We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience in african jungle”
Review of Kapama River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kapama River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing experience in african jungle”
Reviewed 25 August 2013


Arriving at hoedspruit airport the kapama guide has splitted luggage in separated vans , as well as to join another guests suitcases from another flights.
This procedure has taken more than 4 hours for us to retrieve our luggage what made us almost loose the first safari. The written info regarding meals and schedules wasn't in the room what made us loose a breakfast at the first day.
However Generally we can refer the quality of kapama service and staff friendliness as the some resort levels we've known here in brazil.
Talking about rangers and assistants we'd impressed to such knowledge and experience shown related to practical safety instructions, animal behavior and curiosities.
They even had attend our inquiries to see some particular animals such as cheetah and elephants, etc.
However, lack of instructions in Portuguese/Spanish languages had made some of guests loose such richness of details & info related to the animals.
The excellent quality of meals and boma dinner had offered several international gastronomic options even for Brazilian taste, fresh ingredients and good quality lunch served before and during safaris/game drives.
Empathy and readiness of staff had workaround all the issues I'd mentioned, offering us a spectacular african jungle experience.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Manalex133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,357
    216
    38
    10
    3
See reviews for
358
841
42
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This was our second time at Kapama and these are what still make it a favorite safari experience. 1. John our ranger and Stanley his tracker were outstanding! Loved John's wry sense of humor. The off-road drive had scary moments but exciting adventures. We ended up in the 2 1/2 days seeing all the big 5. They took us on a bush walk where we saw the white rhinos. Wow!
2. Beautiful lodge although the Spa Rooms are superior to the regular rooms.
3. Views from our balcony of the bush where nyala and other antelope graze.
4. Breakfast and lunch buffets have a wide range of choices.
Some areas they could improve on.
1. Don't nickel&dime by charging extra for sundowners (even water and nonalcoholic drinks). No one bought anything and the poor rangers spent a lot of time setting it up. Also, they took us to a viewing area with a bathroom that had potential to be nice but it wasn't set up and toilets didn't work. We had to go in the bush.
2. Add something special at the dinner buffet. It was in the boma but the food wasn't that great.
3. This is a large lodge so there was little personal attention by the general staff. Only John and our waitress was really helpful.
4. The corkage for wine was outrageous, more than we paid for the wine we brought from So Africa.

Room Tip: Reserve the Spa rooms. They are far superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripcr8zy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The Lodge is one of the most amazing places I have ever been. It breaks down into different categories
The Lodge - Clean, comfortable, large rooms, balconies that open up to the reserve !!!!!!!
The "Rides" -- The driver and tracker are experienced and very good at what they do. Without making promises that they cannot keep. They make it their goal to show the big 5 and do a great job.
The Food - FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg i. Br.
Level Contributor
227 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We came back to the River Lodge after two years.
And again found it to be a wonderful place to enjoy wildlife in luxury.
Easily reached from East Gate (Hoedspruit) Airport.
And still you feel like you are embedded in the bush.
Little antilopes walking up to the room balcony.
All the Big Five in the Reserve.
Don't miss the optional foot safaris! It can be a unique experience and watching a whole crowd of buffalo bathing is certainly worth a little walking....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had a fabulous at the Kapama River Lodge. Everyone from German, our waiter to F.W., our outstanding guide and Given, our tracker, was excellent.

We had beautiful rooms and great meals in a wonderful environment, but the safari drives were unvelievable. So many animals to see, giraffes, zebras, elephants, rhinos, hippos, more types of antelopes than I can remember and, the highlight, a pride of 13 lions that we found sleeping and whatch them stretch and wake up and head off on their evening hunt. We saw these lions three different times during our stay.

We also had an exciting pursuit of a leopard, which I just caught a glimpse of. We could not find it again but it was fascinating to watch as F.W. and Given worked together to try and locate the elusive cat.

We had a truly memorable experience at Kapama.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morandanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in June. Absolutely amazing in every way. Service, food, staff & rooms all fantastic and the game drives are something I will remember for the rest of my life. Our ranger was brilliant, very knowledgable and was determined that we would see all The Big 5 (which we did). The spa is also very good. Would highly recommend Kapama to anyone looking to go on Safari in South Africa

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We spent four days here for safari on the back end of a trip from Capetown up the Garden Route. This was EASILY the highlight of the trip. Your safari begins the minute they pick you up at the nearby airport and you have your first pseudo-game drive as you're entering the property grounds. Our ranger, Ryan, was simply the best. He made sure he got us the big five, all the while offering up incredibly interesting anecdotes and information. On our first night drive he heard from another ranger that there might be a baby leopard in a tree on the other side of the reserve, and without so much as a heads up to those of us in the truck, he floored it and took off breakneck speed on an exhilarating ride through the bush to make sure our small group got to see it. Our first sundowner was so incredible I thought I might actually die. Cocktails while watching giraffes saunter by as the african sun sets into a purple sky and the southern stars begin to pop out...it was one of the most intense experiences of my life.

The lodge itself is beautiful, and the spa experiences were INCREDIBLE. Imagine getting an open-air massage on a deck looking onto the savannah and seeing the wildlife in the distance while someone works out the kinks in your neck. Unbelievable. The spa room itself was gorgeous, with dual walk in showers, deep soaking tub, and spacious balcony overlooking the bush. Not that anyone ever goes on safari for the food, but the lodge's offerings were also unnecessarily top notch. I plan on going back to Africa next year to do a safari in Botswana and definitely plan to return to Kapama for a few days on that trip as well.

Room Tip: We had a spa room on the upper level which faced the back of the property. It was beautiful and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.4 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
15.6 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
16.9 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama River Lodge

Property: Kapama River Lodge
Address: R40 | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama River Lodge is situated within Kapama Game Reserve, and presents the perfect blend between luxurious safari accommodation and a generous bed capacity of 64 bedrooms. Although large, it is so stylish, roomy and beautifully positioned along a dry riverbed, that guests fall in love with it. Each spacious room at Kapama River Lodge features a full en-suite bathroom and terrace with uninterrupted views into the leafy-green Big 5 game reserve. The central guest entertainment areas include a large rim-flow swimming pool with sun umbrellas and recliners for lazy afternoons. The long L-shaped relaxation lounge and bar under a double-volume thatch, curves around the pool and on either side is a huge double-sided fireplace creating a wondrous open-plan yet cosy atmosphere. The Rhino Boma dining area with tables arranged under a low thatch in a horseshoe curve, has a central open space where a roaring outdoor fire gives a glow to evening meals. Buffet-style meals introduce African flavours with Pan African dishes using fresh local ingredients and specialist dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kapama River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama River Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama River Lodge Kapama Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing