We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenfire Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We had a wonderful time at Drifters Game Lodge in Oct 2012. The passion of the staff, especially Gavin & Isaac, for what they do, and their and knowledge of the bush and wildlife was inspiring. Also, their abilities to find the Big Five were excellent. We saw game from the first drive in to the Lodge to the last drive out. The setting was beautiful, the meals were delicious, and the wine cellar top class and reasonably priced. Our stay, which included day trips to Kruger and Blyde Canyon, exceeded my expectations and I will recommend Drifters Game Lodge to anyone thinking of doing a safari in your area. The Lodge is very remote, but the attention to detail of the staff made sure that you didn't miss anything essential. And it was good to be out of cellphone range for a few days!!

Room Tip: All the rooms got the morning sun and overlooked the river bed which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvrilL17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012

Drifters Lodge & especially the staff there completely exceeded my expectations. So much attention to detail, a great guide in Isaac who always found lots of animals on the game drives, very comfortable accommodation and amazing food, the more remarkable because it really is in the middle of nowhere, - no internet and rarely cell phone coverage.
I don't think there was a question about the birds or animals that Gavin the lodge manager couldn't answer. We went on both the Kruger & Blyde Canyon excursions, - very long days but sooo worth it. The people here work long hours but always seem happy.
Our package was all inclusive except for the drinks which are reasonably priced.
Would go back tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My husband and I recently spent 6 nights in Drifters game lodge where we were thoroughly spoilt . Loved every minute of our time there. Our accommodation was in a tent (with toilet facilities) situated overlooking a riverbed where a variety of animals came to drink and wander around at any time of the day and night . Gavin , the manager, his wife Bel and all the staff made our stay unforgettable with great service , fantastic food , fun sense of humour and entertaining yarns. Nothing was ever too much trouble . We loved the fact that they all had so much enthusiasm and passion for the animals and where they live. We were made to feel special by all the staff and by the end of our stay felt like we were one of the family. We went on game drives morning and afternoon and saw 4 of the big five. The leopard eluded us yet again. There were plenty of animals and were also taken into Kruger for a day. Another day was spent visiting Blyde river canyon which was quite spectacular.
We would go back to Drifters anytime.

Room Tip: The huts overlooking the river are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We just came back from our awesome trip to Southafrica. Our highlight was definately the Drifters Game Lodge. Gavin and Belle are the lodge managers and they are doing such a great job to make yourself feel perfectly comfortable!
After Gavin has picked us up from the tiny airport, he drove us to the lodge, passing already a zebra and a few Impalas on our way. Belle welcomed us with a yummy juice and showed us around. Our tent was really nice...don't misunderstand the word "tent". It's basically a fixed tent with a bathroom made of bricks. The bathroom has an outdoor shower, but don't worry - nobody can see you :)
The safaris are great and we saw many many animals. Isaak is a great ranger and a wonderfull explainer. He can telll you everything about every singe animal, tree or bush out there - with a good sense of humor.
And the food: A delicious breakfast (you can choose whatever you want for a hot breakfast such as eggs, bacon, sausage, tomato...) with fresh fruits, yoghurt, juice.
During the day they serve "tea", coming along with e.g. a cake and also something warm & hearty such as noodles or casserole.
For dinner are delicate, very creative 4 courses - cooked and presented by Belle. You wil gain a few pounds for sure!
Because we were there during wintertime, the nights were getting a little bit chilly. The nicest part is, that when you are coming back from your dinner, electric blankets are turned on in your bed, inviting you to snug into it immediately.
We also did a daytrip to Krüger National Park and it was worth getting up really early. You see even more animals and it s a beautifull place to go.
Overall we had a wonderfull stay - the only regret was that we did not booked a longer stay (we have booked 5 nights there).
It was such a great stay and we can highly recommend this lodge!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We enjoyed every moment of our time at Drifters, from the early morning game drives with Gavin, the delicious meals, cooling off in the pool, the evening game drives with sunset drinks, and returning to another great meal prepared by Bell. Gavin was very knowledgeable and eager to show us as many animals as possible on each drive. We had a very 'close encounter' with a large bull elephant but had complete trust in Gavin! We also assisted him to dig the vehicle out of the mud on the flood-damaged tracks ... all part of the adventure!

Room Tip: The safari tents are on different levels, so if you don't want to have to walk up too many steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Words cannot express the awesome experience we had at Drifters Game Lodge Balule. Our awesome experience began with meeting Gaving the Lodge Manager who met us at the airport and safely transported us to the lodge via the very bumpy road -thank you Gavin. We were then met by Bel who extended a very warm welcome to us and informed us of the finer details of the lodge. Bel has organised a fantastic menu and she should be congratulated along with James and Victor for beautiful, tasty meals. You most certainly do not go hungry at Drifters with the fresh home made menu. A special mention for James' sorbet - it's absolutely to die for. Don't be fooled by the thought of a tent - it is not like what you stay in for a long weekend. The tent has power, carpeted floors, brick enclosed ensuite with an open air shower (beautiful experience showering in the open) and if you stay in the "dry" season you will be delighted to know after your evening meal your bed is warm and toasty as the electric blanket has been turned on. We would go out twice a day with our wonderful guide Fraser. He is so very knowledge and passionate about his job it was an absolute joy waking up sooooooooo early to spend the day with him. Fraser would have blankets for the chilly drive and you can sit in the front and enjoy the heater as well. Fraser would stop in the morning for you to enjoy a hot cup of tea or coffee and at sunset Fraser would find the perfect location to enjoy the sun setting with a drink and nibbles made by Bel. The game drives by far are the best and are made more so by Fraser's good humour and knowledge. Thank you Fraser for an awesome time.
My only regret with Drifters is we didn't stay long enough. We enjoed our time so much we changed our travel plans and returned to the wonderful staff of Drifters.
Thank you everyone for a magical time. Look forward to seeing you real soon.

Room Tip: Any tent is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pillowtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This was our first safari experience and our two night stay here at Drifters set the scene for the rest of our wonderful holiday. The lodge - it is an oasis in the bush with comfortable safari tents including an open air shower which was fantastic! a great lounge room to relax in, a veranda overlooking the river, and a swimming pool and deck area to cool off in. The routine begins with an early morning safari drive after a quick breakfast, then three hours spotting a range of wildlife including for us buffalo, impala (of course!), wildebeest, warthogs, giraffe, zebra and jackals before heading back for a full breakfast made to order. We were always ravenous and enjoyed bacon, eggs, sausages as well as cereals, fruit and yoghurt. Then it is time to relax for a few hours at leisure, before a light snack and then head out on the afternoon/evening safari, enjoying a few drinks in the sunset, and then doing some night spotting all with the guidance of incredibly knowledgeable and passionate guides Gavin, Fraser and Isaac. Then back for a wonderful 3 or 4 course meal prepared by Bel, a few glasses of South African wine and then a great nights sleep in the safari tents. Tip: wear warm clothes on the safaris and be prepared to ride some rough roads! Thanks all for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanmaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
5.4 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
287 reviews
14.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,832 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#3 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,089 reviews
14.1 mi away
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Elandela Private Game Reserve
#62 of 176 in Kruger National Park
380 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ku Sungula Safari Lodge
Ku Sungula Safari Lodge
#11 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenfire Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenfire Game Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa (Formerly Drifters Game Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: £306 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenfire Game Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenfire Game Lodge is situated in the Greater Kruger National Park and is the ideal venue for anyone wanting an intimate and exclusive experience in this world-famous African wildlife paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Greenfire Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drifters Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Greenfire Game Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing