We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best experiences I´ve ever had!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kapama Southern Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of the best experiences I´ve ever had!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

No words can describe what it´s to be in this luxuxy and wonderful hotel inside the Kapama reserve.

The room (maybe I should say bungaloo) is amazing!!!!! Including a private pool with a view of the savannah, gas fireplace and na outside shower!

All the crew is wonderfully well-trained and the safaris are always astonishing!

If you want to see the animal kingdom and enjoy the luxury at the same time, this is the place!

Room Tip: The first ones (starting from Room 1) are the nearest to the restaurant and reception. 10, 9 and for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GustavoMGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    70
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
130
290
21
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at Kapama for a total of five nights in December, the first three at the Buffalo Camp, and our last two at the Southern Camp. We enjoyed the Southern Camp's amenities and luxury, but it was the staff that really set this camp apart.

The staff at the Southern Camp was very accommodating in all of our requests. Specifically, I was proposing to my now fiance at the romantic sleep out, or Lion's Den, at Kapama. The staff at the Southern Camp jumped fully on board with the surprise, and even went so far as to drop us off in the middle of a game drive, so she has no idea what was happening! The staff made a truly special moment perfect for us.

On a side note, I would recommend the romantic sleep out to anyone who is traveling as a couple to Kapama. While it does cost extra, sleeping out underneath the stars, in the middle of the bush is a once in a lifetime experience. We watched Zebra and Giraffes walk right by us!

On our return from the sleep out, the manager had upgraded us to one of the newly built Royal Villas, which are just phenomenal. They have pools, indoor/outdoor showers, and every luxury you could possible want (got my fiance hooked on nespresso). We even got a family of monkeys come up to our back windows, and play by the pool.

The game drives at the Southern Camp were also exceptional, with our guide doing everything possible to see the animals. At one point were were completely in the bush, driving over small trees and brush to track a leopard, which we eventually found. The level of dedication in the guides was great. and they were even wearing Santa hats! (we stayed over Christmas)

I would recommend the Southern Camp to anyone who wants the luxuries of a five star hotel out in the bush.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harrison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our stay at Kapama was the highlight of our trip to South Africa. My husband and I stayed at Kapama Southern Camp with another couple, and we stayed in the luxury villas. Oh MY! They were absolutely stunning. In choosing where to stay for our safari (as there is a plethora of options), we decided to stay at one of the Kapama camps based on a friend's recommendation. The River Lodge was full; so we were deciding between Southern Camp and Karula. Though Karula looked absolutely luxurious, we decided to save a little bit of money and went with the Southern Camp. We are SOOO glad we did. I can't imagine a nicer place than the Southern Camp, from the rooms, EXCELLENT service, delicious meals (there are many), and everything in between. Our ranger was Garry, and my gosh, he was amazing. We wished we could have taken him on the rest of our trip as we left for Cape Town. He was so knowledgeable and did anything and everything to make our stay memorable and enjoyable. He and the rest of the staff did a good job :) Our waiter, Phillip, was great and very attentive. We had to leave early on our last morning, and the staff did everything to get us out in time with a to-go breakfast for each person.
You are truly taken care of here. We did have some issues with our bathtub and fireplace working, but the staff did everything they could to get them into working order.
Additionally, my husband and I stayed over our one year anniversary and when we came back from our afternoon game drive, we were touched to find a bottle of champagne in our room.
We did the elephant safari and it was an interesting experience, though a bit expensive.
The absolutely worst part is having to leave :(
Thank you guys for everything!

Room Tip: The luxury rooms are absolutely amazing. I can't vouch for the regular rooms, but I have never s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klerksdorp, North-West, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

For the most relaxing bush experience, Kapama Southern Camp is the best choice you can make. The suites are all beautiful and luxurious with everything you need. Best game drives,wonderful bush walks with experience game rangers, best food - the whole package! Although the Southern Camp is still a new lodge in the Kapama Game Reserve, it's have all the luxuries you can dream about. Three gourmet meals a day, with high tea before the game drive - your own private swimming pool at doorstep - and the friendliest staff that ensure that you stay will be something that you will remember forever. I want to give Kapama Southern Camp 6 stars - they deserve it. This is certainly a place that I want to revisit in the future.

Room Tip: In Kapama they take care that every room is private and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I can warmly recomend this place for some days in the bush... Very good food, fantastic small houses with unforgettable interior. Nice little pool. Very intime and fresh all the way.
Cant wait to go back actually! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Line D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Kapama is the nicest place that I have ever stayed! Upon arrival we were greeted by our amazing ranger Garry who promplty took the keys to our car and took our luggage to our rooms. The hostess had drinks waiting for us and briefly went over our schedule and then showed us around the southern camp. Our rooms were beautiful and luxurious feeling. The food was delicious and not in short supply. Our waiter Phillip was great! I can't say enough good things about our ranger Garry. Garry is a walking encyclopedia of information and answered all of my millions of questions with a smile on his face. We went on the Elephant safari which was amazing. I have never had a better vacation thanks to Kapama! My husband summed it up by saying "it is better than the Ritz."

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was one of the best things i've done in my life. The safari was unreal and our group made it even better. Garry did an awesome job, and made the experience overall super fun and we learned a ton. We were at the southern lodge area, and it was amazing from the food, rooms, and our guide/tracker/waiter. Cant go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jordan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
4.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,657 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
431 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
255 reviews
21.5 mi away
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
#1 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
345 reviews
6.2 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama Southern Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama Southern Camp

Property: Kapama Southern Camp
Address: Kapama Private | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa (Formerly Hongonyi Private Game Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama Southern Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama Southern Camp is the proud new addition to our Kapama Game Reserve family and is situated on the southern most section of the Kapama Private Game Reserve. It offers luxury safari accommodation, warm hospitality and friendly service in a tranquil setting which will satisfy even the most discerning nature lovers' taste. Relax in the lounge with a good book or just sit back and indulge in the breathtaking beauty of mother nature in all her splendour. Alternatively you can lazily lounge around our magnificent pool and deck area and stare into the vast African yonder, hopefully spotting some of the many animals that often pass in close proximity. If the African sun becomes too much to endure, a dip in the refreshing swimming pool will bring immediate relief, and the friendly barman will be on hand to spoil you with a tantalising cocktail.DiningBreakfast and lunches are normally served in the dining room with open sides, so you will always have nature just a few meters away while enjoying tasteful culinary creations from our qualified chefs . Dinner is served in the traditional outside Boma, again with nature as the backdrop and a starlit sky overhead creating the perfect setting.Southern Camp also boasts a fully equipped wine cellar where we stock only the finest wines from top South African vineyards in a perfectly humidified environment. All 15 standard suites at Southern Camp have full en-suite bathrooms with picture windows to enjoy the surrounding scenery and birdlife. Air conditioning, minibars and tea and coffee stations are standard in all suites of this five-star safari accommodation. Private patios offer the opportunity to enjoy relaxing sundowners, while game watching at the same time. Kapama Southern Camp also has 7 luxury suites. These 95 ㎡ luxury suites have their own private lap pool, inside and outside showers, large minibar, espresso machine and a romantic fireplace open to the bath and bedroom. Southern Camp offers 3 luxury Family Suites each with a lap pool and a separate connected bedroom for children with its own bath, shower, double vanity and outside patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kapama Southern Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama Southern Camp Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama Southern Camp Kapama Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing