We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable wildlife experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenfire Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A memorable wildlife experience”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We enjoyed every moment of our time at Drifters, from the early morning game drives with Gavin, the delicious meals, cooling off in the pool, the evening game drives with sunset drinks, and returning to another great meal prepared by Bell. Gavin was very knowledgeable and eager to show us as many animals as possible on each drive. We had a very 'close encounter' with a large bull elephant but had complete trust in Gavin! We also assisted him to dig the vehicle out of the mud on the flood-damaged tracks ... all part of the adventure!

Room Tip: The safari tents are on different levels, so if you don't want to have to walk up too many steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
45
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Words cannot express the awesome experience we had at Drifters Game Lodge Balule. Our awesome experience began with meeting Gaving the Lodge Manager who met us at the airport and safely transported us to the lodge via the very bumpy road -thank you Gavin. We were then met by Bel who extended a very warm welcome to us and informed us of the finer details of the lodge. Bel has organised a fantastic menu and she should be congratulated along with James and Victor for beautiful, tasty meals. You most certainly do not go hungry at Drifters with the fresh home made menu. A special mention for James' sorbet - it's absolutely to die for. Don't be fooled by the thought of a tent - it is not like what you stay in for a long weekend. The tent has power, carpeted floors, brick enclosed ensuite with an open air shower (beautiful experience showering in the open) and if you stay in the "dry" season you will be delighted to know after your evening meal your bed is warm and toasty as the electric blanket has been turned on. We would go out twice a day with our wonderful guide Fraser. He is so very knowledge and passionate about his job it was an absolute joy waking up sooooooooo early to spend the day with him. Fraser would have blankets for the chilly drive and you can sit in the front and enjoy the heater as well. Fraser would stop in the morning for you to enjoy a hot cup of tea or coffee and at sunset Fraser would find the perfect location to enjoy the sun setting with a drink and nibbles made by Bel. The game drives by far are the best and are made more so by Fraser's good humour and knowledge. Thank you Fraser for an awesome time.
My only regret with Drifters is we didn't stay long enough. We enjoed our time so much we changed our travel plans and returned to the wonderful staff of Drifters.
Thank you everyone for a magical time. Look forward to seeing you real soon.

Room Tip: Any tent is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pillowtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This was our first safari experience and our two night stay here at Drifters set the scene for the rest of our wonderful holiday. The lodge - it is an oasis in the bush with comfortable safari tents including an open air shower which was fantastic! a great lounge room to relax in, a veranda overlooking the river, and a swimming pool and deck area to cool off in. The routine begins with an early morning safari drive after a quick breakfast, then three hours spotting a range of wildlife including for us buffalo, impala (of course!), wildebeest, warthogs, giraffe, zebra and jackals before heading back for a full breakfast made to order. We were always ravenous and enjoyed bacon, eggs, sausages as well as cereals, fruit and yoghurt. Then it is time to relax for a few hours at leisure, before a light snack and then head out on the afternoon/evening safari, enjoying a few drinks in the sunset, and then doing some night spotting all with the guidance of incredibly knowledgeable and passionate guides Gavin, Fraser and Isaac. Then back for a wonderful 3 or 4 course meal prepared by Bel, a few glasses of South African wine and then a great nights sleep in the safari tents. Tip: wear warm clothes on the safaris and be prepared to ride some rough roads! Thanks all for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanmaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We have just stayed at Drifters Balule Game Reserve. The staff were wonderful especially our guide Iszac. The only complaint we had a fellower diner as well was that we weren't offered tea or coffee on the completion of our dinner, nor was there a jug of water on the table at any time. This is usually the norm at any dining table whether it be at simple cafe or a up market resturant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zillmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I had 9 special nights at this amazing place, I so recommend the Kruger Park trip and Blythe Canyon trip too, both great value. The morning and evening drives in the reserve were great adventures, brilliant 4wd, and abundant array of wild life, from the soldier ants to the elephants. It was so humbling to be amongst people so passionate about what they do, they live their dream, and happily pass on their knowledge to those prepared to listen, coz its more than "the Big 5" its witnessing Nature working intricately - seeing all these beautiful animals, insects and plants in their natural environ is inspiring. Thankyou everyone, I felt so at home. oh yeah and the accom and food are brillant. I am a rusk addict!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We had five terrific nights in the Balule Game Reserve, hosted by an absolutely exceptional guide and manager, Gavin Adcock, and his delightful wife, Bel.Not only was the accommodation comfortable and welcoming, but each day was a real adventure. We loved the rhythm of our days...the dawn starts, the intriguing up close animal viewings morning and night, and the lovely meals to finish each day perfectly.Gavin's knowledge of animals and birds is encyclopaedic, outstanding and brought Africa to life for us both. His eagle eyes found the tiniest birds nestled in branches, snake tracks, exotic creatures hiding in the dark, slinking lions at waterholes - a first time revelation for our 60 year old eyes! Gavin's professionalsim and energy were amazing, day after day, dawn to dusk. Thanks Gavin and Bel...and James. We had an unexpected ball!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandghubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2011

It was a great place to stay! I was only able to stay 2 nights. The food, staff and room were wow. The game drive was spectacular. We were able to see all of the big 5, including a leopard on a night drive. I would love and hope to go back!!

Room Tip: I was in cabin #2 with a view of the water hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnix66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
17.7 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
399 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
260 reviews
14.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#1 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,050 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
654 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#3 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenfire Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenfire Game Lodge

Property: Greenfire Game Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa (Formerly Drifters Game Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenfire Game Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenfire Game Lodge is situated in the Greater Kruger National Park and is the ideal venue for anyone wanting an intimate and exclusive experience in this world-famous African wildlife paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Greenfire Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drifters Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Greenfire Game Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing