We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best experience, ever.”
Review of Kapama River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kapama River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best experience, ever.”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel is awesome. It starts when your ranger and tracker pick you up at the airport! My Ranger was John, he is the oldest ranger in Kapama and makes his most to find the animals for you! We saw cheetah, leopards, lions, buffalos, giraffes, zebras and a lot of impalas!
The rooms are amazing. We stayed in the Spa Suites. It's a 3 minute walking from the reception/restaurants. The room is wide, the bathroom is very nice with two sinks and an amazing bathtub with a great view of the savannah!
No TV though... But unless you are planning to quit the safaris to watch CNN, itãs one of the best choices in South Africa!
There is complimentary Wi fi connection in the rooms and the common areas.
The SPA is a little bit expensive.

Room Tip: Spa Suites If you desire more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RicardoBrasil88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,439
    224
    39
    10
    4
See reviews for
378
891
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We arrived early enough to settle in our rooms and go out on safari. The staff were outstanding as was the lodge with the wild animals wondering around. The lodge: lovely structures that blended into the surrounding area. The rooms: you forgot that you are on safari and are equal to any luxury hotel in the city. Meals: The hotel made sure that we were well fed, lunch, was a varied buffet, afternoon tea a delight. Dinner buffet was poor and we wondered if it was the smae chef. Breakfast was excellent and the variety of breads was lovely. The safari: the tracker and guide knew were to find the animals, afternoon safari there were less animals, however we hade a treat in that we stopped to have tea and cookies out in the wild. In the morning our tracker and guide found a lion and lioness with a kill and a pride of lionesses with cubs. What an adventure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed in Kapama from 27 Dec-30th Dec'13 and our ranger, Rassie came to pick us up at the airport in Hoedspruit. Arriving from NY, we didnt know what to expect but we were blown away by the service at Kapama, amazing safaris and even the food that was served for all the meals.

A big thank you to the entire staff but definitely Rassie - our ranger and Magnum - our checker for making it so special. We saw four of the big fives during our six safaris but really the safari was more than the big fives. It was learning about the little creatures, the trees, the birds, the weather, the real forrest and a ton of animals that we saw up close. Our ranger was extremely knowledgable, our checker helped spot animals by just looking at their footprints. It rained on a couple of safaris but that didnt stop the experience - they gave us ponchos and even though you still get wet, it was a completely different experience. Definitely an adventure with the vehicle slipping off-road but I am glad that we got to experience it.
The rooms are five star hotel standards and you can see Impalas from the bath - crazy I know! Makes us want to jump on a plane and get back to Kruger. We are definitely going back to SA in a few years and doing a lot more safaris.
I would recommend Kapama any day and I hope you get Rassie to show you around - it will be worth every buck and you will remember it for the rest of your lives! Attaching a few pics to give you a flavor of what I am talking about :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoojaSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My husband and I chose Kapama River Lodge for our introductory trip to Kruger National Park this year. The place was recommended to us by our agent, and the place was everything we expected from a resort at a private reserve. Some of the rooms are less spectacular than the others, clearly, so we'd suggest you insist on river views if you can. The attempt to turn the dinners into camp-style 'get to know each other' meals was amusing at first but we actually ended up meeting some lovely people from all over the world, so we suggest you play right along with the suggested schedule!
We were particularly impressed by our ranger Kim and our tracker Rogers - they were both fantastic at what they do and were always in good humour. We had some amazing sightings, including cheetahs in the grass. We also really enjoyed the bush walk with rangers Kim and Clive - we learned a lot about the bush, and for beginners, it was great to have local guidance in understanding more about Kruger.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweta_jag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Wonderful hotel, with perfect structure that will make you doubt you are in the middle of the reserve. Very good food, and great and friendly staff and huge and comfortable rooms. The guys from the game drive (driver and tracker) were simply amazing, and were really into the game, trying to give their best to find the animals. We found the big five and much more!! Staff in the restaurants were also so considerate and courteous, knowing your name and your preferred drinks. Everything was so perfect that made the days in the reserve to be forever unforgettable to us. Thanks Kapama, we will be back some day!

Room Tip: for what I´ve seen, all the rooms are great, In the ground, you can be luck and while in the bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luciinthesky303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is amazing! When I entered the room and saw the view of the African savannah, I realized I was in a magical place. Our ranger Jacques and our tracker Willis, were awesome people and very helpful. The decor of the hotel is very nice and all very integrated with the local beauty. The food and vibe are great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adriano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

amazing hotel. attentive staff. spa rooms very comfortable and special details such as bath salt, umbrella at the door for possible rainy days. The hotel spa is beautiful and amazing massage.
excellent value for money. My only "bad experience" is about the transfer from the airport to the hotel because it was raining and they did not provide a closed car for transportation.
wifi works perfectly in the whole hotel.
recommend hosting other guests.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SamBarbieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
3.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
398 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
436 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
260 reviews
18.8 mi away
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ngala Private Game Reserve
448 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#17 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama River Lodge

Property: Kapama River Lodge
Address: R40 | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama River Lodge is situated within Kapama Game Reserve, and presents the perfect blend between luxurious safari accommodation and a generous bed capacity of 64 bedrooms. Although large, it is so stylish, roomy and beautifully positioned along a dry riverbed, that guests fall in love with it. Each spacious room at Kapama River Lodge features a full en-suite bathroom and terrace with uninterrupted views into the leafy-green Big 5 game reserve. The central guest entertainment areas include a large rim-flow swimming pool with sun umbrellas and recliners for lazy afternoons. The long L-shaped relaxation lounge and bar under a double-volume thatch, curves around the pool and on either side is a huge double-sided fireplace creating a wondrous open-plan yet cosy atmosphere. The Rhino Boma dining area with tables arranged under a low thatch in a horseshoe curve, has a central open space where a roaring outdoor fire gives a glow to evening meals. Buffet-style meals introduce African flavours with Pan African dishes using fresh local ingredients and specialist dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kapama River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama River Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama River Lodge Kapama Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing