We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great feel of the bush...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of nThambo Tree Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
nThambo Tree Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great feel of the bush...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

this review is coming a little late - i stayed at the camp for 3 days in end June. and I had the time of my life. incidentally i was the only one at the camp, and they took great care of me. the camp is quite luxurious, but fortunately does not go overboard. i saw the big five, and the trip culminated on the last morning when we came across a lioness with two cubs, one being a white lion! could here lions close to the stilted huts, th camp being an unfenced one... quite an experience waking up in the middle of the night!
the guys from the camp were great at taking care of the place, were extremely informative and vigilant on game drives, shared stories about modern day south africa in the evenings, and even arranged for a braai for me one evening, given it was my first visit to the country.
i would definitely visit again...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addabaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    48
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
45
210
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Joe, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We wanted to go to a Safari lodge that was focused on the safari experience - not spas, massages, and 8 course meals. This place was PERFECT. We saw 4 out of the big 5, including some other rarely seen animals, and had some VERY close encounters with a pride of 14 lions who were feasting on a buffalo they had just killed. It was amazing. We also had the most comfortable stay in our hut on stilts. Everything was clean, comfortable, and well taken care of. The food while we were there was out of this world, which is not something we were even expecting! I feel like this place is really about just being out in the open and forgetting about jobs, stress, and computers (although they do have wifi in the main area if you need it). We did a 3 night stay and it was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aduren28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

This was a fantastic experience and a great introduction to the world of safaris. The staff were great, the safari trips wonderful, and the accommodation perfect for a safari. The camp is small - five comfortable cabins on stilts facing the veld- so it is very friendly. I could not believe how close we got to the animals and how many we saw. Isaac is amazing at spotting wildlife (including a cougar on our way to the camp), and Gawi an endless fund of knowledge about animals and vegetation. A highlight was a pride of lions who had bagged themselves a meal for a week - we even got to see one of the tiniest ones. Elephants sauntered by the jeep, rhinos regarded us with supreme indifference, giraffes craned their necks to check us out. Every evening we sat around the fire in the boma and shared stories. And at night, we heard lions roaring nearby. We very much enjoyed meeting Vim, the owner, as well and hearing about South Africa from him. And we were very impressed with how ecological the running of the camp is. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary with our two adult children and had spent the first three nights at Gomo Gomo Lodge which we loved. We couldn't believe there would be anything to match it but only 20 minutes away was Nthambo Tree Lodge, where we spent the following four nights; a different but equally perfect place. The accommodation was luxury safari camping on stilts so we could sit on the balcony and enjoy the view across the veldt to Bryde Canyon beyond. Gawi and Yolandi (hope I've spelled their names right!) were so welcoming and are excellent managers. Gawi took us out on the drives with the wonderful Enoch doing the tracking. We watched lions feasting on a giraffe, a leopard regarding us with soulful eyes from a tree just above us and caught glimpses of the 4 week old white lion cub suckling at its mother's milk bar. And of course the Big 5 plus much more. The camp has a delightfully informal yet well run atmosphere and sitting round the fire in the boma or at the dinner table with other guests, sharing our stories and jokes, was a highlight each evening. On Nelson Mandela's birthday we went and helped plant vegetables in a primary school garden with such a charming group of kids, then visited a village where the Sangoma, a South African traditional healer and other village women danced and made music under the trees. A day trip out to Bryde Canyon was another treat. But it is the atmosphere, the welcome, the friendliness and excellent management of Nthambo and of course the fantastic animals that make us want to return. Mary, Hug, Tom and Carly Stephenson

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, we were in rooms 1 and 2 which were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Have just got back from SA where we spent our last 5 nights at Nthambo.
The entire experience was amazing, wonderful friendly staff, the expertise of the guides and trackers and the really beautiful accomodation. Where else would you get lions roaring outside your hut, elephants drinking from the swimming pool while you are eating dinner and then watching 9 lions crossing the plain in front of the camp.
The place sits so neatly in its bush environment and everyone gives 100% to ensure you have a fabulous unforgettable time.
Stay there you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: No fitness centre however the jeep rides provide all the toning you will need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

I spent 3 nights at this camp during April. It was a fantastic experience from everything from the lodgings itself, the staff and the experience of safari was absolutely fantastic. The tree camp accommodation is great, you can hear alot of the wildlife at nighttime, the views were great and had everything that you wanted, was a real treat. The guides (special mention to Isaac) and staff were brilliant, their knowledge was great and they really went out of their way to make you feel welcome. During my time there I managed to see the big five along with several other animals. Food was tasty. I would highly recommend this place and intend to return myself.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Seamus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire, england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

I spent 3 nights at this camp from the 10-13th may before moving on to simbavati river lodge. saying i loved it is an understatment! My first night i had lions communicating with eachother underneath my hut which was unforgettable! i saw all big 5 including the ross pride with tiny cubs! isaac and rein were amazing at tracking and driving to find the animals we wished to see. rein is very knowlogable and does everything for you from driving to cleaning up your plates, to walking you back to your rooms safely after dark. Very in the bush feel to it and makes you feel closer to nature throughout your stay. amazing place!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klaserie Private Game Reserve
15.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
2.6 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Africa on Foot Camp
Africa on Foot Camp
#4 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#3 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
12.5 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
17.5 mi away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nThambo Tree Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nThambo Tree Camp

Property: nThambo Tree Camp
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
nThambo Tree Camp is a safari camp located in the Klaserie area of the Kruger Park. The camp offers daily morning and afternoon game drives to view the Big Five. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your nThambo Tree Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nthambo Tree Camp Hotel Klaserie Private Game Reserve
nThambo Tree Camp South Africa/Klaserie Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing