We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we wanted” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Hook
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything we wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had a perfect stay at Mohlabetsi - Tony, Alma and the team made us most welcome, the room was everything we needed, the food and massage were great and the game viewing excellent. Can warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    36
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
122
197
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ny, Ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Mohlabetsi was a great place to stay. The people who work there are amazing and incredibly helpful. It is also small and family-run, so there is a certain laid back charm I really enjoyed. The food was amazing.

The trackers and guides are extremely knowledgeable and dedicated and are invested in getting guests to see, enjoy and experience the wildlife. We saw male lions, female lions with cubs, leopard, rhino, elephants, zebras, hippos, etc. We will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TinaMarie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We were very excited to return to Mohlabetsi. Our family of 5 adults stayed in the two family lodges which were newly built since we were last there in 2006. They are spacious and very nicely decorated. All of the staff is exceptionally friendly. The personal touches such as flowers in the room and a handwritten note to welcome you, as well as the staff meeting the Landrovers after each safari to personally welcome you back to camp, are very nice. The food is delicious. Hamilton was our guide for our safaris and was very knowledgeable. He patiently answered all of our questions and made sure we had ample time to take plenty of pictures! We look forward to returning again in the near future.

Room Tip: The family lodges were spacious and nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philly29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here 3 days during our honeymoon and had the best time. It was our first time in South Africa and the first time we went on Safari. We did not see the leopard but that was just bad luck. Hamilton was great and made us feel save the whole time. The relaxed atmosphere, great food, best view, nice & clean cottages (LOVED the outside showers) and the small group of people made it a stay to never forget. We dream of going back there one day and bring our children.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

A very nice and friendly atmosphere. The rooms, the service, the food, etc. All were very high class. The safaridrives with Hamilto, morning and evening were a lifetime experience. We experienced the Big Five. We are very, very satisfied with our visit at Mohlabetsi.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Place was really nice. Staff very friendly. Excellent food. Got to see all big five during my two day stay. Feels like colonial England while you are there. Tried drifters lodge for the next two days. Also great but totally different taste

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emarahjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We've stayed at many places, but the warm welcome and the hospitality you receive here is absolutely the BEST! And the safari is great too - our rangers managed to show us the Big 5 during the very first drive. Thank you, Mohlabetsi Team for a superb stay !

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
12.4 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
15.9 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 16 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
20.2 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge

Property: Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
Address: PO Box 862, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the vast Balule Reserve, part of the Greater Kruger Park. Get close up to the Big 5 & other animals on vehicle safaris & walks. Luxurious accommodation in a small, privately owned camp, excellent meals & South African hospitality at an extremely affordable price. Easy access via self-drive or daily flights & shuttles from Johannesburg. Relax around a swimming pool & enjoy aroma-therapy massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohlabetsi Safari Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing