We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the ritz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kapama Southern Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Kapama is the nicest place that I have ever stayed! Upon arrival we were greeted by our amazing ranger Garry who promplty took the keys to our car and took our luggage to our rooms. The hostess had drinks waiting for us and briefly went over our schedule and then showed us around the southern camp. Our rooms were beautiful and luxurious feeling. The food was delicious and not in short supply. Our waiter Phillip was great! I can't say enough good things about our ranger Garry. Garry is a walking encyclopedia of information and answered all of my millions of questions with a smile on his face. We went on the Elephant safari which was amazing. I have never had a better vacation thanks to Kapama! My husband summed it up by saying "it is better than the Ritz."

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
There are newer reviews for Kapama Southern Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was one of the best things i've done in my life. The safari was unreal and our group made it even better. Garry did an awesome job, and made the experience overall super fun and we learned a ton. We were at the southern lodge area, and it was amazing from the food, rooms, and our guide/tracker/waiter. Cant go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jordan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Kapama Southern Camp in the luxury suite- family room. We truly enjoyed the experience - simply great. The Camp is close to being finished, they are opening soon their store and one more library / activity room.

We also went to the River Lodge, which has more rooms and therefore was more a “hotel-style” operation. Also lunch was less good than in the Camp. If, I would always choose the more private Camp again.

The pros:
- Superb rooms – the family suite was brand new, great interior design, well equipped kids room, …
- Super service with private ranger, spotter and butler – all very helpful and knowledgeable
- Great game viewing – the reserve is so big that you usually do not spot any other vehicles while you are on your drive, many great close animal encounters
- Great resort – liked the pool, dining and BBQ area
- Super breakfast buffet with “fresh eggs & omelet” station, served 5 course lunch
- Great spa and ok fitness equipment at the Kapama Riverlodge (but ca. 30 min drive)
- Great daily schedule with 2 large drives where the ranger and spotter really make a big effort, that you see it all and have a great time

The “small” Even Better Ifs:
- Dinner buffet was not to our expectations, all meat was “more than well done” and not really freshly BBQed especially for you
- Management and staff are always very friendly but not really “coordinated”. We asked to have one day lunch at the River Lodge, many staff assured us we would get an answer fast – we had to ask approx. 5 times before we got the final answer. The same took the our question for late checkout a while to be answered
- It was not really clear to us when we arrived that the driver who picked us up from the airport was also our ranger and he would join us for dinner in the evenings. Here they could communicate better and also explain that it is of course to our digression and not insulting if he does not join us.
- With all the constant food it would be nice to have some fitness equipment on site (and not only 30 min drive to the next lodge)

All in all my evaluation is between 4 and 5. I have already recommended the reserve to others – also the location close to the airport makes it a perfect place.

I would always recommend to first drive in Krüger and have the experience of “self spotting” the animals and then visit a lodge where you get the closer animal interaction and the background info (plus are totally spoiled)

Room Tip: Family suites are fantastic - but we had no sun in the afternoon on the terrace and pool (can also b...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petraeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was my first trip to South Africa and on safari. Stayed at the Southern Lodge for 4 nights and can't compliment the venue and staff higher. We were made to feel very welcome and the staff couldn't do enough for us. A special shout out must go to the head chef (every single dish I had was immense and there was fantastic variety) and our game driver Gary. What a knowledgeable chap he is. We saw 4 of the big five but over 60 different animals and birds in total. The big highlight was seeing a lion and lioness stroll right past our vehicle at night. I will definitely be returning here.

Room Tip: Ask for room 25!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tangerine_Hat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I have just returned from a trip of a lifetime to Kapama. The accommodation is beautiful and and is just as you see it on their website. The service and staff are outstanding and cannot do enough for you. The food is the best I have ever had, well presented and lots of choice. The dining areas are clean and the staff attentive, Floyd served us many times and was very polite and even escorted you to the bathroom facilities in the dark to ensure your safety, although we didn't feel unsafe at all. We had a visit from Elvis the porcupine one evening who was looking for his supper, that was quite entertaining. Dinner in the bush was one of our best experiences and is a must. The facilities are so peaceful and tranquil, monkeys play in the trees whilst you are relaxing by the pool in between game drives as well as Impala and Warthogs in the bushes, but they do not come near you. Our ranger Gary and Richard our tracker were excellent, you could see they were passionate about the game reserve and nothing is too much trouble. They educated us about all the animals we came across which were in abundance and also about the bush in general, even about the stars and different constellations. Sundowner drinks on the evening game drive are a must, we did 2 game drives a day, it was just magical. We did the elephant interaction which was fantastic to be up close with these magnificent animals in the middle of the bush. Our grateful thanks go to Eugine the manager, Floyd, Gary,Richard and the rest of the staff for giving us such a wonderful experience we will never forget.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I recently visited Kapama with a group of over 40 people. The staff at kapama led by Eugene were incredible. Nothing was too much trouble and they made the groups stay memorable and the trip of a lifetime.

The lodges in Kapama are beautiful and spotlessly clean, well furnished and huge. With great touches like the outdoor shower, plunge pool and beautiful glass to facilitate great views the lodges have been well thought out. It was fantastic to leave on a morning game drive to come back to find the room had already been cleaned and refreshed.

The food was incredible; from the full breakfasts to the beautiful pastries and scones that were out of this world. With great lunches, evening meals and a fantastic braai.


The game drives were an experience to behold. As a group we had no objections getting up at 5am to experience the beauty of the reserve and the animals. Even those of us that didn't get to bed until after 1 that morning!

All of the rangers, under Jacques leadership made the experience for every group incredible. Obviously every group felt that their ranger was the best! Which just went to show what a great experience each group had.

The head chef; Dean did an incredible job preparing some of the nicest food I have ever had. (Try the scones!!)

All of the team do an incredible job and work some astonishing hours to make the experience and stay so pleasurable. The passion the rangers show for the animals is awe inspiring.

Eugene did a great job of bringing it all together and made the experience superb.

Thanks to all the guys at Kapama southern camp for making the experience such an incredible one for the entire group.

Tim


Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Arrived after spending three days in a Cape Town. Direct flight :)
Kapama Private Reserve gate is literally steps from the airport. Transfer was waiting for us when we landed who turned out to be our guide for our stay (Dennis).
As soon as we got into the reserve, the giraffes were there to welcome us
When we arrived at South Camp we were greeted with refreshing wet cloths. Check in and orientation was seamless. Rooms were very clean, modern and small patio was fantastic. Able to see wildlife from our deck late afternoons.
Getting up at 5:00 am might not be what you want to do while on vacation, but the morning safari is well worth it. We were often the only people in the truck. It was like having our own personal private safari. Having coffee with our guide and tracker (Kosi) midway thru the morning safari was fantastic.
Most of the wildlife was seen in the morning but did see some smaller animals during the evening safari. Sundowner during the evening safari was a great way to have what we refer to as "Happy hour" .
Dennis and Kosi were great. We actually tracked lions and found two females and one male after tracking for about 20 minutes. It was very exciting. Also tracked elephants into the thick bush. What a great experience!!!!
Seen four out of the Big five during one morning safari. Couldn't have asked for anything more
Dennis and Kosi also found a female lion with two cubs. We think it was the best part of our trip to watch two cubs play while mother lion kept a watchful eye as cubs walked upto our truck.
Overall, I would certainly recommend this for someone who wants to spend three days on a safari while having all the convinces of home.
Five star all the way!!!!

We went on the elephant interactive tour. Very informative and worth the money. Elephants were orphans being raised by Kapama in the wild. No cages or pens for these elephants but we were still able to touch the elephants and take pictures with them. Two thumbs up Kapama for raising orphans in the wild instead of in a "zoo like" atmosphere.

Booked our entire holiday as a package so not exactly sure how much but now that I know the high level of service, I would not be afraid to pay a premium for this.

Did not visit any other camps nor did we try the spa

Room Tip: Didn't see the luxury rooms but I honestly don't think you need them if it is just two peopl...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
4.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,749 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
404 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
263 reviews
13.2 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
197 reviews
6.9 mi away
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Elandela Private Game Reserve
#65 of 175 in Kruger National Park
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama Southern Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama Southern Camp

Address: Kapama Private | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa (Formerly Hongonyi Private Game Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range: £491 - £1,723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama Southern Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama Southern Camp is the proud new addition to our Kapama Game Reserve family and is situated on the southern most section of the Kapama Private Game Reserve. It offers luxury safari accommodation, warm hospitality and friendly service in a tranquil setting which will satisfy even the most discerning nature lovers' taste. Relax in the lounge with a good book or just sit back and indulge in the breathtaking beauty of mother nature in all her splendour. Alternatively you can lazily lounge around our magnificent pool and deck area and stare into the vast African yonder, hopefully spotting some of the many animals that often pass in close proximity. If the African sun becomes too much to endure, a dip in the refreshing swimming pool will bring immediate relief, and the friendly barman will be on hand to spoil you with a tantalising cocktail.DiningBreakfast and lunches are normally served in the dining room with open sides, so you will always have nature just a few meters away while enjoying tasteful culinary creations from our qualified chefs . Dinner is served in the traditional outside Boma, again with nature as the backdrop and a starlit sky overhead creating the perfect setting.Southern Camp also boasts a fully equipped wine cellar where we stock only the finest wines from top South African vineyards in a perfectly humidified environment. All 15 standard suites at Southern Camp have full en-suite bathrooms with picture windows to enjoy the surrounding scenery and birdlife. Air conditioning, minibars and tea and coffee stations are standard in all suites of this five-star safari accommodation. Private patios offer the opportunity to enjoy relaxing sundowners, while game watching at the same time. Kapama Southern Camp also has 7 luxury suites. These 95 ㎡ luxury suites have their own private lap pool, inside and outside showers, large minibar, espresso machine and a romantic fireplace open to the bath and bedroom. Southern Camp offers 3 luxury Family Suites each with a lap pool and a separate connected bedroom for children with its own bath, shower, double vanity and outside patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Kapama Southern Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama Southern Camp Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama Southern Camp Kapama Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing