentive staff was a brilliant finale.

The attention to detail and the friendliness of all the staff was a joy as was the wonderful food and service. Lena and the team do a great job in camp and the game viewing with Ranger Solly and his tracker; Roger was also excellent. Timba the dog was very entertaining as was Izzie the cat. I really cannot understand why other lodges charge so much more.

Well done Mohlabetsi, if we are in Kruger again, we will be back.

Jimmy & Di

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jimmy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This was the best thing we did on our trip to South Africa. The staff at Mohlabetsi was wonderful and the lodge itself very nice. Very nive cottages with everything you need. We gladly recommend it!
Family Andersson from Sweden

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CeciliaAndersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
12.4 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,749 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
263 reviews
15.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,062 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
660 reviews
6.8 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#3 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge

Address: PO Box 862, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: £345 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the vast Balule Reserve, part of the Greater Kruger Park. Get close up to the Big 5 & other animals on vehicle safaris & walks. Luxurious accommodation in a small, privately owned camp, excellent meals & South African hospitality at an extremely affordable price. Easy access via self-drive or daily flights & shuttles from Johannesburg. Relax around a swimming pool & enjoy aroma-therapy massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohlabetsi Safari Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing