We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A holiday of a lifetime”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
NOTTINGHAM
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A holiday of a lifetime”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My husband and I and our daughters and their partners spent 3 wonderful nights at Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge. Having already done a safari in Kruger 6 years ago we were worried this one wouldn't be as special, but we needn't have worried. It was an amazing, wonderful holiday with many memories which will stay with us for a long time. The place itself is very authentic, the staff are extremely friendly and very patient! Tony met us at the airport and was immediately very friendly and welcoming. The food was exceptional. The huts we stayed in were clean and very comfortable. Outside shower a must! Four of us had a fantastic massage, probably the best we'd ever had! But to our guide Sam - what can we say? His knowledge was incredible. His patience with us when we got very excited! His sense of humour and also sense of fun made us very at ease. We saw the big 5 on the first night which is an achievement in itself and Sam patiently "tracked" rhinos, lions and anything else he could find for us. We felt as if we were the only guests there sometimes. Attention to detail is fantastic. I can't really find words to describe what a very special trip we all had and would highly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELLISNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    38
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
127
204
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We, a family with three teenagers, enjoyed our 3 days stay in Aug 2014. The lodge setting is cozy and relaxed. Garden is green with big trees. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, with nice outside shower. Staffs are friendly and helpful. Food is healthy and tasty, with all three meals in different setting. Breakfast is very delicious after early morning game drive. Lunch under the big trees is most relaxing. Dinner under stars in Boma is very fun too. Animal is what you would expect, a bit more spread out then private game reserves, but we had more cheetah sighting then expected. Area is very natural with hills and river valley. However can be a bit bumpy.
If you have to be connected while on holiday, like my husband, there maybe a bit of a problem, since there is no phone in rooms, weak cell phone signal and weak wifi around reception area only. Overall, I think is good little 4 star retreat for couple to get away from it all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cindychiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed three nights during winter (July). Welcome reception and staff was always forthcoming and friendly. Lodge is neatly arranged into several rondavels and from the lawn with sunbeds you have great opportunities to sit back, relax, and watch passing animals (actually we were quite lucky to see an elephant and a giraffe at the water hole). In the morning and afternoon/evening we joined the safaris and enjoyed the friendly and knowledgeable local rangers guiding us. Beyond taking us to the games we were also shown nice sun set spots. Whether u see big 5 seems to be a matter of luck, fortunately, we had. Would definitely recommend staying here. Food was good but not extraordinary. However enjoyed the variety of breakfast and the braai for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schach12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed one night in big luxury. Food was very nice and staf very helpfull. There is a welcoming bar and a nice space in the open where you have dinner. You also get. to know the other guests which was helpfull for ou stay in South Africa. Gamedrives were interesting: just such a pity the animals didn't show up

Room Tip: Very nice if you want to get spoilt. Familyrooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaretha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our first time to a safari and this totally exceeded our expectations! We were well taken care of at the lodge and the food served was great. Good variety over lunch and dinner during our stay. Kat was very attentive to the guests and we had a great time with Sam and Lucky during the game drives. The owners, Tony and Alma, are very friendly and run the lodge very well. Will return if we ever head back to SA again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Neo_YL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

From the time we landed at the Hoedspruit Airport, we were treated like royalty. Tony, the general manager, met us personally, loaded our gear and we headed towards what was to become the most wondrous time of my life. When we turned off the main road and onto the dirt track, leading to the reserve, I looked around at the stark dusty dry surroundings and thought it was like being on the moon. How could anything live here? Oh was in for a surprise! We topped a small rise and came around some large thorn scrub and there were giraffe. I was so excited and breathless to finally see them as was intended...in the wild! Over the next 3 days we had fabulous game drives both in the mornings and evenings. the staff was so attentive to any and all needs. We had a sight impaired traveler with us and the staff offered all the assistance with helping her around the lodge area and with getting into and out of the game vehicles, thus allowing the others in our group of 6 to relax and enjoy the lodge and drives as well.
The rooms were spacious, clean, and the air conditioning worked well! All big pluses. The outdoor shower for each room was well walled and spacious. It was great to be able to jump in and cool off after a dust drive. The boma (place where we ate dinners) was very lovely and looked out over the plain towards a water hole. The food was extremely well done and there was always a treat for the end of each meal.
The guides and trackers were very knowledgeable and did a superb job in getting us out to see the game and have a care for our safety. The game was great and we saw the BIG 5 in the first 24 hrs we were there. It is a small safari lodge and can accommodate about 20 guests at a time. They are set up to provide wedding and honeymoon destination for small parties, or host the small travel groups with the utmost care professionalism. They are one of only two places I plan to return to when I head back to South Africa.

Room Tip: This is a safari lodge meant for travelers who want to escape from the daily life for a true adventu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stay,d at Mohlabetsi Lodge again in Feb this year, our 3rd time,and it's very good,the rooms are clean and well service,d,nice outside shower.meals are good and well varied, great swimming pool and a well stock,d shop,free wifi around the shop area.great game drives.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 725Bushtracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
12.4 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
15.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
8.3 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
15.9 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge

Property: Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
Address: PO Box 862, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the vast Balule Reserve, part of the Greater Kruger Park. Get close up to the Big 5 & other animals on vehicle safaris & walks. Luxurious accommodation in a small, privately owned camp, excellent meals & South African hospitality at an extremely affordable price. Easy access via self-drive or daily flights & shuttles from Johannesburg. Relax around a swimming pool & enjoy aroma-therapy massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohlabetsi Safari Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing