We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodge”
Review of Kapama River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kapama River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great lodge”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Kapama river lodge was a great first experience with our first Safari. Met at the airport and saw lots of wildlife just driving to lodge including two lions. Saw the big five within first two drives, guide and tracker very knowledgeable. Close views of animals and lots of variety. Rooms are very comfortable.food was all smorgasbord and was good. Drinks are reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,441
    224
    39
    10
    4
See reviews for
378
892
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Although the lodge staff did their utmost to make the stay pleasant and they did very well. The bush experience was terrible, the guide made up facts and incorrectly identified animals and birds when we found an animal there was always huge pressure on the sighting so the we could only spend about 10min at each sighting.

I wouldn't recommend kapama as a wildlife get away, but more like a nice hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank GavinRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Kapama Southern Camp was great, they picked us up at the airport, the room was very nice and bug free. Check in was smooth. Met with welcome drink, then we started our first Safari just an hour and a half after we arrived.

There are 2 Safaris a day, included in the price, and these are the main reasons that you want to go there. In the winter one is at 6:30 a.m. and one at 4 p.m, 3 hours each. Also included in the standard room price is a bush walk between the two Safaris. Guests need to let the staff know they'd like to go on the bush walk, not all guides did a good job of letting guests know this.We were lucky to have well a informed tracker and ranger and we saw a terrific range of animals that was fantastic.

Kapama uses an open safari vehicle and a guide and tracker system. After experiencing camps with different arrangements, we thought this was the best system. Food at Kapama was good and varied

We took a trip to the Cheetah project at the Endangered Species Facility Kapama. It was interesting but nothing spectacular. Thought it was over priced for what you got.

Kapama also offers an Elephant Back Safari. We didn't go as we had one planned later on our trip. From what we saw of the Kapama version it would have been better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Kapama is an ideal place to safari in the South Africa. We previously visited the Masa Marai during the migration and didn't think it could be matched. Kevin and Michael, our guides at Kapama, gave us a very up close and personal tour of the Big Five. Kapama does an excellent job and also offers a beautiful spa area, nice rooms and good food.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank dnemesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We just got back from four nights at Kapama River Lodge and had the trip of a lifetime. Our guides Kallie and Colin were absolutely amazing. If I ever went back I would ask for them specifically, they were that good. We saw all the animals we can imagine. Besides the safari, the hotel was very nice. There was always something good to eat at mealtimes and we were able to relax and enjoy the wellness center during the days. I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenniferJCoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights in May 2014, and it was a fabulous experience. The staff were great and attentive to your every need. The meals were great and the food plentiful. We did four game drives (you do two each day-if you want). During the day you can chill out by the pool, go to the spa, do a walking safari or visit the animal rehab center.
Our guide John and tracker Magnus were just delightful. My wife had surgery on her spine and we were leery of the off road tracking. John drove with the utmost care, even in the bush, and we found out this was the normal way they track. We've had bumpier rides on our hometown streets.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quesig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

If comfort and luxury are what you are looking for, then look no further. You will want for nothing and can relax as much as you need to recharge your batteries. It is impossible to get hungry here and if you do then you might have a tapeworm. If you eat every time a meal or snack is served you will be waddling to and from each of your game drives. The food is delicious and served buffet style. Your room will be serviced 2-3 times per day. The spa is reasonably priced and a must if you have the time. There are also several other activities offered during the day such as an elephant interaction, bush walk, and hot air balloon rides. We really enjoyed the bush walk because you get to see many things that you don’t notice while you are in the vehicle during a game drive. You can be as involved as you wish to be.

Still, it is not the amenities that made Kapama stand out. The personal touches are what made our trip special. Rangers pick you up from the airport and will also coordinate a ride for you on the day that you depart. Our Ranger John and tracker Magnum went out of their way to find animals that everyone in our group wanted to see. They were positive and optimistic and never gave up. They’d track them for hours until we finally found them. Game drives never get old—you see something new each time you go out. In the winter it gets chilly at night so be sure to bring a jacket. There are also blankets available in the evhicles. My husband and I were lucky because for our last game drive many people were too tired and didn’t wake up. We got our own private drive. I am not really an animal person but I loved every minute of the game drives. Something about seeing the animals outside of the zoo roaming freely was exciting. This was our first safari so we decided not to rent a car and drive to Kruger on our own. This was a great decision. Had we driven on our own we wouldn’t have really known how to track animals and if we got lucky and found one we might have 15 other cars around too. John and Magnum track animals for a living and showed us way more than we could have found on our own. I know that we will be back sometime in the future. We loved everything and everyone at Kapama. Because of our Ranger, waiter Joel, our housekeeper Florence (who discovered we loved nougat candy and would leave us a couple extra) we were able to have an unforgettable first safari!

Room Tip: If you want to visit you'll need to book your stay far in advance, especially in the summer mont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
3.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
399 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
437 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
260 reviews
18.8 mi away
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ngala Private Game Reserve
451 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama River Lodge

Property: Kapama River Lodge
Address: R40 | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama River Lodge is situated within Kapama Game Reserve, and presents the perfect blend between luxurious safari accommodation and a generous bed capacity of 64 bedrooms. Although large, it is so stylish, roomy and beautifully positioned along a dry riverbed, that guests fall in love with it. Each spacious room at Kapama River Lodge features a full en-suite bathroom and terrace with uninterrupted views into the leafy-green Big 5 game reserve. The central guest entertainment areas include a large rim-flow swimming pool with sun umbrellas and recliners for lazy afternoons. The long L-shaped relaxation lounge and bar under a double-volume thatch, curves around the pool and on either side is a huge double-sided fireplace creating a wondrous open-plan yet cosy atmosphere. The Rhino Boma dining area with tables arranged under a low thatch in a horseshoe curve, has a central open space where a roaring outdoor fire gives a glow to evening meals. Buffet-style meals introduce African flavours with Pan African dishes using fresh local ingredients and specialist dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Kapama River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama River Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama River Lodge Kapama Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing