We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful lodge with an exceptional staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“A wonderful lodge with an exceptional staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I couldn't have asked for more. Such an excellent staff all around. The Rangers (Solly and Sam) and Trackers (Rogers and Lucky) were outstanding. I was paired with Solly for a total of eight game drives and his expertise of the land, animals, vegetation and detail was incredible. They really went above and beyond to create a warm environment and provide a safe but exhilarating experience. I can't think of one bad thing to say and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    35
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
122
195
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We hade the most wonderful time at magical Mohlabetsi and highly recommend it. The exiting safaris, the great meals by the fire, the guest friendly staff, nice pool and surroundings. It was a real retreat that we highly enjoyed! THANK YOU! Diana, Roger & Rune from Sweden

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The lodge is about 45 Minutes from Hoetspruit (Eastgate) Airport in the Balule Reserve. With the exception of the last few kilometers on an unpaved road inside the reserve it is fairly easy to reach.

We arrived to a warm welcome and a light (and delicous lunch) and started to tour the area in a open Land Rover with a Ranger and a Tracker. Both did absolutelly everything to ensure perfect encounters with the wildlife. Lions, Giraffes, Zebra, Hippo, Rhino - you name it - it´s there - up close and personal.

Since we came in the African Winter (consider this a tipp - less crowded, no Mosquitos) they even supplied warming bottles in bed! Much needed, since there is no heating in the otherwise very well appointed rooms.

Dinner is in a nice Boma around the fire under the stars. What an experience - and great food too... Breakfast is after the 1st game drive (6.30 - 9 in winter) and much needed to warm up...

We will definitelly go there again and are already looking forward!

Room Tip: The Family Rooms are large and very nicely appointed. None of the rooms has a TV or a Radio and we N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have just spent four incredible nights at magical Mohlabetsi and loved every second. The staff constantly go above and beyond to ensure everything is perfect. The small number of guests make it very personalised. The trackers are the best bar none and on the game drives they keep you with the same trackers so they know exactly what you have seen so far and then add to that. We saw the big five and were thrilled with the multiple big cat sightings.
The massage is highly recommended. Very reasonable prices and really helpful to work out the safari kinks in the neck from looking at so many amazing sights.
The food is delicious and dinner is super special after each game drive. Watching the spectacular sunsets as you sip your favourite drink adds to the experience.
The staff here really know their stuff and are always happy to answer any questions. They quickly learn your name and make you feel completely welcome.
Accommodation has lots of little personal touches such as a special welcome note or hot water bottles on a chilly night.
I will be returning for certain. I think the magical qualities of this place gets inside your very heart!
Thank you for making dreams come true!

Room Tip: Make sure you dress warm for evening game drives.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudyr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Recanati, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The place is magic and alla the staff, rangers, chefs, ecc. are very kind and they make you feel at home. It was a very nice experience to drive and try to find the big five and we saw lots of them... AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Giacomo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I spent three nights here on a long weekend as a side trip from a business trip to Joburg. Its very friendly, warm and welcoming. Food was great and very very plentiful, the rooms are cute and have everything you could want and the safari drives were amazingly awesome - saw all of the big 5. The days were relaxing and I really enjoyed my visit. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelbysSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altenkirchen, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We've been at Mohlabetsi Lodge for 3 nights in the end of may. The service was excellent, the room was comfortable and clean and we had a lot of memorable game drives. Breakfast was very good and we loved the different arrangements for dinner.


We'll come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andre_Bock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
12.4 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
15.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
6.1 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
20.2 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge

Property: Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
Address: PO Box 862, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the vast Balule Reserve, part of the Greater Kruger Park. Get close up to the Big 5 & other animals on vehicle safaris & walks. Luxurious accommodation in a small, privately owned camp, excellent meals & South African hospitality at an extremely affordable price. Easy access via self-drive or daily flights & shuttles from Johannesburg. Relax around a swimming pool & enjoy aroma-therapy massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohlabetsi Safari Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing