We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic stay at Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

What a great stay......fantastic ranger.......excellent sightings of the big five and so much more......wonderful staff all round...... great food.......thank you for a really special trip - first of many!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    39
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
130
205
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Had a fantastic time at Mohlabetsi,
Great everything! - accomodation, food, hosts Tony, Alma and staff, even Timba the dog!

Absolutely stunning settings with beautiful views

The safari itself was one of the most AWESOME things I have ever done in my life, the team are superb at tracking and in our first game drive, we saw 4 out of the big 5! by the second game drive (so wiithin 24 hours) we had seen the big 5 TWICE, and many more animals. They go out of the way to bring you a great experience, including getting as close to the animals as safely as is possible. Favourite sightings - seeing 7 lionesses together, seeing Chavalutu the leopard in a tree, eating a dead Kudu, whilst a hyena waits underneath for dropped bones, 3 day old baby giraffe, mating leopards...lots more. Just a briliant experience.

Thanks for having us Mohlabetsi, we hope to go back sometime, maybe in SA2015!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

we had a great time, could relax, enjoyed the safaris, although gaving to get up already at 5 in the morning :-) food was great, evening dinner outside around the open fire. We can recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank simone_scherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Loved everything about it. Great guides. Friendly, accommodating staff. Excellent meals. Beautiful views. Even a nice, low key gift shop. Air conditioned, thatch roofed rondavels with outdoor showers. Hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Arriving at Mohlabetsi we were welcomed warmly and shown to our lovely rondavel overlooking the waterhole in the distance. Sitting in the reception area here we looked out over the lovely lawn area, with tables set for lunch, overlooking the reserve.

The food at Mohlabetsi is delicious. Like most of the lodges we stayed at, there wasn’t a choice of food, but this wasn’t an issue – fresh fruit and eggs cooked to our preference for breakfast, the Italian style lunches and the South African boma evening meals - everything cooked really well and with plenty of flavour. The freshly made bread was a real stand out here.

The rondavels are very nice, a comfortable bed, small seating area and outdoor shower – this would’ve been wonderful if we hadn’t arrived at Mohlabetsi during a cold spell!

Some of the game drives were a bit quiet, due to the weather, for which we can’t blame the lodge. We did feel that the guide could have done more during some long spells without animals to share interesting information with us, which we would have appreciated. That said, over the course of our six game drives here we did enjoy sightings of the 'Big Five'.

The gift shop was the best stocked of all the lodges we stayed at – and really reasonably priced.

We were impressed by how visible Tony, the manager, was – from his flambé steaks to his appearance at other meal times to check that we were okay. You really do feel a ‘guest’ a Mohlabetsi, a personal guest of Tony and his team at this wonderful place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDnBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My girlfriend and I had the most incredible experience at Mohlabetsi earlier this year. The lodge was the perfect balance between down-to-earth and very nice. The meals were delicious, varied, and relaxing -- it was cool how each meal was a bit different. The lodges were comfortable without feeling like a hotel -- the outdoor shower was great and the beds comfortable. Of course, most importantly, the game drives and the staff were just out of this world. The guides were so knowledgeable and courteous and the staff was SO nice and willing to answer any question about anything at all in order to make sure you were having a great time. I travel quite often and this safari is what I say was the coolest thing I've ever done; Tony and his team are really special people. Whenever in my life I am fortunate enough to do this again, I will absolutely return and will tell anyone who will listen that if they are thinking of a safari, that this is where to go.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eggss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We started our Honeymoon in June 2011 at the Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge and we stayed there for 2 nights. It was simply unforgettable and a great start into the holidays ! The lodges are very spacious and beautifully decorated. Pretty funny, the lodge is outside of the lodge, well protected and directly connected to the room. No danger, don't worry but great experience to take a shower in the "nature"...

The meals where just fabulous ! At breakfast, when you were lucky you could even see a giraffe not far away from the lodges. The "small" snacks at noon where very tasty and not that small ;-) Dinner was always very romantic even if it was spend in groups with the others near a fire to warm up (during the winter month in SA it gets pretty chilly at sunset) and of course dinner was very very tasty !

The personal was very nice and friendly and the rooms were always perfectly cleaned and during our stay we didn't see any mosquitos.

The Safaris were also great ! We saw lots of animals and the rangers were just perfect! Very friendly and they did everything to make you feel comfortable and satisfied. They did a great job looking for the animals.

We will definitely return to the lodge when we go back to SA. It is definitely one of our favourite places we have visited so far and if you go to the Kruger Park we really invite you to go to the Mohlabetsi Lodge, you won't regret it !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shakur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
12.4 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,660 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
255 reviews
6.3 mi away
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
#1 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
387 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Balule Nature Reserve
638 reviews
8.3 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 20 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge

Property: Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
Address: PO Box 862, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the vast Balule Reserve, part of the Greater Kruger Park. Get close up to the Big 5 & other animals on vehicle safaris & walks. Luxurious accommodation in a small, privately owned camp, excellent meals & South African hospitality at an extremely affordable price. Easy access via self-drive or daily flights & shuttles from Johannesburg. Relax around a swimming pool & enjoy aroma-therapy massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohlabetsi Safari Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing