We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal!”
Review of nThambo Tree Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
nThambo Tree Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The real deal!”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We spent a couple nights at nThambo in October and a couple nights at its sister camp, Africa-On-Foot. Both camps are great and offer a little different take on accommodations and safari experience. The knowledge, enthusiasm and commitment to provide an amazing safari experience, between our guide Harvey and our tracker Isaac, was way above anything we had anticipated. We celebrated my husband's birthday at nThambo and they went way out of their way to find a cake for the evening celebrations with little advance warning - we even had a leopard sighting that day - the best gift anyone could have. We were able to stay with her for probably 20 minutes. The day before we spent well over a half an hour with a pride of lions - quietly observing their community - amazing! The accommodations at nThambo are first rate - food family style and delicious - and just a wonderful intimate and hospitable experience.

Room Tip: Don't think you could go wrong with any of the rooms - the "tree house" balconys all l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahFeinberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    49
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
48
221
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Everything was just perfect all along the 3 nights we spent at nThambo Tree camp. The quality of accommodation (pretty and convenient rooms, sun-deck and Wifi in the common area), the home-made food simple but delicious and the staff nice and competent. The place is in the middle of nowhere and we had the chance to approach the big five and many more thanks to our excellent ranger! I can't wait to come back at nThambo Tree Camp, our stay was definitely too short.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebby76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire England
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Spent 3 nights here on our first 'proper' safari. The treehouses were very novel, each had a double bed with bathroom at the rear. There was a small balcony to sit, though only a couple of basic camping chairs! The views were lovely. The bathroom had seen better days! The room had a fan. There was no drinking water or glasses in the room which l would have expected though you could get bottled water from main reception area. As with previous comments from 2011 it is still mainly run by one chap the guide Isaac who worked very hard & took us on the game drives, served all the meals & drinks, he was very knowledgeable, & made a real effort to show us as much as possible. We saw the 'big 5' & more besides. A husband & wife manger team appeared fleetingly they were friendly. After our evening meal we did feel obliged to return to our rooms as we felt conscious we were delaying Isaac getting to bed, it would have been nice to sit & chat a bit more!! Not that he personally said or did anything to suggest this. The decked area outside is very pleasant with chairs & loungers but the pool isn't any bigger than a regular bathtub, though the weather was slightly too cool to need a dip. At mealtimes we all ate together, the food was fine. There was a selection of drinks. It was lovely sitting & chatting with fellow guests who were great company.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank G_and_JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Everyone at nThambo was amazing. I don't have a single complaint. In fact this was the highlight of our 3 week trip in Africa. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the food was delicious, fresh, and healthy, and the staff were friendly, helpful and made everyone feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

A great place to experience the bush and fabulous South African hospitality! The stylish accommodations left you wanting for nothing, and offered both modern day conveniences and commanding views of the bushveld. The pool was a definite welcome relief from the heat of the day and if that wasn't enough, Kyle was always on hand to top up the beverages. Harvey and Isaac made for a stellar team on game drives showcasing their knowledge and passion of the bush. Lastly, the communal dining, made for intimate family style dinner with tasty meals to tempt any palette. This beautifully maintained camp is well managed, efficient and hospitable, and a definite must if visiting Klaserie.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naserian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

this review is coming a little late - i stayed at the camp for 3 days in end June. and I had the time of my life. incidentally i was the only one at the camp, and they took great care of me. the camp is quite luxurious, but fortunately does not go overboard. i saw the big five, and the trip culminated on the last morning when we came across a lioness with two cubs, one being a white lion! could here lions close to the stilted huts, th camp being an unfenced one... quite an experience waking up in the middle of the night!
the guys from the camp were great at taking care of the place, were extremely informative and vigilant on game drives, shared stories about modern day south africa in the evenings, and even arranged for a braai for me one evening, given it was my first visit to the country.
i would definitely visit again...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addabaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Joe, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We wanted to go to a Safari lodge that was focused on the safari experience - not spas, massages, and 8 course meals. This place was PERFECT. We saw 4 out of the big 5, including some other rarely seen animals, and had some VERY close encounters with a pride of 14 lions who were feasting on a buffalo they had just killed. It was amazing. We also had the most comfortable stay in our hut on stilts. Everything was clean, comfortable, and well taken care of. The food while we were there was out of this world, which is not something we were even expecting! I feel like this place is really about just being out in the open and forgetting about jobs, stress, and computers (although they do have wifi in the main area if you need it). We did a 3 night stay and it was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aduren28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klaserie Private Game Reserve
16.6 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
392 reviews
15.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,684 reviews
0.8 mi away
Africa on Foot Camp
Africa on Foot Camp
#3 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
181 reviews
2.6 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
241 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
#6 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nThambo Tree Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nThambo Tree Camp

Property: nThambo Tree Camp
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
nThambo Tree Camp is a safari camp located in the Klaserie area of the Kruger Park. The camp offers daily morning and afternoon game drives to view the Big Five. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your nThambo Tree Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nthambo Tree Camp Hotel Klaserie Private Game Reserve
nThambo Tree Camp South Africa/Klaserie Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing