We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How to really enjoy a Safari”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kapama Southern Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Mansonville
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“How to really enjoy a Safari”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Of the plane you immediately put in the proper atmosphere, of the airport your ranger is already pointing to the wild, have your camera ready, you will gain 5 pounds a day if you eat all they suggest... The suites are excellent. All the ranger are working together to make sure the customers are viewing the max. Make sure to take a bush walk with Tim a fantastic experience, excellent stay is 3 days

Room Tip: Room 11 is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinceCadoret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    71
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
131
298
22
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We flew into Hoedspruit after a wonderful 2 days in Addo Elephant Park. Kapama is literally across the street from the airport and as mentioned in other reviews, the action starts upon entering the reserve. Before we even reached our camp, we had seen a lioness returning from a successful lunch, giraffes and monkeys.
Our lodgings had been recently updated. The room though small, was adequate with a lovely, large travertine bathroom and wifi.
The meals were all buffet style. Although I prefer being served, this camp houses a larger crowd and efficiency is important. There were plenty of choices for every meal. The food was good, not great but there was plenty of it and it seemed we were always eating!
Our game drives were exciting as our guides were very tuned into the bush and worked well together. We were able to see all of the Big Five save for the leopard. On the one morning we decided to stay back, there was a rare spotting of a cheetah. Groan! What a mistake! Never miss the game drives, even if it is terribly cold, windy and rainy.
The staff were very pleasant and went out of their way to make you feel at home.
We would recommend this camp as one that offers good value, friendly staff and a location that does not require additional travel, once landed.

Room Tip: There are several camps in Kapama. We did not see the others. However, the South Lodge has been rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was only my second trip to the Kruger park because it hurts me to say it, but as South Africans we often do not fully appreciate the beauty of our own country. I booked 3 nights through the Bushcapes website, who offered friendly service, accurate additional information and welcome advice. We drove through from Johannesburg and arrived early on Tuesday afternoon and we were allowed to freshen up before the afternoon game drive. We were assigned to our ranger, Garry and his tracker Remember. We went for 6 game rives in total and each one was special and had its own bit of magic. Lions feeding on a giraffe kill, the safari vehicle refusing to start with rhinos just 100m away, elephants greeting the tracker and the thrill of following a leopard on the hunt for a short distance through the bush. Both the ranger and tracker showed excellent knowledge of the bush and regaled us with stories of previous encounters and other parks they had worked at. we were particularly amazed by the trackers ability to spot even the smallest things, a chameleon in the dark, owls and recently excavated dung beetle larvae. In addition to the big five we also spotted civets, honey badgers and ground hornbills much to my delight. Garry also took the time to point out interesting bird calls during the day and on one night game drive, the constellations of the Milky way that were visible. Some guests did complain about the early wake up calls - 5 o clock for the morning game drives to allow half an hour to get ready before tea and rusks at 5:30 - but I was normally awake and getting ready even before the call in most part due to the excitement of getting out and seeing what there was to see.
The food at the camp met expectations for the most part. Being vegetarian for the period of my stay, some meals proved more challenging to others in terms of options available but I never went unfilled.
We used the camp as a base on the 2 full days we had to explore the surrounding areas. On the first we drove in to the Kruger Park proper. The need to get back for the 4:30pm game drive, speed limits within the park and distances to travel meant that the trip was a short one to the Satara Camp and back via Orpen gate. The second day we drove through the panorama route, stopping at the 3 rondavels, bourke's luck potholes (which can be given a skip), and Gods window.
The rooms were comfortable and air conditioning was much appreciated. With most of the day spent exploring or on safari they were good enough for the 6 hours of sleep you needed to recover. The dining facilities and common areas were excellent, with a large pool that we would have made better use of if not for the day trips out. The service staff were helpful (although I did wonder with some of the meals and how they described them to guests, knowing better myself) and we were treated by excellent impromptu entertainment by them during our suppers under the stars at the boma.
I would definitely recommend the camp and will definitely be making a trip to this camp, and possibly other camps within kapama in the near future.

Room Tip: The camp is being upgraded to luxury suites and each will have its own outside showers soon which wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PraneshLuckan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Fantastic welcome, amazing swimming pool, spacious rooms with no tvs etc, food was great. Off course the animals are the stars of the show, we went on 2 game drives and got to see 2 lions very close, after our tracker and guide worked together to find them. The other big highlight were the "sundowner" drinks in the middle of the game reserve as the sun was setting. We also loved being able to eat dinner with our experienced guide as well as the other couple who had been our game drive and hash over the amazing sights of the day.
The only tiny negative I could think of was the bar closing before we had returned for dinner so we couldn't have a nice cocktail.
We only stayed here one night so would definitely go back and stay longer - we were limited in what we could do in a short period of time (eg day trips to see cheetahs or get a massage).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather_Hooisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Exciting safari destination. The Kapama reserve gate is situated directly across from Hoedspruit airport so game watching starts on the way to the camp. Each room is pretty luxurious for a "camping" experience, and the staff are all incredibly nice and attentive. And there is food constantly from the wake up coffee at 5:30 am, tea and risks on the morning drive, breakfast at 9 and then lunch at 1. High tea at 4 followed by the dusk drive, stopping for sundowners and dinner at 9. Ranger Richard was incredibly knowledgeable and lots of fun. We chased a lion running to catch and eat an impala, chased hyenas into a watering hole and had a blast. By the end of the second drive, less than 12 hrs after arriving, we'd seem the big five! Beds are comfortable! The view from the soaking bath tub is fabulous with monkeys playing outside the window. They are adding 10 rooms , each with a pool and glass shower. 3 will have an extra bedroom for families and only for families! Spa is at river camp with giraffes at the watering hole while you get your toes polished! 3 days was perfect! (arrive noonish one day, 2 full days and depart fourth day after morning drive.) Contact the facility to find out about what to wear and malaria risk...they are quite honest and have sun block and mosquito spray if you want it. They provide brawl las for rain and fleece ponchos if it gets chilly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Nice people, very nice rooms, good food and above all GREAT game drives as the rangers don't hesitate to come very close of animals ! We even saw the big 5 during the same game drive.
We did other lodges with other game drives, but the one of Kapama is the best !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights (6 game drives) at the southern camp. I have stayed at 5 star hotels that did not offer the level on service I received here. Our room was wonderful, with comfortable beds, a great shower, and lots of space. The staff are the true treasure here. Everyone was quick with a "good day” whenever they met you.
The food was top notch. From breakfast to dinner, the quality and selection was excellent.
The reason one goes on safari is to see the animals and we were not disappointed. Our ranger, Dennis and our tracker, Dumisani showed a true respect and appreciation for the animals. Dennis went over and above to make sure we found all of the big 5. It was fun to see him get excited when we were tracking the leopard, the most difficult to find. We also went off road to chase a cheetah; not an easy feat!
I highly recommend the southern camp.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PowerPlayNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
4.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,689 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
393 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
257 reviews
6.2 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
351 reviews
16.2 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama Southern Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama Southern Camp

Property: Kapama Southern Camp
Address: Kapama Private | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa (Formerly Hongonyi Private Game Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama Southern Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama Southern Camp is the proud new addition to our Kapama Game Reserve family and is situated on the southern most section of the Kapama Private Game Reserve. It offers luxury safari accommodation, warm hospitality and friendly service in a tranquil setting which will satisfy even the most discerning nature lovers' taste. Relax in the lounge with a good book or just sit back and indulge in the breathtaking beauty of mother nature in all her splendour. Alternatively you can lazily lounge around our magnificent pool and deck area and stare into the vast African yonder, hopefully spotting some of the many animals that often pass in close proximity. If the African sun becomes too much to endure, a dip in the refreshing swimming pool will bring immediate relief, and the friendly barman will be on hand to spoil you with a tantalising cocktail.DiningBreakfast and lunches are normally served in the dining room with open sides, so you will always have nature just a few meters away while enjoying tasteful culinary creations from our qualified chefs . Dinner is served in the traditional outside Boma, again with nature as the backdrop and a starlit sky overhead creating the perfect setting.Southern Camp also boasts a fully equipped wine cellar where we stock only the finest wines from top South African vineyards in a perfectly humidified environment. All 15 standard suites at Southern Camp have full en-suite bathrooms with picture windows to enjoy the surrounding scenery and birdlife. Air conditioning, minibars and tea and coffee stations are standard in all suites of this five-star safari accommodation. Private patios offer the opportunity to enjoy relaxing sundowners, while game watching at the same time. Kapama Southern Camp also has 7 luxury suites. These 95 ㎡ luxury suites have their own private lap pool, inside and outside showers, large minibar, espresso machine and a romantic fireplace open to the bath and bedroom. Southern Camp offers 3 luxury Family Suites each with a lap pool and a separate connected bedroom for children with its own bath, shower, double vanity and outside patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kapama Southern Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama Southern Camp Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama Southern Camp Kapama Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing