We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Our recent stay was nothing short of remarkable. From the moment we arrived until our sad departure after only 3 days, I have nothing but fond memories. The rondavels were immaculately kept and furnished beautifully. Our game rides (although bitterly cold until the sun warmed things) were spectacular. Our guide Lucky and trackers Hamilton and Lucky did their utmost to find game for us and on several occasions we were out much longer than the expected 3 hours, hunting for more for us to see. Their knowledge of the bush and animal behaviours was truly amazing. Our hosts were absolutely charming, and the meals were superb.

We had the excellent fortune of watching amazing elephant behavious, some that even Lucky hadn't seen - his shrieks of laughter as the young bucks challenged a hippo made me realize we were seeing something unique. And his deft driving when we got charged by an angry matriarch helped us realize that one truly must respect nature at all times.

I hope to return when I am next in South Africa.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverAmazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2009

Made to feel very welcome and part of the extended family from everyone involved. Game drives were very exciting, to be up so close and personal with these wild animals was nothing short of amazing. Rangers and trackers made if very interesting and entertaining for us, they were so very knowledgeable. The food was really really excellent, lots of it and served with smiles and good humuor. Sitting on the lawn having lunch and seeing Giraffes pass by was a sight to behold, not to mention warthogs playing on the path outside our bedroom. Liked it so much we stayed an extra night.. Would recommend this to all for a really unique experience.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

This was our first trip to the Kruger - and we can't wait to go back again. It was stunning! Mohlabetsi was amazing - and I am convinced that this is the only way to do this kind of holiday. The ranger and tracker who took us out every day were knowledgable, friendly and enthusiastic. They made sure we saw all the animals up close and personal without interferring with them. We were even lucky enough to see a leopard. In fact, we saw all of the big 5, along with loads of other creatures both big and small.
The relaxed and personal attention made for total unwind and maximum enjoyment.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights on our first ever safari and we were extremely happy with our choice. Magic to be in the wild like this and see animals up close, we saw "everything" except Leopard. Great service and food. At the evening meals we ate outside at a fireplace inside a pallisad which was very nice. Giraffes and wilderbeest walking by just outside the lodges and lions roaring throughout the night. The rangers were very good and the tracking of a rhino with a calf was very exciting! We cant wait for our next safari.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TormoAlfta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

This is small, intimate lodge. Its comfortable. The food was good. We saw a lot of lions - plus elephants, water buffalo & rhino. Sadly no leopard, but never mind! The safari drives are in open land rovers. The rangers are very good a finding lions, which we found 3 days in a row.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

All I can say is, after a few days at Mohlabetsi, you go home with memories that you will never forget.

All the Big 5, fantastic lion and leopard sightings, and a great buffalo kill... what more could I have wanted?

Great hospitality and great food. The information from the rangers and their trackers was fantastic.

Forget the over-priced lodges, where you will just be another customer, rather go to somewhere where you feel welcomed, and go away with lifetime memories for a fraction of the price...

Thanks and kind regards to all at Mohlabetsi...

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob_of_the_bushveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

Best part of a great holiday... This safari lodge has the rare combination of a wonderful spot on earth and people who give it a good soul and make every aspect of the stay memorable. And the tracking of the Cheetah was first class... Amazing moments!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
12.4 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,869 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
294 reviews
15.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Naledi
Naledi
#3 of 22 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,095 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 22 in Balule Nature Reserve
711 reviews
15.9 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge

Address: | Balule Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: £358 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the vast Balule Reserve, part of the Greater Kruger Park. Get close up to the Big 5 & other animals on vehicle safaris & walks. Luxurious accommodation in a small, privately owned camp, excellent meals & South African hospitality at an extremely affordable price. Easy access via self-drive or daily flights & shuttles from Johannesburg. Relax around a swimming pool or under shady acacia trees.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohlabetsi Safari Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing