We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A very nice and friendly atmosphere. The rooms, the service, the food, etc. All were very high class. The safaridrives with Hamilto, morning and evening were a lifetime experience. We experienced the Big Five. We are very, very satisfied with our visit at Mohlabetsi.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    38
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
127
204
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Place was really nice. Staff very friendly. Excellent food. Got to see all big five during my two day stay. Feels like colonial England while you are there. Tried drifters lodge for the next two days. Also great but totally different taste

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emarahjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We've stayed at many places, but the warm welcome and the hospitality you receive here is absolutely the BEST! And the safari is great too - our rangers managed to show us the Big 5 during the very first drive. Thank you, Mohlabetsi Team for a superb stay !

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2013

all the staff, from the ranger to the service people and the kitchen did a great job, which made the stay so pleasant. The ranger didn't stop before they could show us all the big five animals, plus much more others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Klaus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I shower with nature, in a private but nature open area, where I can see monkeys jumping from one tree branch to another, Hornbill (Zazu) birds all around, a dog chasing the monkeys who tease him (a lot), zebras in the background, next to a herd of impalas of all sizes, the hut-style bedroom decor is typical South African; they are called Rondawels; characterized by high ceilings, a long-stem fan keeps temperatures down. I could use the AC but there is no need for it. Sitting outside in between safaris, on a lounge chair (a must) watching a small group of giraffes eating tree leaves...the sunset in Africa is unbeatable, unsurpassed! There are no phones, no cells are allowed on property either, unless it's an emergency; there is no TV, no distractions. Just nature. The only touch of technology is the internet, but it is our choice to use it. Or not. There are only 8 huts total. This is a very small, well kept private lodge. It is in the Balule Nature Reserve, in the Balule Mountain which is integrated into the Greater Kruger Park. Animals roam free, lodge is unfenced on the eastern side and it extends for about 65 000 km2, and incorporates South Africa, Mozambique and Zimbabwe. The meals are typical local foods prepared by South African amazing chefs. Coffee before morning safari, which starts at 5:30am, a 3-hour guided safari, looking for whatever game we can see; the Rangers and Trackers (they are so knowledgeable) take us every time to the immense world of the Greater Kruger Park, with an unspoiled ecosystem; these 3-hour safaris are very intense. Traveling in open Landrovers in the end of each safari session, Sam (our amazing guide) takes us to an open area in the middle of the bush and he transforms himself into a bartender who can prepare any cocktail one wants. We drink and eat and celebrate life. Then we go back to the lodge and freshen up and change for breakfast at 9am with the feeling of accomplishment. We sit on a communal table and mingle with other guests. We make new friends. Exchange e-mails, blogs. Then we have free time until lunch, which is served at 14:00. One can have cocktails as one wishes in the lounge. Or relax beside a sparkling pool, or even enjoy aromatherapy massages, as I did today. I have tasted a South African semi-sweet white wine and celebrated these gifts I am blessed to be able to enjoy. In our safari sessions we saw 2 cheetahs calling each other for about 15 minutes, until they found each other! Then they rubbed heads nuzzling, and continued walking side by side. We saw elephants, rhinos (love veggies), a leopard sassing us with its tail, laying around on top of a tiny hill, watching us with an open eye, pretending not to see us watching him. Three lionesses (a mother and her 2 girls), showing off for us; we were thankful their stomachs were full, so they cared not that we were watching them; South African buffaloes, a whole herd drinking water at same time, down the river. Rabbits, water bucks, wildebeests, hares, guinea fouls, turtles (oh my!) and many huge beetles who carry large animals ‘droppings and roll them (male and female taking turns rolling) in order to make with it a nest for their egg-laying process in order to welcome new babies! These are dunk beetles who feed from it too (Yeah, dunk. Yuk). But how smart are they taking turns rolling it, that is, the female rolls it for a while first, then the male comes and helps her, while she sticks herself into the dunk (sorry) and lets the male roll her along, while she regains strength to roll next. From Balule area one can also go abseiling in 3 different ways: 60 meters down the stunning panorama Gorge at Graskop, or 25 meters down the rocky outcrops at Blyde Damwall/Hoedspruit, or 25 meters waterfall around Sabie Falls. Other options include hot air ballooning in Hazyview, caving by candlelight in Sabie, visit the Chimpanzee Eden, where Jane Goodall Institute is located, river rafting, white water tubing, ride an elephant at Elephant Whispers, see their sanctuary in a private reserve; go gold panning, zip lining, geckoiing; or visit the “Hoedspruit Endangered Species” and “Moholoholo Rehabilitation” centers. There is so much to do and see, so many choices!
What a treat from my home land! Thank you Africa!

Room Tip: All huts/rondawels have the same front view to the bush and wild animals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TRAVELSENSE12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
228 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We had such an excellent time at Mohlabetsi. For my guest's it was the first '' African Safari '' and they were so lucky, not just to get shown the BIG 5, to get the whole experience of being close to the animals and receiving a perfect treat. We had a good variety of mammals, birds, reptiles and insects, perfect weather and a very heavy storm. Many Thanks to the staff, the hosts, Nick and Lucky, you all made our time an unforgettable one.

Room Tip: all rooms have air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

What a great stay......fantastic ranger.......excellent sightings of the big five and so much more......wonderful staff all round...... great food.......thank you for a really special trip - first of many!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
12.4 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
15.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
8.3 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
15.9 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge

Property: Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
Address: PO Box 862, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the vast Balule Reserve, part of the Greater Kruger Park. Get close up to the Big 5 & other animals on vehicle safaris & walks. Luxurious accommodation in a small, privately owned camp, excellent meals & South African hospitality at an extremely affordable price. Easy access via self-drive or daily flights & shuttles from Johannesburg. Relax around a swimming pool & enjoy aroma-therapy massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohlabetsi Safari Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing