We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kapama River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$1,054
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$974
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$2,322
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$46
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
StayEasy Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,958)
Filter reviews
1,958 results
Traveller rating
1,645
255
43
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,645
255
43
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa suitegame drivessafari experiencethe reserveriver lodgesouth africabuffet stylewonderful experiencekruger parkoff roadhoedspruit airportwild animalswellness centrelunch and dinnerper dayelusive leopardour waiter
Filter
Updating list...
838 - 843 of 1,958 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2012

In short, this is a five star lodge that misses some things in order to merit a fifth star:
- The food is good, but not excellent, and buffee dinner was interesting but I expect more from a top class lodge.
- a few more complimentary things, perhaps fruit or drinks at some point.
- more comfortable chairs by pool.

Some details are not perfect but I want to underline that the overall experience was very good. Some things that shine especially:

- Well planned days with both relaxation and good safaris
- good rangers (Nelson!) and a nice environment
- a beautiful lodge
- great breakfast and lunch
- comfortable rooms

We had a great time and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jester99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My wife and I spent four nights at Kapama and came to the conclusion that 4 star might be the correct rating. Usual 5 start touches were missing like bath robes, complimentary fruit basket etc. Room safe not fixed to anything so thief just has to lift the whole thing from the wardrobe and walk away. Main pool area has the most uncomfortable loungers ever encountered (hard wood with no cushions). Spa pool loungers were better but in short supply.

Food quality was not what I would expect in a 5 start establishment. Buffet was the only option. Tendency to overcook dishes especially in the evening..

The game drives were excellent with a very knowledgeable guide called Freedom and his tracker assitant called Lot. They found us everything except the elusive leopard. We loved the fact that Freedom joined us for dinner every evening to give us a chance to ask questions about that days drives and learn a lot more about the animals and their habitat

We expected Kapama to be the highlight of our safari trip but it wasn't, despite being the most expensive. Good but not 5 star.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miles7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Very nice place. Rooms are great. Love the game drive with a very good ranger and tracker, and also very friendly. It was very interesting to be able to share with them.
Spa is great also!
We saw most of the big five, except the lepard. And was we saw was amasing!

Room Tip: We had a luxury room, wich was perfect: huge room, great bathroom and huge balcony and private place to stay outside
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We were a group of 10 and all of us loved the hotel. We had the spa rooms and they were extremely spacious with comfortable beds. The bath area was amazing, the bath tub was right in front of the glass wall with views of the jungle.

The 2 safaris a day were perfect, we saw the Big 5, even saw lion cubs suckling the mom. Dozens of elephants at the watering hole was an amazing sight.

The food was okay, just needs a better selection of food. If I had any real complaint it would be that there is only 1 shop and it was lacking in souvenirs and didnt have any memory cards.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
2  Thank Single-Me-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

In South Africa reviewing lodges in the Kruger. Stayed one night at Kapama River Lodge. Here's the deal. Larger than your typical game lodge - at least the really good ones. But that's ok, because what they lose in intimacy they make up for in facilities. The spa is exceptional - worth spending a day, for sure. I stayed in one of the spa suites, which I would recommend versus the standard (older) rooms. The spa suites are light and clean and bright - great white tile floors, standalone bathtubs, great furnishings and animal skin rugs. The bathroom really was superb - large, double raised sinks - very contemporary. Definitely spend the extra $ for the spa rooms, if you can. Game viewing prolific. Encountered two lionesses with cubs hanging out and mock attacking two rhinos. Could have stayed and watched for hours. The property is beautifully maintained, despite the recent floods which devastated the area. Staff friendly. Drivers well acquainted with the area and full of info. Our driver was Joe - quintessential Afrikaans. Food really really good - a step beyond what you would normally come across. The boma dinner was OK - something to experience once, for sure. No issues with mosquitos. Opted for a signature calabash massage one morning instead of the game drive - so glad I did. A wonderful experience that I would recommend. I checked out all of Kapama's lodges, and for the money, this is an excellent choice. I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Spa room a must. Worth spending the extra $. Totally different experience vs standard room.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Battered Orange S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews