We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A new world”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

From the time we landed at the Hoedspruit Airport, we were treated like royalty. Tony, the general manager, met us personally, loaded our gear and we headed towards what was to become the most wondrous time of my life. When we turned off the main road and onto the dirt track, leading to the reserve, I looked around at the stark dusty dry surroundings and thought it was like being on the moon. How could anything live here? Oh was in for a surprise! We topped a small rise and came around some large thorn scrub and there were giraffe. I was so excited and breathless to finally see them as was intended...in the wild! Over the next 3 days we had fabulous game drives both in the mornings and evenings. the staff was so attentive to any and all needs. We had a sight impaired traveler with us and the staff offered all the assistance with helping her around the lodge area and with getting into and out of the game vehicles, thus allowing the others in our group of 6 to relax and enjoy the lodge and drives as well.
The rooms were spacious, clean, and the air conditioning worked well! All big pluses. The outdoor shower for each room was well walled and spacious. It was great to be able to jump in and cool off after a dust drive. The boma (place where we ate dinners) was very lovely and looked out over the plain towards a water hole. The food was extremely well done and there was always a treat for the end of each meal.
The guides and trackers were very knowledgeable and did a superb job in getting us out to see the game and have a care for our safety. The game was great and we saw the BIG 5 in the first 24 hrs we were there. It is a small safari lodge and can accommodate about 20 guests at a time. They are set up to provide wedding and honeymoon destination for small parties, or host the small travel groups with the utmost care professionalism. They are one of only two places I plan to return to when I head back to South Africa.

Room Tip: This is a safari lodge meant for travelers who want to escape from the daily life for a true adventu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    41
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
151
210
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stay,d at Mohlabetsi Lodge again in Feb this year, our 3rd time,and it's very good,the rooms are clean and well service,d,nice outside shower.meals are good and well varied, great swimming pool and a well stock,d shop,free wifi around the shop area.great game drives.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 725Bushtracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I couldn't have asked for more. Such an excellent staff all around. The Rangers (Solly and Sam) and Trackers (Rogers and Lucky) were outstanding. I was paired with Solly for a total of eight game drives and his expertise of the land, animals, vegetation and detail was incredible. They really went above and beyond to create a warm environment and provide a safe but exhilarating experience. I can't think of one bad thing to say and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We hade the most wonderful time at magical Mohlabetsi and highly recommend it. The exiting safaris, the great meals by the fire, the guest friendly staff, nice pool and surroundings. It was a real retreat that we highly enjoyed! THANK YOU! Diana, Roger & Rune from Sweden

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The lodge is about 45 Minutes from Hoetspruit (Eastgate) Airport in the Balule Reserve. With the exception of the last few kilometers on an unpaved road inside the reserve it is fairly easy to reach.

We arrived to a warm welcome and a light (and delicous lunch) and started to tour the area in a open Land Rover with a Ranger and a Tracker. Both did absolutelly everything to ensure perfect encounters with the wildlife. Lions, Giraffes, Zebra, Hippo, Rhino - you name it - it´s there - up close and personal.

Since we came in the African Winter (consider this a tipp - less crowded, no Mosquitos) they even supplied warming bottles in bed! Much needed, since there is no heating in the otherwise very well appointed rooms.

Dinner is in a nice Boma around the fire under the stars. What an experience - and great food too... Breakfast is after the 1st game drive (6.30 - 9 in winter) and much needed to warm up...

We will definitelly go there again and are already looking forward!

Room Tip: The Family Rooms are large and very nicely appointed. None of the rooms has a TV or a Radio and we N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have just spent four incredible nights at magical Mohlabetsi and loved every second. The staff constantly go above and beyond to ensure everything is perfect. The small number of guests make it very personalised. The trackers are the best bar none and on the game drives they keep you with the same trackers so they know exactly what you have seen so far and then add to that. We saw the big five and were thrilled with the multiple big cat sightings.
The massage is highly recommended. Very reasonable prices and really helpful to work out the safari kinks in the neck from looking at so many amazing sights.
The food is delicious and dinner is super special after each game drive. Watching the spectacular sunsets as you sip your favourite drink adds to the experience.
The staff here really know their stuff and are always happy to answer any questions. They quickly learn your name and make you feel completely welcome.
Accommodation has lots of little personal touches such as a special welcome note or hot water bottles on a chilly night.
I will be returning for certain. I think the magical qualities of this place gets inside your very heart!
Thank you for making dreams come true!

Room Tip: Make sure you dress warm for evening game drives.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudyr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Recanati, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The place is magic and alla the staff, rangers, chefs, ecc. are very kind and they make you feel at home. It was a very nice experience to drive and try to find the big five and we saw lots of them... AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Giacomo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
12.4 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,718 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
260 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#1 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,050 reviews
6.8 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#3 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
719 reviews
17.2 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge

Property: Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
Address: PO Box 862, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the vast Balule Reserve, part of the Greater Kruger Park. Get close up to the Big 5 & other animals on vehicle safaris & walks. Luxurious accommodation in a small, privately owned camp, excellent meals & South African hospitality at an extremely affordable price. Easy access via self-drive or daily flights & shuttles from Johannesburg. Relax around a swimming pool & enjoy aroma-therapy massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohlabetsi Safari Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing