We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Greenfire Game Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$788
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$991
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garonga Safari Camp(Makalali Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$1,220
US$950
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$2,380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
84
11
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
11
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame lodgeamazing placewonderful experiencesmall poolexpectations were exceededthank you so muchgreater krugertwo nightsthe riversense of humourkruger national parksafari guidehigh expectationsfood was fantastichis knowledgethe reservea special place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We just came back from our awesome trip to Southafrica. Our highlight was definately the Drifters Game Lodge. Gavin and Belle are the lodge managers and they are doing such a great job to make yourself feel perfectly comfortable!
After Gavin has picked us up from the tiny airport, he drove us to the lodge, passing already a zebra and a few Impalas on our way. Belle welcomed us with a yummy juice and showed us around. Our tent was really nice...don't misunderstand the word "tent". It's basically a fixed tent with a bathroom made of bricks. The bathroom has an outdoor shower, but don't worry - nobody can see you :)
The safaris are great and we saw many many animals. Isaak is a great ranger and a wonderfull explainer. He can telll you everything about every singe animal, tree or bush out there - with a good sense of humor.
And the food: A delicious breakfast (you can choose whatever you want for a hot breakfast such as eggs, bacon, sausage, tomato...) with fresh fruits, yoghurt, juice.
During the day they serve "tea", coming along with e.g. a cake and also something warm & hearty such as noodles or casserole.
For dinner are delicate, very creative 4 courses - cooked and presented by Belle. You wil gain a few pounds for sure!
Because we were there during wintertime, the nights were getting a little bit chilly. The nicest part is, that when you are coming back from your dinner, electric blankets are turned on in your bed, inviting you to snug into it immediately.
We also did a daytrip to Krüger National Park and it was worth getting up really early. You see even more animals and it s a beautifull place to go.
Overall we had a wonderfull stay - the only regret was that we did not booked a longer stay (we have booked 5 nights there).
It was such a great stay and we can highly recommend this lodge!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We enjoyed every moment of our time at Drifters, from the early morning game drives with Gavin, the delicious meals, cooling off in the pool, the evening game drives with sunset drinks, and returning to another great meal prepared by Bell. Gavin was very knowledgeable and eager to show us as many animals as possible on each drive. We had a very 'close encounter' with a large bull elephant but had complete trust in Gavin! We also assisted him to dig the vehicle out of the mud on the flood-damaged tracks ... all part of the adventure!

Room Tip: The safari tents are on different levels, so if you don't want to have to walk up too many steps request a tent closer to the main building. But if you don't mind a bit of a walk, request a tent overlooking the river, great views.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Words cannot express the awesome experience we had at Drifters Game Lodge Balule. Our awesome experience began with meeting Gaving the Lodge Manager who met us at the airport and safely transported us to the lodge via the very bumpy road -thank you Gavin. We were then met by Bel who extended a very warm welcome to us and informed us of the finer details of the lodge. Bel has organised a fantastic menu and she should be congratulated along with James and Victor for beautiful, tasty meals. You most certainly do not go hungry at Drifters with the fresh home made menu. A special mention for James' sorbet - it's absolutely to die for. Don't be fooled by the thought of a tent - it is not like what you stay in for a long weekend. The tent has power, carpeted floors, brick enclosed ensuite with an open air shower (beautiful experience showering in the open) and if you stay in the "dry" season you will be delighted to know after your evening meal your bed is warm and toasty as the electric blanket has been turned on. We would go out twice a day with our wonderful guide Fraser. He is so very knowledge and passionate about his job it was an absolute joy waking up sooooooooo early to spend the day with him. Fraser would have blankets for the chilly drive and you can sit in the front and enjoy the heater as well. Fraser would stop in the morning for you to enjoy a hot cup of tea or coffee and at sunset Fraser would find the perfect location to enjoy the sun setting with a drink and nibbles made by Bel. The game drives by far are the best and are made more so by Fraser's good humour and knowledge. Thank you Fraser for an awesome time.
My only regret with Drifters is we didn't stay long enough. We enjoed our time so much we changed our travel plans and returned to the wonderful staff of Drifters.
Thank you everyone for a magical time. Look forward to seeing you real soon.

Room Tip: Any tent is fantastic.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pillowtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This was our first safari experience and our two night stay here at Drifters set the scene for the rest of our wonderful holiday. The lodge - it is an oasis in the bush with comfortable safari tents including an open air shower which was fantastic! a great lounge room to relax in, a veranda overlooking the river, and a swimming pool and deck area to cool off in. The routine begins with an early morning safari drive after a quick breakfast, then three hours spotting a range of wildlife including for us buffalo, impala (of course!), wildebeest, warthogs, giraffe, zebra and jackals before heading back for a full breakfast made to order. We were always ravenous and enjoyed bacon, eggs, sausages as well as cereals, fruit and yoghurt. Then it is time to relax for a few hours at leisure, before a light snack and then head out on the afternoon/evening safari, enjoying a few drinks in the sunset, and then doing some night spotting all with the guidance of incredibly knowledgeable and passionate guides Gavin, Fraser and Isaac. Then back for a wonderful 3 or 4 course meal prepared by Bel, a few glasses of South African wine and then a great nights sleep in the safari tents. Tip: wear warm clothes on the safaris and be prepared to ride some rough roads! Thanks all for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanmaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We have just stayed at Drifters Balule Game Reserve. The staff were wonderful especially our guide Iszac. The only complaint we had a fellower diner as well was that we weren't offered tea or coffee on the completion of our dinner, nor was there a jug of water on the table at any time. This is usually the norm at any dining table whether it be at simple cafe or a up market resturant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zillmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews