We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but average ranger”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kapama Southern Camp
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very good, but average ranger”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I went to southern camp and the place is lovely. The food was good as was the safari experience. Unfortunately, however, we were unable to see cheetas, male lions, leopards or elephants. Despite every other group having seen most of these. It became obvious our ranger was inexperienced and unable to find what we wanted to see. Other rangers we talked to were surprised at our lack of game viewing. Other groups had even seen a pack of Lions kill a zebra right in front of them.

All in all it was a good experience but make sure you get an experienced ranger if you decide to go here.

One more criticism was that we booked a hot air balloon trip trough the camp on our second day there for our third day. Only to be notified that since we were staying another day we were being bumped in favor of other guests. In principle this is wrong, however practically we were unable to do the trip on the next day as we had an early transfer anyway. We were therefore unable to do the balloon trip. Very frustrating.

The safari experience was still a once in a lifetime experience and despite the few frustrations it was still a 4 out of 5 experience. Great food, friendly staff and in fairness to them they were very apologetic.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Salomoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    70
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
130
290
21
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rijssen, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Very high standard of hospitability and very good game drives. Super rangers and trekkers. Truly a 5 star expierience. Ask for Ranger Janri at your reservation. The Southern camp is calm and very new and modern. Animals are everywhere around

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JLVoortman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We landed at Hoedspruit AP which is 20 minutes from the camp, All the welcoming at the airport and at the lodge was great. We took the nice rooms which are an experience by itself regardless of the safari (Room #8). The team is very warm and welcoming, Safari team is professional, both the guide and the spotter . We stayed 2 nights which is OK (4 Safari tours) but i wish i could stay for the 3rd one even for the room...
We saw ALL BIG 5 and a Chita..... :-)
We depart from Kruger Mpumalanga AP which is a bit further but the team arranged perfect shuttle.
Food is the only item that need some upgrade, but for sure it's not such major issue

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zagrebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

If you are interested in Africa's animals and want to learn even more then I recommend a stay at Kapama Southern Camp. We stayed in room 11 for 3 nights in July and were taken on two game drives of 3 hours each per day in open vehicles holding 9, with our guide and a spotter at the front.. Our guide Garry was passionate and very informative, and we all left feeling very satisfied with the experience. The room was spacious with a lovely private courtyard, the bed great, and the bath was nice and hot. The staff was friendly and helpful and there was food galore. Harmless animals roamed freely within the hotel area, which was protected by an electric fence. We were shown almost all South Africa's animals and also birdlife up close and personal and we learned a lot. Wi Fi reception was free but only fair, and the floor was cold..

Room Tip: A sunny rear aspect in winter preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Kapama was the last destination in our Honeymoon. We spent here 3 nights. My husband and I loved staying in the luxury suite at the southern camp. The experience was incredible, great service and food. The game drives were awesome - we saw a tiger hunt and kill an impala. It was crazy. The animals are so close. Our guides did a great job searching for animals. I would highly recommend staying here. The staff were so kind and helpful.

I would also add that the restaurant staff was extremely professional and friendly. I certainly enjoyed every meal. The evening meals were great with African folk dance & special events. As we are vegetarians, they also ensured that we are satisfied with our food and kept taking our feedback and also made lunch / dinner as per our choice SPECIALLY.

Only a bad experience was, every evening when we came back to the room, there was a frog/frogs waiting inside for us. We used to call the reception and the service ppl came to catch it in few mins. However it was annoying.

All in all, a great stay !!

Room Tip: Try for Kapama Karula, I think it has better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Kapama was the last portion of our trip and the staff there ensured that the ending to our honeymoon was nothing but perfect! Our suite was very comfortable and spacious. Hazel and the other duty managers assisted me with a special task and were so helpful and kind! The ranger and tracker on our assigned safari were both extremely knowledgeable about the animals. They were able to provide use with all types of information about the animals such as their mating rituals, habits, and so forth! On our last night there we were upgraded to the luxury suite, provided with champagne, and set up with a private dinner! It was absolutely amazing!
The luxury suite is gorgeous and worth the money. My husband and I experienced many unforgettable sunrises and sunsets on this trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren45454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I loved staying in the luxury suite at the southern camp. This experience was incredible. The accommodations were excellent. The food was great. The game drives were awesome - we saw a lion hunt and kill a wildebeest. It was crazy. The animals are so close. Our guides did a great job searching for animals. I would highly recommend staying here. The staff were so kind and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kandnsiems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
4.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,657 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
431 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
255 reviews
21.5 mi away
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
#1 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
345 reviews
6.2 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama Southern Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama Southern Camp

Property: Kapama Southern Camp
Address: Kapama Private | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa (Formerly Hongonyi Private Game Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama Southern Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama Southern Camp is the proud new addition to our Kapama Game Reserve family and is situated on the southern most section of the Kapama Private Game Reserve. It offers luxury safari accommodation, warm hospitality and friendly service in a tranquil setting which will satisfy even the most discerning nature lovers' taste. Relax in the lounge with a good book or just sit back and indulge in the breathtaking beauty of mother nature in all her splendour. Alternatively you can lazily lounge around our magnificent pool and deck area and stare into the vast African yonder, hopefully spotting some of the many animals that often pass in close proximity. If the African sun becomes too much to endure, a dip in the refreshing swimming pool will bring immediate relief, and the friendly barman will be on hand to spoil you with a tantalising cocktail.DiningBreakfast and lunches are normally served in the dining room with open sides, so you will always have nature just a few meters away while enjoying tasteful culinary creations from our qualified chefs . Dinner is served in the traditional outside Boma, again with nature as the backdrop and a starlit sky overhead creating the perfect setting.Southern Camp also boasts a fully equipped wine cellar where we stock only the finest wines from top South African vineyards in a perfectly humidified environment. All 15 standard suites at Southern Camp have full en-suite bathrooms with picture windows to enjoy the surrounding scenery and birdlife. Air conditioning, minibars and tea and coffee stations are standard in all suites of this five-star safari accommodation. Private patios offer the opportunity to enjoy relaxing sundowners, while game watching at the same time. Kapama Southern Camp also has 7 luxury suites. These 95 ㎡ luxury suites have their own private lap pool, inside and outside showers, large minibar, espresso machine and a romantic fireplace open to the bath and bedroom. Southern Camp offers 3 luxury Family Suites each with a lap pool and a separate connected bedroom for children with its own bath, shower, double vanity and outside patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kapama Southern Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama Southern Camp Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama Southern Camp Kapama Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing