We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing if not the best”
Review of Kapama Karula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kapama Karula
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a very good experience here. We were two families with several kids and the place was just amazing. The feeling of being in africa at her Best. The Hotel also provided a "safari" and it was amazing see the animals in the wild.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renatocosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

Put it on your must do list. I thought I would be bored but the game drives take care of that. The driver we had was fabulous. This was one of the best experiences. The service was very good, there is nothing not to like.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We are about to leave Kapama Karula after a 2 nights stay at one of the family suites. If it is within your reach then do not hesitate as it will bring you and your family great joy! The restaurant had 2 nights of surprise dinners for us with fantastisc food. The risotto and due of porc earning the place a michelin star as far as we were concerned. The game drives were fantastic and we only missed out on the leopard. Our private pool was heated and therefore still great even though we arrived in the month of may. Service was great and you will be in great hands.......The wifi is quick and works very well. We hope you all will enjoy it like we did!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1 at the end but all rooms are very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hansNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My family and I couldn't have asked for a better place. Coming off a three day whirl wind tour of Cape Town, Karula was just what we needed. They do a early morning and late afternoon game drive, which gives you from 10:00-4:00 to relax and enjoy the beautiful property or your own amazing suite. The service was excellent. Andreis, the lodge manager, was great. The thing I liked most is that you are paired with the same game ranger & tracker for all of your safaris and you have the same waiter throughout your stay for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It gives you time to build a relationship with them, which is what we value most in traveling. It's always the people we remember. Many thanks to Julius and Excellent for taking us into the bush and getting us so close to the animals. Thanks to Solomon, our waiter. The food presentation and taste were out of this world.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supacoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I can't think of one thing that was not perfect about our stay at Kapama Karula.
We were two, for 3 days, in may. The weather was super cold in the morning and at night and very nice during the day. The lodge was almost empty we were the only one in the car.
The rooms are perfect (luxury tent). Incredibly well decorated, bathroom are beautiful.
The restaurant is really nice, the food is delicious. The bar is perfect. We kept eating all the time : during the safari, before the safari, after the safari... all the time delicious perfect food.
The surroundings are the most beautiful you can dream of, the staff is very nice and caring. I keep looking at the pictures and they are magical. I wish I could go back, I even wanted to get married there!

Room Tip: Luxury tents are very veyr beautiful. The other options are more expensive and they are incredible a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QueshuaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Karula as a beautiful lodge - the room's decor is very modern which was a bit of a surprise but a pleasant one - The outside veranda overlooks the river, monkeys playfully bounded about (but make sure doors are locked and leave nothing of value outside or unattended) and the room was spacious and contemporary.
The staff is very attentive. Our Ranger Julius and the tracker were very professional and delivered on every drive. We say our first male adult Lion on this reserve. Sharin was very helpful making alternative arrangements for us on our next stop in Cape Town.
The food is above average - not spectacular but extremely good. I get the feeling the chef was more interested in inventive construction and presentation than nuance and subtle tastes but it sit the surroundings.
The only suggestion - get better wifi coverage. After safari, I wanted to organize, posts and send pictures and it was dicey due to the relatively poor bandwidth. While not a huge problem, it was a bit aggravating at times. However, all in all, a great lodge, wonderful views, interesting cosmopolitan guests, excellent game drive experiences.

Room Tip: We had a superior room - lovely. Great location and veranda view - Suite #3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Private game reserve experience but tailored to super luxuriousness. Staff will do anything and everything for you. Had a few mutual friends with Trevor our guide, who has a FGASA level 3 and is very qualified in the bush world. No tagged animals in the reserve.

Room Tip: Go for suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.4 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,869 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
424 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
293 reviews
5.4 mi away
Royal Malewane
Royal Malewane
#27 of 178 in Kruger National Park
263 reviews
5.1 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama Karula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama Karula

Address: R40 | Hoedspruit, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range: £1,670 - £2,540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama Karula 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the perennial Klaserie River is one of Kapama's most secluded and prestigious safari camps named Karula. Karula means "place of peace" in the native tongue, and soon after your arrival you will know exactly why this name is just so perfect for this magnificent luxury safari camp. Peace is but one of the many emotions that will encompass your soul as you look at the serene waterway meandering gently past your doorstep and the age old saying "water is life" will begin to have a whole new meaning for you. The open plan lounge and bar area, with floor to ceiling glass doors illustrates the perfect balance with elegant light colors. This modern building with its whitewashed wooden structure, skylights and open air bar, creates a cozy feel to the lounge and makes it a day time favorite to enjoy a drink or just sit back and enjoy the sights Karula has to offer. The contemporary yet African feel to the camp will satisfy and exceed the expectations of even the most discerning connoisseurs. The outside wooden deck overlooking the Klaserie river gives you the opportunity to enjoy the tranquil atmosphere and magnificent vistas the camp has to offer. Karula Library & Media Room boasts some of the best audio visual equipment but doubles as a library where you can read a good book in a breathtaking environment, or just take in nature's views through the massive sliding windows. Keep in touch with family and loved ones at one of the two dedicated guest internet stations with WiFi on tap and free of charge. A private, romantic fireplace dinner can also be arranged with the camp personnel, and in a modern romantic setting like this, the answer can only be "Yes". Kapama Karula has twelve superior suites, each exquisitely decorated and with generous private space. Two of the superior suites are purpose-built for families. Each suite also has a private outside deck and a large swimming pool, which is heated in the chillier months for year-round swimming. The luxury Karula spa offers a range of health and beauty treatments in four deluxe treatment rooms. For a body workout, the fitness centre is equipped with state-of-the-art cardio and weight-lifting equipment, or you can run or walk on the treadmill or cycle on the Wattbike. After working up a sweat, visit the steam room, or relax in the pool. You can also browse through the curio shop for those special gifts to take home. Then head out on an exciting game drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Kapama Karula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama Karula Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama Karula Kapama Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing