We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ranger and tracker hands down”
Review of Kapama River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kapama River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Waited years to come to Africa and Kapama River Lodge made it worth the wait. You might think it is a bit pricey until you see this place, plus all meals (which are pretty darn good) and 2 safaris a day are included then it becomes a great deal. Angie and Alfie (our ranger and tracker) just but it over the top with their warmth and hospitality but the whole staff is great but their love of their jobs shows!!!!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,754)
There are newer reviews for Kapama River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 564 of 1,755 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

The rooms were excellent. The dining area and food were top notch. They had evening entertainment every night (which was basically just the kitchen and cleaning staff singing... but still nice)
The 'camp' is surrounded by electrical fencing (nothing that you can see from rooms) so you are very safe. There are several non-aggressive species living within the fencing though which is a very enjoyable experience. We had a porcupine join us for dinner one night...
You're guides are basically assigned to these camps so you'll have the same one's your entire stay. All of the people we encountered were incredibly courteous, knowledgeable and professional in everything they did. Just a perfect experience.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms at this location within the park are the same. I would, however, suggest you...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We only had one night at Kapama River Lodge but what an experience. After 4 days in Kruger (staying in great but basic accommodation - including a tent) this was a real treat. On our arrival the staff made us feel so very welcome. Pieter our game driver guide was brilliant and really knew a lot about the bush and animals. He made the night drive experience a great one.

Our room was brilliant. We stayed in a spa suite and it really was very luxurious. Laying in the bath looking out into the bush was brilliant, even when the kudu wandered by and decided to stop for a good look!!! The meals were excellent too. You certainly do not go hungry.

We opted to do the elephant safari instead of the morning game drive. it was absolutely the best thing. If you get the opportunity, I highly suggest you do it.

I would recommend a stay at Kapama Lodge to anyone. Thank you everyone for making our stay a great one.

Room Tip: Spa suites were great
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just completed our 4 night safari adventure at Kapama River Lodge.

Safari - Firstly our guide Rassie and tracker Keswell made our safari memorable. They are a great team, and between them they gave us the greatest bush experience. Rassie was knowledgable in all areas and could answer any questions we asked. Keswell has the eyes of a hawk and can spot animals (no matter how small) from a mile off, as well as being excellent with spotting tracks. We had great fun following the animals off road, no trees or bushes got in our way!
It was chilly in the early morning and sunset drives, so wrap up warm! If you can request these 2 guides do it! We saw all of the big game relatively quickly, however, the illusive cheetah was the only animal we didn't see. We had a great encounter with the leopard tho!

Food/accommodation - The accommodation was superb. We stayed in the spa suites and the room was a great size with excellent facilities and to top it off a great view from the bath of the bush. The food choices throughout the day were first class, catering to all kinds of eaters.
The lodge has a wonderful setting and the wellness centre was amazing.

In all a once in a life time experience and we would recommend it to both couples, families and individuals.

Thank you Kapama River Lodge - Laura and Callum

Room Tip: Spa suites have a great view over the bush
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Amazing place to stay. Great restaurant, nice staff. The games are amazing even in the rain.
The walking game is totally worth to go.
Totally recommend!!! Thank you Kapama for the great stay. Hope be back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gnomoleoatchutcuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

So the accommodation lacks, not quite 5 star in my opinion, rooms basic,and let the grading down.. spa room is a nice size, nice bath, but very below average bed and bedding. All the buttons broken off the very thin cheap duvet, pillows average, very cold at night and have to request hot water bottles. Food all buffet, so if you don't enjoy buffet, you are going to have a problem...
On an exceptional note, our ranger Clement was awesome, educational, and went out of his way, our spotter "allot" was phenomenal. What a team...I have had the privilege to go on many game drives and this was by far the best game viewing with the best guides. However....not a booze cruise- if you tracking, there is no time to stop and drink and suddenly it's 3 hours later and you are back at the lodge.
Kids very welcome, my 10 year old loved it, so very worth a family holiday. And the spa is beautiful!
Lots to do in the day, if you love wildlife.
Thanks Elijah great restaurant service, thanks Clement and Allot....the best guides.
The rest....I never met.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaCurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our stay at Kapama was a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Everything is top class - service, food, accommodation, and lodge. The game drives are twice a day for about 3 hours each. We saw lots of wildlife. Our guide and tracker, Kim and Rodgers, were great. Kim has 40 years of experience doing this and always went above and beyond to track down the animals for us. You will not go hungry, as there are three huge meals a day with anything you could possibly be craving available. Before the game drives, there are snacks and drinks available, as well. The room is very clean and comfortable with turn-down service each night. It was truly a treat to stay here. I highly recommend staying here at Kapama!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
3.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
406 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
442 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tented Adventures Pretoriuskop
Tented Adventures Pretoriuskop
#98 of 175 in Kruger National Park
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama River Lodge

Address: R40 | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range: £441 - £1,199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama River Lodge is situated within Kapama Game Reserve, and presents the perfect blend between luxurious safari accommodation and a generous bed capacity of 64 bedrooms. Although large, it is so stylish, roomy and beautifully positioned along a dry riverbed, that guests fall in love with it. Each spacious room at Kapama River Lodge features a full en-suite bathroom and terrace with uninterrupted views into the leafy-green Big 5 game reserve. The central guest entertainment areas include a large rim-flow swimming pool with sun umbrellas and recliners for lazy afternoons. The long L-shaped relaxation lounge and bar under a double-volume thatch, curves around the pool and on either side is a huge double-sided fireplace creating a wondrous open-plan yet cosy atmosphere. The Rhino Boma dining area with tables arranged under a low thatch in a horseshoe curve, has a central open space where a roaring outdoor fire gives a glow to evening meals. Buffet-style meals introduce African flavours with Pan African dishes using fresh local ingredients and specialist dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kapama River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama River Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama River Lodge Kapama Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing