We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Kapama Karula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kapama Karula
Certificate of Excellence
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Perfection , care , value guest and make details count ! I do recommend and wish to come back as soon as possible! We stayed in Suite 6 , which is just close (but not too close) from the pool and dining room. Our stay was delightful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    22
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
272
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed one night at Kapama Southern Camp and one night at Karula due to availability. Although it might seem stressfull to move after one night it wasn't. The drive wa sjust 15 minutes and everything was taken care of. But if you can choose, go for Karula! This was ultimate luxury! Diner was perfect and served out at the table. No buffet, and a really nice a la carte menu. The superior suite was outstanding. We had lunch at the suite and this is certainly something we would advice! This way we could enjoy the suite the most and the suite is absolutely perfect, if it wasn't for the game drives I wouldn's want to leave!

The game drives are good! They make all the efforts they can to show you the wildlife. And that is really impressive!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelle1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Excellent quality accommodation and great safari drives.

But - food is only ok - I am a bit fussy, but I didn't think it was brilliant.

We stayed 3 nights and so did 5 safari drives - my advice to others (especially first timers like us) is 2 nights and 3 drives would have been enough. It would have left us on a high wanting more, as opposed to feeling a bit like we'd had our fill...

That is not a reflection on Kapama Karula it's just me view about the safari experience.

Loved the place and the guides and staff.

Room Tip: We were in suite 9 and watched baboons from our deck - amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 148MandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We spent three nights at Kapama and where very impressed with this camp.
Two couples had the luxury tents and we had a suite. We have stayed at some wonderful places but feel Kapama suites ranked with some of the five star resorts we have stayed at.
The staff is friendly and accommodating. Our rooms where cleaned on time and stocked with all the comforts.
Food and drinks where excellent - if anything to gourmet for a game lodge. Some meals took a little long to complete servings. There was always more than enough with the servings. All the dinner locations changed each evening and where well done and presented nicely.
I can write about the safaris and tell you all the game we saw, but nature can change this from time to time. We did see four out of the big five missing the leopards. Our guide Moses and trekker Roy did a great job. One morning we tracked three lions for almost an hour while they where hunting.
We did the elephant safari and recommend that if you have the time. You still can do a short morning game drive afterwards.

The Kampa lodge owners and staff run a first class camp !

Room Tip: The view out the suites over the river and savannah are a treat. Kapma is fenced for protection arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ral425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Best lodge ever.
Like a glass house, with clear furniture, all white shades, very beautiful, clean, sophisticate, chic.
Although you dont see many animals and the all inclusive package it is not included alcohool neither a "excellent" chef cuisine, you will be satisfied with the hospitality, spa, and the lodge itself.

Room Tip: Lodge 5, the one i´ve stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVFV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The Karula team were absolutely top notch professional, friendly and genuinely hospitable. The accommodation was excellent and the safari drives were of a high standard. We saw lots of wildlife, unfortunately we only saw 4 of the big 5, but the guides tried so hard on the last drives to complete the set for us, the effort was appreciated and they really couldn't of done anything more. The guides displayed a depth of knowledge and interest in their environment. Service was excellent in all aspects of the stay, including the day spa which we also got a chance to try in between safaris. Food was good, although menu didn't vary during our stay. Having said that, with stays normally 2-3 days, it's not an issue.
Highly Recommended way to see the big 5!

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aus_traveller_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hudson, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Where do I begin! My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Kapama Karula and cannot say enough good about the location. First, I'll start with the location itself. The grounds of Kapama are literally right across the street from the Hoedspruit Airport so within 5 minutes of leaving the airport, our safari began. We came within 10ft of a giraffe and many other animals moments after we entered the park- You really get your monies worth! Everything from the second you arrive to Karula is top notch. Their attention to detail and the way in which the place is laid out and decorated is perfection. We stayed in the Superior Suite and is completely worth the extra few dollars vs. the Luxury Tent. Not only is the room breathtakingly beautiful and large, they also face the river/watering holes which the tents do not so the view is by far superior in comparison. Our guides Roy and Moses were outstandingly talented and truly cared about the quality of our experience. We saw the "Big 5" within 3 game drives and was more than we could have ever asked for or expected. While waiting for our plane out of Hoedspruit, I spoke to a woman that stayed at 2 other resorts in Kruger for 3 nights each and she said they did not see all of the Big 5 which I was surprised by. Of course, we could have gotten very lucky and they are wild animals, however I found the amount of animals in the reserve along with the strength of our spotters to have really provided us a superior experience all around. If you do not like crowds of people and enjoy a more intimate setting, Kapama is definitely the right choice. There are only 12 rooms on the grounds so you almost feel as though you are the only ones there which we truly enjoyed. You will absolutely not regret staying here and feel free to reach out to me with questions if you are planning an upcoming trip to South Africa and are not 100% sure about Kapama Karula.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.4 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
5.1 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
11.9 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama Karula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama Karula

Property: Kapama Karula
Address: R40 | Hoedspruit, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama Karula 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the perennial Klaserie River is one of Kapama's most secluded and prestigious safari camps named Karula. Karula means "place of peace" in the native tongue, and soon after your arrival you will know exactly why this name is just so perfect for this magnificent luxury safari camp. Peace is but one of the many emotions that will encompass your soul as you look at the serene waterway meandering gently past your doorstep and the age old saying "water is life" will begin to have a whole new meaning for you. The open plan lounge and bar area, with floor to ceiling glass doors illustrates the perfect balance with elegant light colors. This modern building with its whitewashed wooden structure, skylights and open air bar, creates a cozy feel to the lounge and makes it a day time favorite to enjoy a drink or just sit back and enjoy the sights Karula has to offer. The contemporary yet African feel to the camp will satisfy and exceed the expectations of even the most discerning connoisseurs. The outside wooden deck overlooking the Klaserie river gives you the opportunity to enjoy the tranquil atmosphere and magnificent vistas the camp has to offer. Karula Library & Media Room boasts some of the best audio visual equipment but doubles as a library where you can read a good book in a breathtaking environment, or just take in nature's views through the massive sliding windows. Keep in touch with family and loved ones at one of the two dedicated guest internet stations with WiFi on tap and free of charge. A private, romantic fireplace dinner can also be arranged with the camp personnel, and in a modern romantic setting like this, the answer can only be "Yes". Kapama Karula has twelve superior suites, each exquisitely decorated and with generous private space. Two of the superior suites are purpose-built for families. Each suite also has a private outside deck and a large swimming pool, which is heated in the chillier months for year-round swimming. The luxury Karula spa offers a range of health and beauty treatments in four deluxe treatment rooms. For a body workout, the fitness centre is equipped with state-of-the-art cardio and weight-lifting equipment, or you can run or walk on the treadmill or cycle on the Wattbike. After working up a sweat, visit the steam room, or relax in the pool. You can also browse through the curio shop for those special gifts to take home. Then head out on an exciting game drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kapama Karula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama Karula Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama Karula Kapama Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing