We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kapama Southern Camp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kapama Southern Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kapama Southern Camp”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

If you are interested in Africa's animals and want to learn even more then I recommend a stay at Kapama Southern Camp. We stayed in room 11 for 3 nights in July and were taken on two game drives of 3 hours each per day in open vehicles holding 9, with our guide and a spotter at the front.. Our guide Garry was passionate and very informative, and we all left feeling very satisfied with the experience. The room was spacious with a lovely private courtyard, the bed great, and the bath was nice and hot. The staff was friendly and helpful and there was food galore. Harmless animals roamed freely within the hotel area, which was protected by an electric fence. We were shown almost all South Africa's animals and also birdlife up close and personal and we learned a lot. Wi Fi reception was free but only fair, and the floor was cold..

Room Tip: A sunny rear aspect in winter preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    70
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
130
290
21
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Kapama was the last destination in our Honeymoon. We spent here 3 nights. My husband and I loved staying in the luxury suite at the southern camp. The experience was incredible, great service and food. The game drives were awesome - we saw a tiger hunt and kill an impala. It was crazy. The animals are so close. Our guides did a great job searching for animals. I would highly recommend staying here. The staff were so kind and helpful.

I would also add that the restaurant staff was extremely professional and friendly. I certainly enjoyed every meal. The evening meals were great with African folk dance & special events. As we are vegetarians, they also ensured that we are satisfied with our food and kept taking our feedback and also made lunch / dinner as per our choice SPECIALLY.

Only a bad experience was, every evening when we came back to the room, there was a frog/frogs waiting inside for us. We used to call the reception and the service ppl came to catch it in few mins. However it was annoying.

All in all, a great stay !!

Room Tip: Try for Kapama Karula, I think it has better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Kapama was the last portion of our trip and the staff there ensured that the ending to our honeymoon was nothing but perfect! Our suite was very comfortable and spacious. Hazel and the other duty managers assisted me with a special task and were so helpful and kind! The ranger and tracker on our assigned safari were both extremely knowledgeable about the animals. They were able to provide use with all types of information about the animals such as their mating rituals, habits, and so forth! On our last night there we were upgraded to the luxury suite, provided with champagne, and set up with a private dinner! It was absolutely amazing!
The luxury suite is gorgeous and worth the money. My husband and I experienced many unforgettable sunrises and sunsets on this trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren45454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I loved staying in the luxury suite at the southern camp. This experience was incredible. The accommodations were excellent. The food was great. The game drives were awesome - we saw a lion hunt and kill a wildebeest. It was crazy. The animals are so close. Our guides did a great job searching for animals. I would highly recommend staying here. The staff were so kind and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kandnsiems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Spent five amazing days late March early April at this reserve and every day was absolutely breathtaking. Two game drives a day and a stop for high tea. Reserve surrounded by an electrical fence and at night you can hear lions roar. Our tracker Mose was very knowlegeable about the area. Accomodations were great and the food was delicioius. The manager made sure you had everything you needed. I would recommend anyone going to a game reserve to go to Kapama Southern Camp.

Room Tip: All rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatMorgan828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My family of 5 just returned from our incredible South African Safari. This was our first time to South Africa and we truly had an amazing and highly memorable vacation due mostly to Kapama Southern Camp. We stayed at Kapama Southern Camp for 4 days and 3 nights and this was truly our most favorite part of our entire 11 day trip. The facility is stunningly chic and very progressive yet unobtrusive and blends well into the environment. The staff could not be nicer. Everyone catered to all our needs and checked with us throughout the day to see if they could do anything to make our stay with them even better! The facility is small, friendly, and exclusive (only a maximum of around 40 people can stay at a time). One can sense an immediate genuineness and warmth as soon as you enter the camp. It is easy to see that the management and staff all care about being as welcoming and accommodating as possible. Our ranger/guide Doctor was incredible at tracking along with our tracker Brian. We were able to see the "big 5" within the first two bush drives! We were inches away from lions and leopards and have the most amazing photographs and stories to tell. As for the rooms itself, my husband and I had a private villa and our 3 children were in the family villa next door. The rooms were incredibly modern and tastefully done. Aside from our private jacuzzis, each villa had its very own private pool that looked out to the savanna and that we could see while lying in our bed. The food was delicious and the best we had at all of our 5 star lodges. Also, the gift shop on site was wonderful. Their prices were less than some of the villages. We were delighted and surprised by the extensive variety of items and did the majority of our gift shopping her. I can not speak highly enough of Kapama Southern Camp. We loved this facility so much that no one in my family wanted to leave for our next leg of our vacation. My family and I have not been able to stop talking about this majestic place and we hope to vacation here again in the near future!!! ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS LODGE!

Room Tip: All of the luxury villas are INCREDIBLE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Great place, beautiful Lodge, very attentive to details, our Range Adolf was great, very knowledgeable about the area and animals. The suites are little villas with your own swimming pool, jacuzzi, sometimes animals visit you in your area.
Food is above average, sometimes fair, and sometimes great. I give this place 5 stars overall

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Crista J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
4.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,657 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
431 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
255 reviews
21.5 mi away
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
#1 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
345 reviews
6.2 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama Southern Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama Southern Camp

Property: Kapama Southern Camp
Address: Kapama Private | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa (Formerly Hongonyi Private Game Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama Southern Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama Southern Camp is the proud new addition to our Kapama Game Reserve family and is situated on the southern most section of the Kapama Private Game Reserve. It offers luxury safari accommodation, warm hospitality and friendly service in a tranquil setting which will satisfy even the most discerning nature lovers' taste. Relax in the lounge with a good book or just sit back and indulge in the breathtaking beauty of mother nature in all her splendour. Alternatively you can lazily lounge around our magnificent pool and deck area and stare into the vast African yonder, hopefully spotting some of the many animals that often pass in close proximity. If the African sun becomes too much to endure, a dip in the refreshing swimming pool will bring immediate relief, and the friendly barman will be on hand to spoil you with a tantalising cocktail.DiningBreakfast and lunches are normally served in the dining room with open sides, so you will always have nature just a few meters away while enjoying tasteful culinary creations from our qualified chefs . Dinner is served in the traditional outside Boma, again with nature as the backdrop and a starlit sky overhead creating the perfect setting.Southern Camp also boasts a fully equipped wine cellar where we stock only the finest wines from top South African vineyards in a perfectly humidified environment. All 15 standard suites at Southern Camp have full en-suite bathrooms with picture windows to enjoy the surrounding scenery and birdlife. Air conditioning, minibars and tea and coffee stations are standard in all suites of this five-star safari accommodation. Private patios offer the opportunity to enjoy relaxing sundowners, while game watching at the same time. Kapama Southern Camp also has 7 luxury suites. These 95 ㎡ luxury suites have their own private lap pool, inside and outside showers, large minibar, espresso machine and a romantic fireplace open to the bath and bedroom. Southern Camp offers 3 luxury Family Suites each with a lap pool and a separate connected bedroom for children with its own bath, shower, double vanity and outside patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kapama Southern Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama Southern Camp Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama Southern Camp Kapama Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing